UH Home UH Search
1978-79 › Ralph Becker
1979-80 › Richard Evans
1980-81 › Gertrud B. Pickar
1981-82 › Don Kouri
1982-83 › Fredell Lack
1983-84 › Dan Luss
1984-85 › Neal Amundson
1985-86 › Juan Oró
1986-87 › Robert Hazelwood
1987-88 › John M. Ivancevich
1988-89 › Abraham E. Dukler
1989-90 › Cynthia Macdonald
1991 › John Lienhard
1992 › Sidney Berger
1993 › J. Wayne Rabalais
1994 › Simon Moss
1995 › Nicolás Kanellos
1996 › James Symons
1997 › Martin Golubitsky
1998 › James Gibson
1999 › Mark Rothstein
2000 › Paul Chu
2001 › Michael A. Olivas
2002 › Roland Glowinski
2003 › Arnold Eskin
2004 › Allan Jacobson

1982-83 › Fredell Lack
5th Farfel Recipient

School of Music
C. W. Moores Professor of Music, Artist-in-Residence
College of Humanities, Fine Arts, and Communication

Fredell Lack was a child of six when she began studying the violin. Later, after graduating from the Juilliard Graduate School of Music, Professor Lack embarked on a dazzling career as a concert soloist, winning many artistic awards. She has performed as soloist with the world’s finest orchestras, making more than 20 European concert tours, and touring Israel, Canada, Central America, and Mexico as well. Her recordings are available on five different record labels.

But Professor Lack’s artistry does not end at the steps of the concert hall or the doors of the recording studio. She has also been instrumental in bringing the world of music to thousands of youngsters in the Houston area, both as a teacher at the University of Houston and as founder of Young Audiences of Houston. In 1979, she received the Fredell Lack Award, given annually to recognize outstanding contributions to the arts in education. When the Moores Opera House opened its doors in 1997, Professor Lack received a Lifetime Achievement Award, recognizing her 40 years of service to the University of Houston.

Ironically, Professor Lack never intended to be a teacher. Drafted by Alfred Neumann, then University of Houston’s dean of arts and sciences, she joined the music faculty in 1959 and has never regretted it. The Farfel Award, which she won in 1983, is just one of many important honors Professor Lack has received. However, she explains, “of all the honors I’ve gotten, the Farfel Award meant the most to me, because it was awarded on the basis of my colleagues’ opinion. Receiving it was an especially wonderful experience.”

Next recipient

State of Texas Compact with Texans Statewide Search Homeland Security UH System Privacy and Policies Copyright Site Map Contact UH Feedback