Dean’s Office - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Dean’s Office

Office of the Dean

Dan Wells, Ph.D., Dean
College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics
University of Houston
3507 Cullen Blvd, Room 214
Science & Research Building 1
Houston, TX 77204-5008
Phone: 713-743-2611
Fax: 713-743-0512

For appointments with the dean, contact:

Ashley Askew, Director of Planning and Assessment
713-743-7063
aaskew@central.uh.edu

NSM Organizational Charts

Programs under the Office of the Dean include Academic Affairs, Business Office, Communications, Development, Facilities, Faculty Affairs, Information Technology, the Office of Research and the Undergraduate Advising Center. Information on these programs is listed below.


Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs is located in 202 Science & Research Building 1. For assistance with submission of theses or dissertations, commencement, degree certification, or academic warning: Contact Academic Affairs at 713-743-2984.

  • Ian Evans, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
  • Anne Delcour, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
  • Andrew Hamilton, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Student Success (Office located in Room 214)
Sharonda Glass
Academic Advisor
713-743-2984 sglass3@uh.edu
Tristan Sims
Program Director for Undergraduate Studies
713-743-6077 tsims4@uh.edu
Melissa Lowrey
Program Director for Graduate Studies
713-743-1703 mlowrey@central.uh.edu
Zach Moore
Program Coordinator, Student Success
713-743-9556 zmoore2@central.uh.edu

Business Office

The Business Office is located in 209 Science & Research Building 1. For assistance with human resources, payroll, purchasing, and budgeting: NSM Business Office.

Main Phone: 713–743-7586

Fred McGhee
Executive Director, College Business Operations
713-743-8631
Office: 209B SR1
fdmcghee@central.uh.edu
Emily Merrell
College Business Administrator
832-842-8866
Office: 209C SR1
emerrell@uh.edu
Brianna Johnson
Assistant Business Administrator
832-842-9074
Office: 209D SR1
bkjohns4@central.uh.edu
Debbi Loya
Financial Manager
713-743-3852
Office: 209A SR1
dloya@uh.edu
Judy Mata
Department Business Administrator
713-743-3060
Office: 209E SR1
jmata@central.uh.edu
Antoinette Marvels
Financial Coordinator
(Deposits, Purchasing, Contracts, Reimbursements)
713-743-0300
Office: 209 SR1
armarvel@central.uh.edu
Jordan Wilcots
Financial Coordinator
(HR, Payroll, Travel)
713-743-5343
Office: 209 SR1
jdwilcots@uh.edu
Shahab Tayyab
Program Coordinator
(Reconciliation, Office Management)
713-743-7586
Office: 209 SR1
sktayyab@uh.edu

Communications

 For information on submitting news, scheduling a portrait/headshot, or obtaining UH, NSM or departmental logos, see NSM Communication Services.

Kathy Major
Executive Director of Communications
713-743-4023
Office: 214 SR1
ksmajor@uh.edu
Rachel Fairbank
Science Writer
713-743-0566
Office: 214 SR1
rcfairba@central.uh.edu
Chris Watts
Web Project Manager
713-743-6177
Office: 204D SR1
cwatts@central.uh.edu

Development

The Development Office is located in 203 Science & Research Building 1. To make a gift, share alumni news or explore volunteer opportunities, contact Janis Parsley.

Janis Parsley
Director of Advancement
713-743-8375
Office: 203 SR1
parsleyj@uh.edu
Jasmine Harrison
Development Coordinator
713-743-7952
Office: 203 SR1
jkharris@central.uh.edu

Facilities

The Facilities Office is located in 211 Science & Research Building 1. For assistance with NSM Labor/Work Orders: NSM Facilities Office

Facilities Office 713-743-3006
Mike Mahanay
Project Manager
713-743-3718 mmahanay@uh.edu
Gerardo Cervantes
Skilled Trades Tech
gcervantes2@uh.edu

Faculty Affairs

Faculty Affairs is located in 214 Science & Research 1. For assistance with faculty issues including tenure and promotion, and faculty hiring, diversity, retention, development, and mentoring: Contact Faculty Affairs at 713-743-8366. Faculty Resources

  • James Briggs, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Information Technology

For 3D printing and scanning, large-format poster printing, multimedia development, and other IT services and access requests: NSM Information Technology

For issues with the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and department websites: webmaster@nsm.uh.edu

Salvador Baez-Franceschi
Manager of NSM Information Technology
713-743-1618
Office: 127 Fleming
sbf@uh.edu

Office of Research

For assistance with grant proposals and administration: Office of Research

T. Randall Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research
713-743-2724
Office: 5004 SERC
trlee@uh.edu
Huanyi Greg Chu, CRA, CAPM, M.S.
Research Liaison Officer
713-743-5785
Office: 207 SR1
hychu@uh.edu
Stacy J. Smeal, Ph.D.
Research Liaison Officer
713-743-6702
Office: 207 SR1
sjsmeal@central.uh.edu
M. David Stewart, Ph.D.
Research Liaison Officer
713-743-5789
Office: 207 SR1
dstewart@uh.edu
Gillian Bautista
Program Coordinator 2
713-743-8779
Office: 207 SR1
gmbautista@uh.edu

Undergraduate Advising Center

For undergraduate academic advising for all majors and minors offered by the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics: Undergraduate Advising Center

Natalie M. Sumrow
Director, Undergraduate Advising Center
713-743-2904
Office: 115 Fleming
nsumrow@uh.edu