Election Day - Tuesday, November 3, 2009

Election Results

Houston Mayor
*Annise Parker 30.5%
*Gene Locke 25.9%
Peter Brown 22.4%
Roy Morales 20.2%
Houston Controller
*Ronald C. Green 36.3%
*M.J. Khan 32.5%
Pam Holm 31.2%
City Council At-Large Pos. 1
*Stephen Costello 24.1%
*Karen Derr 19.6%
Herman Litt 14.89%
Rick Rodriguez 14.74%
City Council At-Large Pos. 2
*Sue Lovell 48.8%
*Andrew C. Burks Jr. 21.4%
M. Griff Griffin 20.08
Roslyn Shorter 9.60%
City Council At-Large Pos. 4
C.O. Bradford 51.80%
Noel Freeman 21.33%
Deborah Shafto 14.40%
Curtis Garmon 12.47%
City Council At-Large Pos. 5
*Jolanda "Jo" Jones (I) 41.45%
*Jack Christie 36.98%
Carlos Obando 13.57%
Davetta Daniels 8.01%
City Council Dist. A
*Brenda Stardig 31.9%
*Lane Lewis 21.8%
Amy Peck 15.97%
Jeff Downing 13.13%
City Council Dist. B
Jarvis Johnson (I) 82.0%
Roger Bowden 18.0%
City Council Dist. C
Anne Clutterbuck (I) 81.8%
Randolph Locke 17.5%
City Council Dist. D
Wanda Adams 77.58%
Larry McKinzie 11.32%
Otis Jordan 11.11%
City Council Dist. E
Mike Sullivan (I) 74.1%
Wayne Garrison 25.9%
City Council Dist. F
*Mike Laster 25.5%
*Al Hoang 24.6%
Khalid Khan 19.46%
Joe Chow 11.11%
Lewis Cook 8.14%
Peter Acquaro 5.58%
Robert Kane 5.61%
City Council Dist. G
Oliver Pennington 59.1%
Mills Worsham 17.8%
George Foulard 10.68%
Richard Sedita 6.25%
Dexter Handy 6.23%

* runoff to be held on Saturday, December 12th, 2009

All Constitutional Amendments passed

Voting in the upcoming State of Texas and local elections are important benefits of United States citizenship. To assist you in exercising your right to vote, UH is making voter registration forms available to you on campus in the Student Information and Assistance Center and the Dean of Students Office located in the University Center, at the Towers and Oberholtzer service desks located in the residence halls, and at the Bayou Oaks, Calhoun Lofts, Cambridge Oaks, and Cullen Oaks management offices.  Voter registration forms can also be requested on-line through the Harris County Tax Assessor-Collector’s Office at www.tax.co.harris.tx.us .  As a reminder, please be aware that the deadline to register to vote in the Tuesday, November 3, 2009 State of Texas and local elections is Monday, October 5, 2009.  The early voting period for this fall’s elections commences on Monday, October 19, 2009 and ends on Friday, October 30, 2009.

The following is a partial listing of tax assessor/collector’s websites in surrounding counties:

Harris County www.tax.co.harris.tx.us
Brazoria County    www.brazoria-county.com
Chambers County   www.co.chambers.tx.us
Fort Bend County    www.co.fort-bend.tx.us
Galveston County   www.co.galveston.tx.us
Montgomery County       www.co.montgomery.tx.us
Victoria County     www.vctx.org

Things to Remember on Voting:

  • Register to Vote - Deadline - October 5, 2009
  • Early Voting Starts - October 19, 2009
  • Early Voting Shuttles for UH students - October 27-29, 2009
  • Last Date for Early Voting - October 30, 2009
  • General Election Day - November 3, 2009

For more information on voting and to locate your Harris County polling location go to: