Health and Human Performance
The University of Houston
3855 Holman St. Rm 104 Garrison
Houston, TX 77204-6015
Phone: (713)743-9840
Fax: (713)743-9860

Join HPP on Facebook

Join HPP on Youtube

News Archives

Inaugural Student Honors and Awards Gala Showcases the Best of HHP.

The Department of Health and Human Performance was on the red carpet at its Inaugural Student Honors and Awards Gala May 3, 2012 in the Rockwell Pavilion of the M. D. Anderson Library. The department celebrated the achievements of its students and announced two new scholarships to a packed house of 125 guests.

Inaugural Student Honors and Awards Gala

Dr. Layne congratulates Mr. James Patterson on winning the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year award.
(Scroll down for more images)

Faculty, students, staff and well wishers gathered to honor HHP’s Outstanding 2012 students (See the list below) and to honor recipients of two special awards.

Inaugural Student Honors and Awards Gala

The evening began with welcome remarks and a slideshow by HHP chair Dr. Layne, highlighting the achievements of the department over the past year. The awards ceremony held after dinner honored the following students:

Excellence in Undergraduate Studies

  • Randall Williams - Exercise Science

  • Rosie Ford - Fitness/Sports

  • Jesika Orellana - Nutrition

  • Ina Javier - Sport Administration

Margie Sterr Scholarship

  • Paul Espinosa

Mary Louise White Scholarship

  • Jose Soria

American Kinesiology Association’s 2012 National Undergraduate Scholars

  • Rosie Ford

  • Paul Stuart

Excellence in M.Ed. Studies

  • Erik Andrews - Physical Education

  • Andrew Crane - Sport Administration

Graduate Awards in Other Categories

  • Recep Ozdemir - Teaching Excellence

  • Whitney Breslin - Overall Graduate Excellence

  • Heather Adamus-Leach - Dr. Andrew “Tony” Jackson Research Excellence

The Princess Chinwendu Eke Memorial Foundation received the Patron of the Year award. Sr. Development Officer Margo Wolanin presented the award to Mr. and Mrs. Henry Eke.

Fort Bend County Commissioner, James Patterson, received the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year award, from Dean John Roberts.

Dean John Roberts, Dr. Layne, Sr. Development Officer Margo Wolanin, Dr. Jackson and Fort Bend County Commissioner, James Patterson addressed the gathering.

The guests at the gala were given photos of themselves, taken on the HHP red carpet, as mementos of the evening.


Images from Student Honors and Awards Gala 2012: