Faculty - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty

Select a category below to jump directly to that section...

Tenured/Tenure-Track Faculty
Amin Alipour Alipour, M. Amin
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
Software Engineering, Software Testing and Analysis

Office: PGH 565
(713) 743-7462
alipour@cs.uh.edu

Guoning Chen Chen, Guoning
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University
Scientific Data Analysis and Visualization, Computational Topology, Geometric Modeling, Dynamical Systems

Office: PGH 566
(713) 743-5788
gchen16@uh.edu
Albert Cheng Cheng, Albert
Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Real-Time and Embedded Systems, Cyber-Physical Systems, AI, Functional Reactive Programming, Software Engineering, Power-Aware Computing, Computer Security, Computer Networks

Office: PGH 534
(713) 743-3353
amcheng@uh.edu
Kam-Hoi Cheng Cheng, Kam-Hoi
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Artificial Intelligence, Object-Oriented Paradigm, Parallel Processing

Office: PGH 579
(713) 743-3357
khcheng@uh.edu
Zhigang Deng Deng, Zhigang
Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer Graphics, Computer Animation, Interactive Media and Gaming, Human Computer Interaction

Office: PGH 219
(713) 743-1018
zdeng4@uh.edu
Christoph Eick Eick, Christoph
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Karlsruhe, Germany
Knowledge Discovery and Data Mining, Evolutionary Computing,
Machine Learning, Artificial Intelligence, Databases

Office: PGH 589
(713) 743-3345
ceick@uh.edu
Edgar Gabriel Gabriel, Edgar
Professor
Ph.D., University of Stuttgart, Germany
Message Passing Systems, High Performance Computing, Parallel Computing on Distributed Memory Machines, Grid Computing

Office: PGH 228
(713) 743-3857
egabriel@uh.edu
Omprakash Gnawali Gnawali, Omprakash
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Wireless and Sensor Networks, Network Protocols and Architectures, Mobile Sensing, Social Networks, and Distributed Systems
Office: PGH 230
gnawali@cs.uh.edu
Stephen Huang Huang, Stephen S.-H.
Professor
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Data Structures, Design and Analysis of Algorithms, Computer Security, Intrusion Detection

Office: PGH 209
(713) 743-3338
shuang@cs.uh.edu
Lennart Johnsson Johnsson, Lennart
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor of Computer Science, Mathematics, and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Chalmers Institute of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden
Parallel Computer Systems Architecture, Run-Time Systems, Data Parallel Programming and Large-Scale Applications

Office: PGH 592
(713) 743-3371
Johnsson@cs.uh.edu
Ioannis Kakadiaris Kakadiaris, Ioannis
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen University Professor of Computer Science, Electrical & Computer Engineering, and Biomedical Engineering
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Biomedical Image Analysis; Computational Biomedicine; Biometrics; Computer Vision; Pattern Recognition

Office: HBS 322
(713) 743-1255
ioannisk@uh.edu
Aron Laszka Laszka, Aron
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Budapest University of Technology and Economics
Security, Cyber-Physical Systems, Game Theory, Economics of Security

Office: PGH 524
alaszka@uh.edu
Ernst Leiss Leiss, Ernst
Professor
Dr. Techn., TU Wien, Vienna
Vector and Parallel Computing, Data Security, Databases, Formal and Programming Languages, Geophysical Data Processing

Office: PGH 522
(713) 743-3359
eleiss@uh.edu
Arjun Mukherjee Mukherjee, Arjun
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago
Bayesian Inference, Data Mining, Natural Language Processing, Sentiment Analysis, Opinion Spam, Web Mining

Office: PGH 582
arjun@cs.uh.edu
Carlos Ordonez Ordonez, Carlos
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Parallel Database Systems, Big Data Analytics

Office: PGH 571
(713) 743-1013
Ordonez Email
Gopal Pandurangan Pandurangan, Gopal
Professor
Ph.D., Brown University
Algorithms, Distributed Computing, Networks, Large-scale Data, Computational Biology

Office: PGH 572
(713) 743-5556
gopal@cs.uh.edu
Jehan-Francois Paris Pâris, Jehan-François
Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Distributed Systems, Storage Systems, Performance Evaluation

Office: PGH 569
(713) 743-3341
jfparis@uh.edu
Ioannis Pavlidis Pavlidis, Ioannis
Eckhard Pfeiffer Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Computational Biomedicine, Biometrics, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Software Engineering

Office: HBS 306
(713) 743-0101
ipavlidis@uh.edu
Shishir Shah

Shah, Shishir
Professor, Associate Department Chair, & Interim Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Quantitative Microscopy, Computational Biology, Image Analysis, Computer Vision, Pattern Recognition, Image Instrumentation


Office: PGH 215
(713) 743-3360
shah@cs.uh.edu
Shi, Weidong (Larry) Shi, Weidong (Larry)
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Enabling System Technologies for Services, Computing Systems, Behavioral Computing

Office: PGH 567
wshi3@uh.edu
Solorio, Thamar Solorio, Thamar
Associate Professor
Ph.D., National Institute of Astrophysics, Optics, and Electronics
Natural Language Processing, Information Extraction

Office: PGH 584
(713) 743-5542
solorio@cs.uh.edu
Jaspal Subhlok Subhlok, Jaspal
Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D., Rice University
Compiler and RunTime Support for Parallel and Distributed Systems, Network Based Computing, Scientific and Stream Processing Applications

Office: PGH 217
(713) 743-3340
jaspal@uh.edu
Nikolaos V. Tsekos Tsekos, Nikolaos V.
Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI), Computer Technology, Robotics and Physiology

Office: PGH 595
(713) 743-3358
ntsekos@cs.uh.edu
Rakesh Verma Verma, Rakesh
Professor
Ph.D., State University of New York-Stony Brook
Formal Methods, Computational Logic, Text/Data Mining and Computer Security

Office: PGH 532
(713) 743-3348
rverma@uh.edu
Ricardo Vilalta Vilalta, Ricardo
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Machine Learning, Computational and Statistical Learning Theory, Neural Networks, Data Mining, Artificial Intelligence

Office: MRE 203C
(713) 743-3614
vilalta@cs.uh.edu
Panruo Wu Wu, Panruo
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside
High performance computing, Numerical Algorithms and Software, Parallel/Distributed Computing, and Big Data Analytics

Office: PGH 564
pwu7@uh.edu
Instructional Faculty
Victoria Hilford Hilford, Victoria
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Programming Languages, Object-Oriented Analysis and Design, Data Structures, Database Management, Software Engineering, Fault Tolerant Computing Systems, Web Programming

Office: PGH 513
(713) 743-3350
vhilford@cs.uh.edu

Long, Kevin
Professor of Practice
M.S., Rice University

Office: PGH 565
kblong@uh.edu

Carlos Rincon Rincon, Carlos
Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston

Office: PGH 577
carincon@uh.edu

Nouhad Rizk Rizk, Nouhad
Instructional Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ed.D., Leicester University, UK
E-Learning, Information Retrieval, Parallel Programming, Web Designing

Office: PGH 529
(713) 743-3710
njrizk@uh.edu

Venkat Subramaniam Subramaniam, Venkat
Instructional Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Software Development, Principles and Practices

svenkat@cs.uh.edu
Giulia Toti Toti, Giulia
Instructional Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, Databases, Information Retrieval

Office: PGH 596
(713) 743-7553
gtoti@uh.edu

Chang Yun Yun, Chang
Instructional Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Interactive Game Design/Development, Video Game Research, Serious Game, Computer-Aided Education, Human-Computer Interaction
Office: PGH 514
(713) 743-3366
cyun@uh.edu
Research Faculty
Barbara Chapman Chapman, Barbara
Research Professor
Ph. D., Queen's University, Belfast, N. Ireland
Compiler Technology, Parallel Programming Languages, Tool Support for Application Development, Parallel Computing and High-Performance Computing, Computational Grids

bchapman@uh.edu
Lin Chen Chen, Lin
Research Assistant Professor
Ph. D., Zhejiang University (China)
Scheduling, bin packing, and knapsack problems; Approximation and online algorithms; FPT and Complexity

lchen43@uh.edu
Yuri Fofanov Fofanov, Yuriy
Research Professor
Ph.D., Kuibyshev (Samara) State University, USSR
Bioinformatics, Applied Statistics, Mathematical Modeling and Information Theory

