The Political Science Department has awarded hundreds of Ph.Ds and M.A.degrees over the last twenty-five years. Graduates work in all phases of state and local government, for federal agencies, think tanks, and many colleges and universities. 


Matthew Lang (2014), Pre-Doctoral Fellowship with Strategic Data Project, Harvard University. 

Robert Ross (2014), Assistant Professor, Utah State University. 

Michelle Belco (2013), Visiting Assistant Professor, University of Houston Honors College.

Bianca Easterly (2013), Assistant Professor, Lamar University.

George Hawley (2012), Assistant Professor, University of Alabama (Birmingham).

Eva Coffey (2012), U.S. Department of State.

Marwa Shalaby (2012), Postdoctoral Fellow for Women and Human Rights in the Middle East at Rice University.

Aldo Ponce (2012),  Assistant Professor, Centro de Investigación y Docencia Económicas (CIDE).

Heidi M. Lange (2012), Full Time Instructor, Department of Government at Houston Community College, Southwest Campus.

Nathan Hosey (2012), Assistant Professor, South Texas College.

Alan Steinberg (2012), Post-Doctoral Research Fellow, Sam Houston State University.

Inaki Sagarzazu (2010), Lecturer in Comparative Politics, University of Glasgow.

Robert Yehl (2010), MPA / DPA Coordinator, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Valdosa State University.

April Crawford (2010), Research Associate, Children’s Learning Institute, Department of Pediatrics, University of Texas Medical School at Houston.

Anna Mikukska (2010), Post-Doctoral Fellow, Rice University.

Nancy Liounis (2009), NASA Johnson Space Center Office of Procurement.

Lee W. Payne (2008), Assistant Professor, Department of Government, Stephen F. Austin State University.

Cameron Matthews (2007), Assistant Professor, Education & Social Sciences Division, North Carolina Wesleyan College.

Joseph Howard (2006), Associate Professor, University of Central Arkansas.

Craig Goodman (2004), Associate Professor, University of Houston-Victoria (Initial placement at Texas Tech University).

Bruce Carroll (2003), Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice, Texas Christian University.

Gregg R. Murray (2003), Associate Professor, Texas Tech University.

Long Le (2002), Assistant Professor at California State University, Bakersfield.

Jordan Barkalow (2002), Assistant Professor at Bridgewater State College, Massachusetts.

Long Le (2002), Professor, California State University, Bakersfield.

Chris McKee (2001), Policy Analyst for UT Medical Center.

Laura Nielsen (2001), Policy Analyst at the US General Accounting Office.

Michael Bruter (2001), Associate Professor (Reader), London School of Economics.

 Chris Carman (2000), Head of School, University of Glasgow, School of Social and Political Sciences (Initial placement at University of Pittsburgh). 

Vanessa Baird (2000), Associate Professor, University of Colorado.

David C. Barker (1998), Director of Institute for Social Research and Professor of Political Science, Sacramento State University (Initial placement at University of Pittsburgh).

Kenneth L. Manning (1998), Professor of Political Science, University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth.

Christopher Hammons (1997), Dean and Professor of Government, Houston Baptist University.

Juan Carlos Huerta (1996), Professor, Texas A&M Corpus Christi.

Karen Baird (1995), Professor of Political Science at the State University of New York, Purchase.

Gregg Orvis (1988), Department of Political Science at the University of Alabama.

Marshall DeRosa (1987), Associate Professor of Political Science at LSU.

B. Dan Wood (1987), Professor and Cornerstone Fellow of Liberal Arts, Texas A&M University.

Joe Stewart (1977), Professor of Political Science at the University of New Mexico.

Arnold Vedlitz (1975), Professor of Political Sciene at Texas A&M University.

Bruce Carroll Assistant Professor of Political Science at Western Carolina University.

Pete Rowland Professor of Political Science at the University of Kansas.