Skip to main content

Dean's Office

Office of Dean

Dan Wells, Ph.D., Dean
College of Natural Sciences & Mathematics
University of Houston
3507 Cullen Blvd, Room 214
Science & Research Building 1
Houston, TX 77204-5008
Phone: 713.743.2611
Fax: 713.743.0512

For appointments with the dean, contact DC Wengelnik at 713.743.4645 or

DC Wengelnik, Director of Planning and Assessment

NSM Organizational Charts

Programs under the Office of the Dean include Academic Affairs, Business Office, Communications, Development, Facilities, Faculty Affairs, Information Technology, the Office of Research and the Undergraduate Advising Center. Information on these programs is listed below.

Academic Affairs

Academic Affairs is located in 202 Science & Research Building 1. For assistance with submission of theses or dissertations, commencement, degree certification, or academic warning: Contact Academic Affairs at 713-743-2984.

  • Ian Evans, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
  • Anne Delcour, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Graduate Studies
  • Andrew Hamilton, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Student Success
Sharonda Glass
Academic Advisor
Tristan Sims
Program Director for Undergraduate Studies
Melissa Lowrey
Program Director for Graduate Studies
Zach Moore
Program Coordinator, Student Success

Business Office

The Business Office is located in 209 Science & Research Building 1. For assistance with human resources, payroll, purchasing, and budgeting: NSM Business Office.

Main Phone: 713–743-7586

Fred McGhee
Executive Director, College Business Operations
Office: 209B SR1
LaSaundra Cotright
College Business Administrator
Office: 209C SR1
Kristi Martin
Assistant Business Administrator
Judith Mata
Assistant Business Administrator
Debbi Loya
Financial Manager
Jordan Wilcots
Financial Coordinator


 For information on submitting news or obtaining UH, NSM or departmental logos, see NSM Communication Services.

Kathy Major
Executive Director of Communications
Office: 214 SR1
Rachel Fairbanks
Science Writer (part time)

Office: 214 SR1
Chris Watts
Digital Communications
Office: 204D SR1


To make a gift, share alumni news or explore volunteer opportunities, contact Janis Parsley.

Janis Parsley
Director of Advancement
Office: 203 SR1
Jonas Chin
Director of Development
Hillary Norwood
Development Coordinator


The Facilities Office is located in 211 Science & Research Building 1. For assistance with NSM Labor/Work Orders: NSM Facilities Office

Facilities Office 713.743.3006
Mike Mahanay
Project Manager
Gerardo Cervantes
Skilled Trades Tech

Faculty Affairs

Faculty Affairs is located in 214 Science & Research 1. For assistance with faculty issues including tenure and promotion, and faculty hiring, diversity, retention, development, and mentoring: Contact Faculty Affairs at 713-743-8366. Faculty Resources

  • James Briggs, Ph.D., Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Information Technology

For 3D printing and scanning, large-format poster printing, multimedia development, and other IT services and access requests: NSM Information Technology

For issues with the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics and department websites:

Salvador Baez-Franceschi
Manager of NSM Information Technology
Office: 127 Fleming

Office of Research

For assistance with grant proposals and administration: Office of Research

T. Randall Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research
Office: 5004 SERC
Huanyi Greg Chu, CRA, CAPM, M.S.
Research Liaison Officer
Office: 207 SR1
Chris Grant, Ph.D.
Research Liaison Officer
Office: 207 SR1
Stacy J. Smeal, Ph.D.
Research Liaison Officer
Office: 207 SR1
Tiffany Powell
Program Coordinator
Office: 207 SR1

Undergraduate Advising Center

For undergraduate academic advising for all majors and minors offered by the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics: Undergraduate Advising Center

Natalie M. Sumrow
Director, Undergraduate Advising Center
Office: 115 Fleming