Office: PGH 230
(713) 743-8553
yfofanov@uh.edu
Walid Taha Taha, Walid
Research Professor
Ph.D., Oregon Graduate Institute
Cyber-Physical Systems, Modeling and Simulation, Embedded Systems, Programming Languages, Software Engineering

maroneal@gmail.com
Emeritus Faculty
J.C. Huang Huang, J.C.
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Software Engineering, Real-Time Computer Systems, Program Analysis and Testing
jhuangcsuhedu@gmail.com
Olin Johnson Johnson, Olin
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., University of California-Berkeley
Numerical Analysis, High Performance Computing
johnson@cs.uh.edu
Willis King King, Willis
Emeritus Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania
Computer Architecture, Distributed Systems
wkking@cs.uh.edu
Joint Faculty
Margaret Cheung Cheung, Margaret
Joint Professor of Computer Science and Chemistry
Professor of Physics
Ph.D., University of California, San Diego
Theoretical biological physics and computational materials science.

Office: SR1 617
(713) 743-8358
mscheung@uh.edu
Deniz Gurkan Gurkan, Deniz
Joint Associate Professor of Computer Science
Associate Professor of Computer Engineering Technology
Ph.D., University of Southern California
Computer networking, measurements, software-defined networking, interoperable data exchange protocols, distributed systems, optical fiber communications.

Office: TCB 230B
(713) 743-4037
dgurkan@uh.edu
Zhu Han Han, Zhu
Joint Professor of Computer Science
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., University of Maryland, College Park
Big Data Analysis, Wireless Networking, Smart Grid, Resource Allocation, and Security

Office: W302 Engineering Building 2 
(713) 743-4437
zhan2@uh.edu
Fatima Merchant Merchant, Fatima
Joint Associate Professor of Computer Science, Biomedical Engineering, and Electrical & Computer Engineering
Associate Professor of Computer Engineering Technology
Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin
Computational Biology and Medicine

fmerchant@uh.edu
Badrinath Roysam Roysam, Badrinath
Joint Professor of Computer Science
Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering
Ph.D., Washington University
Biological image analysis High-performance computing Brain tissue mapping and Neuroprosthetic devices Computational Immunology Subsurface sensing and imaging systems

Office: N325 Engineering Building 1
(713) 743-4400
broysam@central.uh.edu
Adjunct Faculty
Christophe Collet Collet, Christophe
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Toulon, France
Statistical Image Analysis, Multiscale Segmentation, Markov Models, Pattern Recognition and Classification, Bayesian Inference, Multigrid and Genetic Optimization

c.collet@unistra.fr
Hohl, Detlef
Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D., Technical University Aachen, Germany
Computational Physics & Chemistry, HPC, Seismic Processing and Inversion, Oil and Gas Reservoir Modeling, Big Data and Data Analytics for Oil and Gas, Reservoir Surveillance and 4D Seismic

Detlef.Hohl@shell.com
Georgios Paliouras Paliouras, Georgios
Adjunct Professor
Ph.D., University of Manchester, UK
Machine Learning, Knowledge Discovery, Artificial Intelligence, Personalization, User Modeling, Information Filtering, Information Extraction, Event Recognition, Ontology Learning, Grammar Learning, Web Mining

paliourg@iit.demokritos.gr
Uma Ramamurthy Ramamurthy, Uma
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Memphis
Computer Architecture, Operating Systems, Database Systems, Modeling Cognitive Processes, Medical/Research Informatics

uma.ramamurthy@bcm.edu
Eric Stotzer Stotzer, Eric
Adjunct Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Houston
Compilers and Systems Software, Parallel Programming Languages, High Performance Embedded Computing, Computer Architecture, Speech and Language Development

ejstotzer@uh.edu
Lecturers
Robert Lea Lea, Robert
Ph.D., University of Houston
Artificial Intelligence, Numerical Analysis, Computer Architecture

Office: PGH 531
(713) 743-3350
blea@cs.uh.edu
Mantini, Pranav Mantini, Pranav
Ph.D., University of Houston

Office: PGH 550E
pmantini@uh.edu
Raj Singh Singh, Raj
Ph.D. University of Louisiana at Lafayette
Software Design, Software Engineering, Databases, Big Data, Business Intelligence, Data Warehousing, Data Mining
Office: PGH 531
rsingh@cs.uh.edu