UNIVERSITY of HOUSTON SUSTAINABILITY

Campus Sustainability Committee Meeting Minutes

Date:October 5th, 2022Location:Teams MeetingTime:1:00 - 2:30 PM

Committee Members

Attended

	Brena Baumann-Gonzalez	Advancement
	Liz Clark	Office of Sustainability
	Mike Emery	Marketing/Communications
	Eve Esch (represented by Sarah Flores)	Student Affairs
	Ken Jones	Division of Research
	Mili Kyropoulou	Faculty Senate
	Vivian LoDuca	Human Resources
	TJ Meagher	Athletics
	Christa Rieck, Chair	AVC/AVP Facilities Planning
	Alan Rossiter	UH Energy
	Chandra Smith-Adams	Auxiliary Services
	Jim Taylor	University Architect
Absent		
	Taylor Nix	Student Government Association
	Mike Oestereicher	AVP Facilities Services
	David Oliver	SVC/SVP Facilities

Minutes:

- I. Introduction
 - a. Christa Rieck reviewed the Campus Sustainability Committee mission and history; the importance of this meeting; and why UH has re-established the Committee. She reviewed the agenda and then introduced new members Mike Oestereicher, Chandra Smith-Adams, Vivian LoDuca, Mike Emery, and Liz Clark to the Committee.
- II. What makes a Top 50 Sustainability Program?
 - a. Liz Clark shared her findings on the Top 50 Public Universities according to US News Rankings and why their sustainability programs contribute to their success. 44 of the Top 50 use STARS to measure and track their sustainability performance. Several statistics were discussed such as commitment to climate action, number of LEED projects, and waste diversion rates. Many of these factors relate to the universities' success in STARS reporting.
 - Alan Rossiter shared his findings on the EPA Green Power Top 30 College Partnerships. He discussed sources of green power and how UH can integrate renewable energy without generating power on campus.

UNIVERSITY of HOUSTON SUSTAINABILITY

III. MAPP Review

a. Jim Taylor summarized the purpose of the MAPP and requested any final comments from Campus Sustainability Committee members by Monday, 10/10/2022.

IV. STARS Discussion

- a. The Committee reviewed the STARS categories and how to analyze the criteria for each section.
- b. Several members including Mili Kyropoulou, Ken Jones, Alan Rossiter, Brena Baumann-Gonzalez, and Eve Esch (represented by Sarah Flores) contributed goals for the Committee to improve sustainability performance on campus.
- c. The goal for the next quarterly Committee meeting in January is to finalize short- and long-term goals.
- V. Adjourn
 - a. Christa Rieck concluded the meeting with a reminder of the MAPP Final Draft assignment and encouragement for participation in future goal setting.