Skip to main content

Richard Murray Scholarship

The Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship was established in 2008 for the purpose of honoring Dr. Richard Murray's service to the Houston community and 40 years of teaching and research at the University of Houston.   

An Overview of Dr. Murray's Accomplishments

  • Taught political science at UH since 1966
  • Founded the Hobby Center for Public Policy (HCPP) in 1981 with a small group of UH faculty

  • Established the HCPP’s polling operations in 1981

  • Co-authored Pro-Growth Politics Change and Governance in Houston (1991)

  • Served as director of the HCPP from 1996-2006

  • Created the HCPP’s Houston Government Internship Program in 1996

  • Launched the computer assisted survey system in the Survey Research Institute in 2000

  • Awarded the Bob Lanier Chair in Urban Public Policy in 2004 

Richard Murray at City Hall

From left to right: Mrs. Elyse Lanier, Mayor Bob Lanier, Dr. Richard Murray, and Debbie Hartman-Murray

The Award 

The Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship will be awarded to an outstanding political science undergraduate student who shares a passion for politics and policy, has a strong academic commitment and demonstrates a commitment to public service. A $1250.00 award will be presented every year. Private funds were raised to endow this scholarship.   

Congratulations to Stephanie Gomez, Spring 2016 Recipient


Stephanie Gomez is a junior at the University of Houston double majoring in History and Political Science.

In spring 2016, Stephanie interned in the office of City Controller Chris Brown.  After graduation, Stephanie intends to complete a Juris Doctorate and a Master of Social Work joint-degree program.

"Being selected as the recipient is a proud moment in my life. Since becoming a student at the University of Houston, I have found several different ways that I can use my passion for politics, history, and assisting others within the Houston area. This scholarship serves as a reminder that my efforts have not gone in vain, and that I am that much closer to beginning my career as a public servant for the community."

View Past Recipients  

Eligibility Criteria 

The scholarship recipient(s) will be determined by the Richard Murray Scholarship Committee comprised of political science faculty and Hobby Center for Public Policy representatives. Criteria includes the following:

  • Scholarship applicant’s experience inside and outside of the classroom should show a passion for politics and policy.
  • Scholarship applicant should have a strong academic commitment and demonstrated dedication to public service.
  • Scholarship applicant must exhibit leadership ability through campus and/or community activities.
  • Scholarship applicant must have a major in political science declared in the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences.
  • Scholarship applicant must be a full-time undergraduate student in good academic standing at the University of Houston. 
  • Scholarship applicant must have completed a minimum of 60 semester credit hours by the conclusion of spring 2016.  Incoming transfer students must have at least 30 hours of coursework completed at UH. 
  • Scholarship applicant is expected to complete satisfactorily at least 75% of the enrolled semester hours for each semester in which the scholarship is applied. 
  • A cumulative grade point average of at least 3.0 is required for eligibility. 
  • Scholarship recipient may accept other scholarships and grants in conjunction with the Richard Murray Endowed Scholarship.
  • Funds can be used to cover expenses for tuition, books, fees, and/or supplies for the coming academic semester. Any expenses of a recipient in excess of the amount deposited must be borne by the student. 


Download the application for fall 2016.  The application deadline is November 15, 2016.  Late applications will not be accepted.