Standing Committees - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Standing Committees

The University of Houston is a collegial enterprise that uses the principles and practices of shared governance to operate. The Standing Committees of the college provide a venue for faculty to administer the curriculum of the college and advise the dean on the affairs of the college. The Standing Committees of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics consist of the following:

Each committee performs the prescribed duties and such other duties as normally devolve upon the academic committee bearing its title. Terms of office of all committees commence on September 1 of the year in which the member is elected. Each committee annually selects a chair from its elected members.

Information on the Standing Committees is contained in the NSM College Bylaws.


Committee on College Government

The Committee on College Government consists of one tenured faculty member from each department and has the following duties:

  • Consider and make recommendations to the faculty regarding both departmental and college government.
  • Conduct elections for the college.
  • Designate faculty members to fill faculty vacancies on standing committees.
  • Conduct polls of departments for nominations for the chair.
  • Review departmental bylaws.
  • Review and recommend on non-trivial grievances of faculty members, including all non-voting faculty.

Faculty Development Leave Program

Members 2017–2018

Name Department Email
Masaya Fujita Biology and Biochemistry mfujita@uh.edu
Edwin Carrasquillo-Molina Chemistry mcarrasquillo@uh.edu
Jehan-François Pâris Computer Science jparis@uh.edu
Jonathan Snow Earth and Atmospheric Sciences jesnow@uh.edu
Garret Etgen Mathematics etgen@math.uh.edu
Edgar Bering Physics ebering@central.uh.edu

Committee on Graduate Studies

The Committee on Graduate Studies consists of one tenured or tenure-track faculty member from each department and one graduate student member. The Graduate Studies Committee may have one at-large research faculty member that holds the rank of research associate professor or above. This committee will:

  • Consider and make recommendations regarding all changes of graduate curriculum or degree requirements.
  • Determine the procedures by which graduate curricula within the college are developed and evaluated.
  • Advise the dean regarding graduate programs.
  • Review and recommend on non-trivial grievances of graduate students.
  • Determine the procedures by which standards for student admissions, grading and candidacy for graduate study are set.
  • Recommend nominees for vacant positions on the Graduate and Professional Studies Council to the dean.

Members 2017–2018

Name Department Email
Ricardo Azevedo Biology and Biochemistry razevedo@uh.edu
Arnold Guloy Chemistry aguloy@uh.edu
Zhigang Deng Computer Science zdeng4@uh.edu
Shuhab Khan Earth and Atmospheric Sciences sdkhan@uh.edu
Ilya Timofeyev Mathematics ilya@math.uh.edu
Wu-Pei Su Physics wpsu@uh.edu
TBD
(Student Member)
Physics

Committee on Undergraduate Studies

The Committee on Undergraduate Studies consists of one tenured, tenure-track or instructional faculty member from each department in the college and one undergraduate student member. This committee will:

  • Consider and make recommendations regarding all changes of undergraduate curriculum or degree requirements.
  • Determine the procedures by which undergraduate curricula within the college are developed and evaluated.
  • Deal with general questions of policy concerning the training of teachers in the college.
  • Review and recommend on non-trivial grievances of undergraduate students.
  • Determine the procedures by which standards for student admissions and grading for undergraduate study are set.
  • Recommend nominees for vacant positions on the Undergraduate Council to the dean.

Members 2017–2018

Name Department Email
Richard Knapp Biology and Biochemistry rdknapp@uh.edu
Arkadiusz Czader Chemistry aczader@uh.edu
Nouhad Rizk Computer Science njrizk@uh.edu
Alexander Robinson Earth and Atmospheric Sciences acrobinson@uh.edu
Jiwen He Mathematics jiwenhe@math.uh.edu
Donna Stokes Physics dstokes@uh.edu
Michelle Tran
(Student Member)
Mathematics

Policy Committee

The Policy Committee consists of one tenured faculty member holding the rank of professor from each department in the college. This committee will:

  • Advise the dean concerning promotion of, awarding of tenure to , post-tenure review, and termination of faculty members.
  • Advise the dean concerning questions that arise relating to promotion and termination of research faculty.
  • Advise the dean concerning questions that arise relating to promotion and termination of instructional faculty.
  • Determine performance criteria used to perform tasks listed above.
  • Advise the dean concerning the planning, budget and administration of the college.

Standards for Reappointment, Promotion and Tenure

Members 2017–2018

Name Department Email
Stuart Dryer Biology and Biochemistry sdryer@uh.edu
Scott Gilbertson Chemistry srgilbertson@uh.edu
Ioannis Pavlidis Computer Science ipavlidis@uh.edu
Paul Mann Earth and Atmospheric Sciences pmann@uh.edu
Maxim Olshanskii Mathematics molshan@math.uh.edu
Rene Bellwied Physics rbellwied@uh.edu