Skip to main content

2017 Moores Professors and Teaching Excellence, Global, and Undergraduate Research Mentoring Awards Recipients


Whether in the classroom, in the research laboratory, or mentoring and advising students, faculty have brought the University of Houston to top-tier national recognition. University faculty receiving a 2017 Teaching Excellence or Global Award, a Moores Professorship, or an Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award will be honored at the Faculty Excellence Award Dinner April 20 at the Hilton University of Houston.  Additionally, the University's highest faculty honor, the Esther Farfel Award, will also be presented by last year's recipient, George E. Fox.

Please join Provost Short in congratulating these worthy and well-deserved faculty members!

John and Rebecca Moores Professorship
This five year, renewable professorship is awarded to faculty in recognition of outstanding teaching, research, and service.

Clayton Neighbors, Psychology
Hanadi Rifai, Civil Engineering

Teaching Excellence Awards

The Teaching Excellence Awards recognize the achievements of faculty in nine categories: Teaching Excellence, Provost's Core, Instructional Technology, Instructor/Clinical, Graduate Teaching, Community Engagement, Career, Group Teaching, and Distinguished Leadership in Teaching Excellence.

Teaching Excellence
This award is given to faculty in recognition of outstanding achievement in teaching.

Don Coltart, Chemistry
W. Anthony Frankino, Biology and Biochemistry
Hadi Ghasemi, Mechanical Engineering
Douglas Moll, Law
Leonard Trombetta, Electrical and Computer Engineering

Provost's Core

This award is given to faculty in recognition of outstanding teaching in the core curriculum.

James Schafer, History
Elizabeth Simas, Political Science

Instructional Technology

This award is given in recognition of full-time faculty who have demonstrated excellence in innovative teaching using instructional technology such as hybrid courses, online courses, and instructional television. 

Steven Pennings, Biology and Biochemistry


This award is given in recognition of outstanding teaching by faculty instructors, clinical faculty,
research faculty, artist affiliates, and lecturers.

John Lopez, Finance
Nouhad Rizk, Computer Science

Graduate Teaching Assistant

This award is given to graduate students in recognition of outstanding teaching.

Elizabeth Blomstedt, English
Erika Jo Brown, English
Phillip Jolly, Management
Ashley Salaiz, Management

Community Engagement

This award is given in recognition of full-time faculty who involve students in service learning activities or community engagement projects.

Saleha Khumawala, Accountancy and Taxation


This award is given to faculty who have demonstrated excellence in teaching over the course of their career at the University of Houston.

Richard Armstrong, Modern and Classical Languages

Group Teaching

This award recognizes faculty who demonstrate a strong commitment to teaching and student success, and who have worked together collaboratively to improve student outcomes.

For the Introductory Biology Teaching Team:

Ann Cheek, Biology and Biochemistry
Catherine Horn, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Richard Knapp, Biology and Biochemistry
Ana Medrano, Biology and Biochemistry
Monique Ogletree, Biology and Biochemistry
Donna Pattison, Biology and Biochemistry
Dan Wells, Biology and Biochemistry
Lawrence Williams, Biology and Biochemistry

For the Enhancing University Physics 1 & 2 through an Inquiry-Based Approach Team:

Rebecca Forrest, Physics
Sladjana Maric, Physics
Donna Stokes, Physics
Oomman Varghese, Physics
Lowell Wood, Physics

Distinguished Leadership in Teaching Excellence

This award is given to a previous University of Houston Teaching Excellence Award recipient, who in ten or more years of teaching, has made sustained and significant contributions to education.

Dusya Vera, Management

Global Award

This award is given to tenured or tenure-track faculty who have demonstrated excellence in the promotion of globalization of teaching, research, and/or service.

Sharon Wen, Modern and Classical Languages

Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award

This award recognizes the mentorship efforts of University of Houston faculty at all stages of their careers. The award acknowledges faculty who are making a significant impact in their field by supporting and mentoring undergraduate students in research and scholarship endeavors and who have demonstrated at least five years of mentorship involvement.

Edgar Bering, Physics
Timothy Cooper, Biology and Biochemistry
Megan Robertson, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering