Skip to main content

UH Global

Overview

global imageUH Global promotes and enhances the UH brand, reputation, and community worldwide through scholarly research, experiential learning, global engagement, and strategic partnerships with the intention of creating cross-culturally diverse, successful students focused on international social, legal, economic, political, and technological issues.

Branches

International

The International branch of UH Global welcomes students and visiting scholars from around the world to study and work at the University of Houston.

Visit Website

Learning Abroad

Learning Abroad facilitates travel across the globe through a number of international learning opportunities, including faculty-led programs, traditional study abroad programs, research opportunities, internships, volunteer opportunities, non-credit experiential learning programs, service learning programs, and exchange programs.

Visit Website

Global Initiatives

The Global Initiatives office facilitates collaborations around the world through strategic partnerships, scholarships, and grants.

Visit Website

Global Citizens Credential 

The Global Citizens Credential (GCC) allows UH students enhance their undergraduate degrees with core global competencies and distinguish themselves as global citizens. UH students who participate in the GCC will gain global knowledge and skills and upon completion, can demonstrate this expertise through a certificate. The GCC helps students stand-out when applying to jobs, graduate school, and competitive international scholarships. It also encourages students to increase their level of global engagement on the UH campus and within their local community and beyond.

UH students who graduate with the GCC will receive a transcript notation, a signed certificate, and an honor cord to wear at graduation. 

Learn More

Resources

SharePoint log-in

Process for Establishing International Affiliations

Any formal collaboration such as a Memorandum of Understanding, an Articulation Agreement, or a Contract between UH and a foreign institution requires the endorsement of UH Global, the Office of the Provost and, if necessary, the Office of the General Counsel before it can be implemented. The Process for Establishing International Affiliations assists UH faculty and administrators through the required steps in establishing formal collaborations.

Global Faculty Development Fund

The Global Faculty Development Fund (GFDF) was established to further faculty involvement in the globalization process of the university. This Provost initiative will increase both the assortment and quality of UH’s global programs by helping faculty to defray the costs of engaging in innovative global activities.

Germany Today 2018: Getting to know Germany’s Universities of Applied Sciences

German Academic Exchange Service’s “DAAD” information tour “Germany Today” is designed to give participants a broader overview of Germany’s higher education landscape. During this tour, June 17 – June 23, 2018, a special focus will be on German Universities of Applied Sciences. Interested faculty members should contact Jaime Ortiz at jortiz22@central.uh.edu to participate.

Erasmus+ Faculty Mobility Grant

Swansea University is offering Erasmus+ faculty mobility grants for faculty from Texas Strategic Partnership universities to undertake short teaching visits to Swansea University.

UH Global Advisory Committee

Name
College 
Phone Number
Email Address
Department / Role 
Dietmar Froehlich  Architecture  713-298-4977 dfroehlich@uh.edu Co-Director Graduate Studies and Assoc. Professor of Architecture
Jeffrey Sposato Arts 713-743-5697 jssposato@uh.edu Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Professor of Musicology
Marina Sebastijanovic Business 713-743-4650 msebastijanovic@uh.edu Clinical Assistant Professor of Management 
Yali Zou Education  713-743-4982 yzou@uh.edu Professor of Educational Psychology and Director Asian Studies Center 
Suresh Khator Engineering  713-743-4205 skhator@uh.edu Professor of Industrial Engineering and Associate Dean
KiJoon Back Hotel and Restaurant Management  713-743-2530 kback@uh.edu
Professor
Zale Kellen Law  713-743-0325 kbzale@central.uh.edu Associate Professor
Hildegard Glass Liberal Arts and Social Sciences 713-743-3049 hfglass@uh.edu Chair Department of Modern and Classical Languages 
Anne Delcour Natural Sciences and Mathematics 713-743-2684 adelcour@uh.edu Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
Terry Kirk Nursing 832-842-8209 tdkirk@uh.edu Clinical Associate Professor
Vivien Coulson-Thomas Optometry  713-743-2042 vjcoulson-thomas@uh.edu Assistant Professor
MariVi Tejada-Simon  Pharmacy  713-743-7835 mvtejada-simon@uh.edu Associate Professor of Pharmacology
Patrick Leung Social Work  713-743-8111 pleung@uh.edu Professor Social Work and Director for the Graduate College of Social Work 
Heidar Malki Technology  713-743-4075 hmalki@central.uh.edu Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Maria Modelska Engineering
(Staff Council Representative)
713-743-3677 mjmodelska@uh.edu Associate Director, Research Center Administrator
Christian Eberhart Liberal Arts and Social Sciences 713-743-3677 ceberhart@uh.edu Chair of Religious Studies
Hannah Ajrami Student Government Representative 832-842-6225 hannahm361@gmail.com
Student Government Association