Bassler and Su Named American Physical Society Fellows

Selection Recognizes Exceptional Contributions to Physics

APS FellowKevin E. Bassler, John and Rebecca Moores Professor of physics and mathematics, and Wu-Pei Su, professor of physics, were elected as Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). The two professors are faculty members in University of Houston’s College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

The APS’ 51,000 members include physicists in academia, national laboratories and industry in the United States and throughout the world. Being elected an APS Fellow requires exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise and is a significant career distinction. No more than one-half of one percent of the members can be elected Fellows each year.

Bassler and Su received their APS Fellowship certificates and pins at the organization’s annual meeting in San Antonio.

“This honor is well-deserved recognition of the exemplary work of Kevin and Wu-Pei both in research and service to the discipline,” said Gemunu Gunaratne, chair of UH’s Department of Physics.

Kevin E. Bassler
Kevin E. Bassler and Wu-Pei SuNominated by the APS Topical Group on Statistical and Nonlinear Physics
Certificate Citation:

“For seminal and sustained contributions to the understanding of the dynamics of complex systems, particularly concerning non-equilibrium phase transitions, emergent behavior, and dynamics in adaptive networks.”

Wu-Pei Su
Nominated by the APS Division of Condensed Matter Physics
Certificate Citation:

“For pioneering contributions to the theory of solitons in conducting polymers and elucidation of their topological nature.”

- Kathy Major, College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics