UH Home UH Search
1978-79 › Ralph Becker
1979-80 › Richard Evans
1980-81 › Gertrud B. Pickar
1981-82 › Don Kouri
1982-83 › Fredell Lack
1983-84 › Dan Luss
1984-85 › Neal Amundson
1985-86 › Juan Oró
1986-87 › Robert Hazelwood
1987-88 › John M. Ivancevich
1988-89 › Abraham E. Dukler
1989-90 › Cynthia Macdonald
1991 › John Lienhard
1992 › Sidney Berger
1993 › J. Wayne Rabalais
1994 › Simon Moss
1995 › Nicolás Kanellos
1996 › James Symons
1997 › Martin Golubitsky
1998 › James Gibson
1999 › Mark Rothstein
2000 › Paul Chu
2001 › Michael A. Olivas
2002 › Roland Glowinski
2003 › Arnold Eskin
2004 › Allan Jacobson

1999 › Mark A. Rothstein
21st Farfel Recipient

Health Law and Policy Institute
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Law
Law Center

When Mark Rothstein won the Farfel Award in 1999, he had been a faculty member since 1985, an award-winning law professor and a scholar at the helm of the university’s Health Law and Policy Institute, the top-ranked health law program in the United States. He was the first law faculty member to receive the Farfel Award.

In January 2000, Rothstein was named director of the Institute for Bioethics Health Policy and Law, and the Herbert F. Boehl Chair of Law and Medicine at the University of Louisville School of Medicine.

Rothstein is a renowned expert in health law, specifically the ethical and legal issues raised by the Human Genome Project. His distinguished career includes being named the 1999 National Public Hero of the Year by the University of California at Berkeley School of Public Health and the Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Law at UH.

The Health Law and Policy Institute, under his direction from 1986 to 2000, has been ranked as the top health law program in the country and continued that tradition by ranking first in the U.S. News and World Report Survey in April 1999. Cornell Law Library named the Health Law and Policy Institute's Web site, “Health Law Perspectives,” most valuable law-related Web site.

The author of twelve books one of which is used as the standard reference in the field of occupational safety and health law for lawyers, Rothstein is the lead author of the employment law casebook presently used in more than 100 law schools and graduate schools.

A Pennsylvania native, Rothstein received his bachelor’s degree with honors from University of Pittsburgh in 1970. He earned his juris doctorate in 1973 from Georgetown University, where he served as a law review editor.

Rothstein believed that the Farfel Award recognizes professors who try to share their expertise with the community, something he has made a conscious effort to do throughout his career. “Public service should be an essential part of the life of a university professor,” he said. “Getting out in the community should be a goal of all educators. There are many reasons why: it improves the quality of your teaching and research; you serve as a role model; it improves university and community relations; and it helps pay our debt to society. Academics have a very privileged life, and this should be one way we give back to the community that gives so much.”

Next recipient

State of Texas Compact with Texans Statewide Search Homeland Security UH System Privacy and Policies Copyright Site Map Contact UH Feedback