People

Administrators and Staff

  • Dr. Elizabeth Gregory, Director, egregory@uh.edu
    • View bio

      Dr. Elizabeth GregoryElizabeth Gregory is the author of Quotation and Modern American Poetry: "'Imaginary Gardens with Real Toads'" (1996), which focuses on the work of T.S. Eliot, William Carlos Williams and Marianne Moore, and editor of The Critical Response to Marianne Moore (2003). She has also published articles on the later poetry of Marianne Moore, confessional poetry, modernism, and Homer's heroines. Her current book project offers new readings of the later poetry and career of the great 20th-century poet Marianne Moore. Working title: "Combat Cultural": Celebrity, Age and Authority in the Later Poetry of Marianne Moore.

      Her recent book, Ready: Why Women Are Embracing the New Later Motherhood (2012/2007, Basic Books), based on in-depth interviews with more than 100 new later moms and extensive collateral research, shatters the myths surrounding later motherhood.  Drawing on both the statistical evidence and the voices of the new later mothers themselves, Gregory delivers surprising and welcome news that will revolutionize the way we think about motherhood.

      She teaches courses on British and American modernism, contemporary poetry, ancient and classical literature, feminist criticism, and motherhood studies.

      Since 1995, Professor Gregory has been the Director of what is now the Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies Program. As Director, she has expanded the program and developed the newly named Carey C. Shuart Women's Archive and Research Collection. The Shuart Archive collects the papers of Houston area women's organizations and records oral histories of women who have made history in Houston. The WGSS Program, through the support of the Friends of Women's Studies, provides scholarships and fellowships for undergraduate and graduate students, funds a postdoctoral fellowship in Women's Studies, and awards grants for faculty research.  

      The Friends of Women's Studies is a model of collaboration between the academy and the community, sponsoring community programming to connect the accomplishments of women in Houston with the research of students and faculty in WGSS.  Among their annual events are the Table Talk Luncheon, the Living Archives Interview Series, and the Fast Friends Speed Networking socials.

      Prof. Gregory serves as Chair of the CLASS Diversity Committee, as key personnel on the University of Houston's NSF Advance Grant project, and is a founder of the UH Women Faculty Forum. She serves on the Executive Committee of the MLA Age Studies Discussion Group. 

      For more information, visit her website at www.elizabethgregory.net. You can follow her blog on the politics and economics of women's work at www.domesticproduct.net. Recent journalistic pieces include: New York Times, The Atlantic, The Houston Chronicle.

      For more information, click here.

  • Dr. Dina Alsowayel, Associate Director, dina@chasecom.net
    • View bio

      Dina Al-Sowayel Dina Alsowayel is Associate Director of Women’s Studies at the University of Houston in Texas. She joined the University in 1998 as a post-doctoral fellow in Religious Studies. She received her M.A and PhD from Rice University in Political Science and her JD from University of Houston. Her B.A. is from Wellesley College. Alsowayel teaches a variety of courses in the History department, these include history of the Modern Middle East, State and Society in the Middle East, Women and Islam, A History of Islam, War in the Middle East and a History of the Palestine-Israeli Conflict. She also takes students to the Arab and Muslim world annually.

  • Dr. Guillermo De Los Reyes, Associate Director GLBT Studies, jdelosreyes@uh.edu
    • View bio

      Dr. Guillermo De Los ReyesDr. Guillermo De Los Reyes is an Associate Professor of Latin American Cultures and Literatures and Director of Undergraduate Studies. He also serves as Associate Director of Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies and he is a Faculty-in-Residence since 2011.  He holds a Ph.D. and a M.A. from the University of Pennsylvania (2004, 1999) and a M.A. and B.A. from the Universidad de las Américas-Puebla (1997, 1994). Dr. De Los Reyes’ research interests are: Colonial Mesoamerica; gender, sexuality, and queer theory; Latin American cultural studies; secret and fraternal societies; and policy studies.

      Dr. De Los Reyes is the author of Herencias Secretas: Masonería, política y sociedad en México (2009: Benemérita Universidad Autónoma de Puebla) and is currently working on a book-length project entitled: “El pecado nefando:” Rethinking Gender and Sexuality in Colonial Mexico.

      More Information click here

  • Dr. Rachel Afi Quinn, Visiting Faculty Fellow, raquinn@uh.edu
    • View bio

      Rachel Afi QuinnRachel Afi Quinn received her Ph.D. from the Program in American Culture at the University of Michigan in 2012. Her dissertation, "Aqui Hay una Mezcla: Dominican Women's Transnational Identities in Santo Domingo" is an interdisciplinary cultural studies project that looks at the impact of neoliberalism and US popular media on Dominican women 's self-conceptions. Her scholarship focuses on race, mixed race identities, gender, and sexuality in the African Diaspora and employs tools of transnational feminist theory, including ethnography and visual culture. Before graduate study, Dr. Quinn worked with California Newsreel in distributing documentary films on African American life and history and African feature films. She also led service learning trips abroad in Ghana, Ukraine, and El Salvador.

  • Dr. Sarah Luna, Postdoctoral Fellow, slluna@uh.edu
    • View bio

      sarahSarah Luna, Ph.D. is currently a Postdoctoral Fellow in Women’s, Gender, and Sexuality Studies at the University of Houston (2014-2016). Luna earned her Ph.D. in Anthropology at the University of Chicago in 2013. Luna is currently working on her first book manuscript, Sex Workers and Missionaries Transforming Value on the U.S./Mexico Border. Luna’s book project is based upon her Fulbright-Hays funded dissertation research, which examined the projects of two kinds of migrants to a Mexican border city prostitution zone: (mostly Mexican) women who migrated to labor as sex workers and (mostly American) evangelical missionaries who migrated to build relationships with and a “modern day monastery” for sex workers. Her analysis of how these migrants created value through relations of obligation and love forges a dialogue between feminist approaches to sex work and the “rescue industry," anthropological theories of value and sovereignty, and political and cultural theories of non-sovereignty. Luna has also participated in collaborative feminist conceptual art projects and performances with artists, academics, and curators in San Diego, Oaxaca, and Mexico City, and she hopes to continue these projects in Houston.

  • Ayanna Jolivet Mccloud, Program Director, Friends of Women's Studies, amccloud@uh.edu
    • View bio

      Ayanna Jolivet McCloudAyanna Jolivet Mccloud is Program Director of Friends of Women’s Studies at the University of Houston. She received her BA in Visual and Critical Studies from the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, and has worked in nonprofit administration for over fifteen years at arts organizations around the U.S. She is also an artist and has participated in exhibitions and residencies throughout the U.S., Caribbean, and Latin America.

  • Kim Howard, Director of Development, College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, klhoward@central.uh.edu
    • View bio

      Rachel Afi QuinnKim Howard has served in several development capacities at University of Houston for nearly 20 years, working at Houston Public Media, Blaffer Art Museum and CLASS. She holds a BFA from University of Oklahoma and a Masters in Public Administration from University of Houston.

  • Robyn Lyn, Advisor, WGSS@uh.edu
  • Gayatri Joshi, Office Assistant

Lecturers

Fall 2014:

  • Introduction to Women's Studies
    • Dina Al-Sowayel
    • Tracy Butler
    • Bridget Fernandes
    • Ashley Wurzbacher
    • Sarah Luna
    • Beverly McPhail
  • Introduction to GLBT Studies
    • Guillermo de los Reyes
  • Gender, Society and Feminist Theory
    WOST 3395 - section 26572
    • Rachel Afi Quinn
  • Gender and Transnational Studies
    WOST 3395 - section 26781
    
    • Rachel Afi Quinn

Faculty Affiliates

Anthropology

Janis Hutchinson
713.743.3785 | jhutchinson@uh.edu

Courses: Anthropology and HIV/AIDS

Susan Rasmussen
713.743.3787 | srasmussen@uh.edu

Courses: Anthropology of Gender

Art

Beckham Dossett
713-743-3006 | bdossett@uh.edu

Biology and Biochemistry

Dan Graur
713.743.2936 | dgraur@uh.edu

Phillip Snider
713.743.2647 | psnider@uh.edu

Courses: Human Genetics

Communication

Beth Olson
713.743.2881 | bolson@uh.edu 

Courses: Gender and Media

Jennifer E. Vardeman
713.743.4294 | jvardeman@uh.edu

Economics

Chinhui Juhn
713.743.3823 | cjuhn@uh.edu
Courses: Economics of Gender, Economics of Education

English

Hosam Aboul-Ela
713.743.3012 | haboul-ela@uh.edu

Margot Gayle Backus
713.743.2970 | mbackus@uh.edu
Courses: Gender and Sexuality in Contemporary Irish Culture; The British Women's Novel; Queer Closures: The Sexual Politics of Literary Form

Ann Christensen
713.743.2964 | achrist@uh.edu

Courses: Family, Sex, & Households on the Shakespearean Stage; Gender and Performance in Shakespeare; Labor, Leisure, & Gender in Early Modern Drama

Karen Fang
713.743.2949 | kfang@uh.edu

Courses: Romantic Women Writers and Film Noir

María Gonzalez
713.743.2938 | mgonzalez@uh.edu

Courses: Women in Literature, Women Writers, Feminist Theory; Feminist Criticism

Elizabeth Gregory
713.743.0932 | egregory@uh.edu 

Courses: Feminist Methodology, Women Writers, Modern Motherhood

Natalie Houston
713.743.2938 | nhouston@uh.edu
Courses: Women in Literature; Gay and Lesbian Literature

Lorraine Stock
713.743.2958, lstock@uh.edu

Courses: Writing Medieval Women; Medieval Women in History, Text, and Film

Lynn Voskuil
713.743.2979 | lvoskuil@uh.edu

Courses: Feminist Theory & Methodology

Jennifer Wingard
713.743.2975 | jlwingard@uh.edu

Courses: Feminist Theory & Methodology

Patricia Lee Yongue
713.743.2944 | plyongue@uh.edu 

Courses: Women in Literature; Women Writers

Health and Human Performance

Daphne Hernandez
713.743.9056 | dhernandez26@uh.edu

Demetrius Pearson
713.743.9849 | dpearson@uh.edu 

Courses: Sport in Contemporary Society

Jenny Yi
713.743.9841, jyi@uh.edu

Courses: Women's Health Issues; Dimensions in Women's Health; Cross-Cultural Aspects of Health

Hispanic Studies

Guillermo De Los Reyes
713.743.3716 | jdelosreyes@uh.edu
Courses: Gender & Sexuality in Colonial Mexico; Gay/Lesbian Literature in Latin America

Maria Elena Soliño
713.743.3052, mesolino@uh.edu

Courses: Hispanic Authors and Feminist Theory

Gabriela Baeza Ventura
713.743.3259 | gbventura@uh.edu

History

Dina Alsowayel
713.743.3732 | dina@chasecom.net 

Courses: Women and Society in the Middle East

Xiaoping Cong
713.743.3096 | xcong@uh.edu
Courses: History of Women in Modern China; East and SE Asian Women in Historical and Cross-cultural Perspectives

Sarah Fishman
713.743.3098, sfishman@uh.edu 

Courses: Work and Family Life in Modern Europe; Social History of Modern France and Germany

Gerald Horne
713.743.3114 | ghorne@uh.edu 

Courses: Civil Rights Movement

Susan Kellogg
713.743.3118 | skellogg@uh.edu

Courses: Women in Latin America

Kairn Klieman
713.743.0907 | kklieman@uh.edu

Natalia Milanesio
713-743-3113 | nmilanesio@uh.edu
Courses: Women in Latin America

Monica Perales
713.743.3103 | mperales3@uh.edu
Courses: Chicana History, Mexican American Labor History, Identity and Resistance in US History

Todd Romero
713.743.3112 | tromero2@uh.edu 

Courses: Witchcraft in the Old and New World, Gender and Colonialism

Linda Reed
713.743.3092, lreed@uh.edu
Courses: African American Women in Slavery and Freedom

Sally Vaughn
713-743-3122, svaughn@uh.edu
Courses: Large portions of Medieval history courses deal with women's topics

Modern and Classical Languages

Francesca D'Allesandro Behr
713.743.3043 | fdalessandro-behr@uh.edu 

Courses: Women in the Ancient World; Italian Renaissance

David Brenner
713.743.3073, dabrenner@uh.edu 

Courses: The Human Situation, Writing Holocausts, World Cinema

Casey Due Hackney
713.743.3240 | cdue-hackney@uh.edu

Courses: Greek and Roman Mythology

Sandy Frieden
713.743.3051, sfrieden@uh.edu 

Courses: German Women Film Directors; International Women Writers; New Woman in Literature

Philosophy

Cynthia Freeland
713.743.3206, cfreeland@uh.edu 

Courses: Feminist Philosophy, Feminist Methodology

Anne Jaap Jacobson
713.743.3204, ajjacobson@uh.edu 

Courses: Feminist Philosophy

Political Science

Nancy Sims
713.627.2223

Courses: Women in Politics

Social Work

Jean Kantambu Latting
713.743.809 | jlatting@uh.edu
Courses: Forming Alliances across Gender, Race, Class, Culture, and Other Differences

Sociology

Amanda Baumle
713.743.3944 | kbaumle@uh.edu

Courses: Gender & Society & Sociology of Sexuality

Tracy X. Karner
713.743.3961 | txkarner@uh.edu

Courses: Gender and Health; Seminar in Masculinity