UH Home UH Search
1978-79 › Ralph Becker
1979-80 › Richard Evans
1980-81 › Gertrud B. Pickar
1981-82 › Don Kouri
1982-83 › Fredell Lack
1983-84 › Dan Luss
1984-85 › Neal Amundson
1985-86 › Juan Oró
1986-87 › Robert Hazelwood
1987-88 › John M. Ivancevich
1988-89 › Abraham E. Dukler
1989-90 › Cynthia Macdonald
1991 › John Lienhard
1992 › Sidney Berger
1993 › J. Wayne Rabalais
1994 › Simon Moss
1995 › Nicolás Kanellos
1996 › James Symons
1997 › Martin Golubitsky
1998 › James Gibson
1999 › Mark Rothstein
2000 › Paul Chu
2001 › Michael A. Olivas
2002 › Roland Glowinski
2003 › Arnold Eskin
2004 › Allan Jacobson

1993 › J. Wayne Rabalais
15th Farfel Recipient

Department of Chemistry
Cullen Distinguished Professor of Chemistry
College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Born in Bunkie, Louisiana, Wayne Rabalais received his doctorate from Louisiana State University in 1970. He spent the next year in Sweden as a NATO postdoctoral fellow studying photoelectron and Auger spectroscopy with the Nobel Prize winning professor Kai Siegbahn. When he returned to the United States, Professor Rabalais moved north, to the University of Pittsburgh. By 1975, however, he had come back to the South to join the University of Houston’s rapidly growing chemistry department.

Here Professor Rabalais has continued his study of surface structures. As a result of his important research, he has received numerous honors throughout his career. He is a member of the Louisiana State Hall of Distinction, as well as the Phi Lambda Upsilon Honorary Chemical Society. He has won two technical writing awards, of which he is deservedly proud. In addition, in 1985, he won the University of Houston’s Research Excellence Award. Professor Rabalais became a Cullen Distinguished Professor in 1988; in 1995, he was awarded a joint appointment in both the chemistry and the physics departments.
Professor Rabalais received the Esther Farfel Award in 1993. He has also served on the Farfel selection committee and therefore knows just how rigorous the selection process is. “Receiving the Farfel Award is considered a tremendous honor,” he explains. “It is undoubtedly the highest honor bestowed by the University of Houston. As a recipient, I feel it’s a great compliment from the university, and an indication of their satisfaction with my work.”

Next recipient

State of Texas Compact with Texans Statewide Search Homeland Security UH System Privacy and Policies Copyright Site Map Contact UH Feedback