Skip to main content

Campus Carry - Armed With Knowledge

The 84th Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 11, effective August 1, 2016, expands the areas on public university campuses where those with appropriate licenses are authorized to carry concealed handguns. The University of Houston is fully devoted to building the finest environment for learning, discovery and work. At the same time, as a state institution, UH is subject to the demands of the law and will necessarily comply.

The Campus Carry Armed with Knowledge training has been designed to provide a basic understanding of the Texas Senate Bill 11 and Texas Senate Bill 273. Before you begin the online presentation, please take a moment to understand the differences between the Current Law and what will take effect on August 1, 2016.


Campus Carry: Current Law vs. August 1, 2016

Current Law

August 1, 2016 (Senate Bill 11 – Campus Carry)

License Type:  Concealed Handgun License (CHL)

License Type:  License to Carry (LTC)

A CHL holder can carry a concealed handgun on campus on a public or private driveway, street, sidewalk or walkway, parking lot, parking garage, or other parking area.

A License to Carry holder will be able to carry a concealed handgun anywhere on a university campus, including buildings, unless prohibited by state or federal law, or new university rules associated with changes in the law.

The changes enacted by House Bill 910 (Open Carry) were effective January 1, 2016. However, this law does not permit open carry on a university campus.

The changes enacted by Senate Bill 273 (Wrongful Exclusion of Concealed Handgun License Holder) were effective September 1, 2015. SB 273 permits the state to fine the University of Houston if it attempts, by utilizing a Penal Code 30.06 notification, to prohibit a concealed handgun license holder from carrying a concealed handgun in a place not prohibited by sections 46.03 or 46.035 of the Penal Code. In other words, unless existing state law prohibits carrying a concealed handgun in a location, a state agency cannot bar carrying a concealed handgun at the location. The fine can be $1,500 per day for the first offense, and can be as high as $10,500 per day for a second or subsequent offense.

Other States with Similar Laws:

States that permit the concealed carry of handguns for license holders on university campuses: Utah 2004, Oregon 2011, Colorado 2003, Kansas 2013, Idaho 2014, Mississippi 2011, Wisconsin 2011.