Skip to main content

Garnet Coleman Award for Student Excellence

The Garnet Coleman Award for Student Excellence has been created in honor of Texas State Representative Garnet Coleman’s support for the UH Hobby School of Public Affairs’ programs and students.

This award is presented to at least one graduating Hobby School undergraduate and graduate student each year. The recipients receives a honorary plaque and recognition at the Hobby School's University Commencement ceremony.

Garnet Coleman Award for Excellence Recipients

Spring 2024: Cruz Almonaci and Andrea Duhon

Spring 2023: Karen Banda

Spring 2022: Matthew Moseley

Spring 2021: Matthew Farmer

Spring 2020: Aparajita Datta

Spring 2019: Will Janowski and Laura Rodriguez

Spring 2018: Alexander May

Spring 2017: Thomas Brown