Department Overview - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Department Overview

The Department of Physics at the University of Houston has 31 ranked faculty members, including nine distinguished or chaired professors. Faculty members have been recognized on the national and international level. Among the faculty ranks is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Faculty members have received awards such as the National Medal of Science, the Freedoms Foundation Award, the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Award, the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Senior Scientist Award, the Materials Research Society Von Hippel Award, and the Max Planck Research Award.

UH physics faculty members serve on national peer-review panels to evaluate competitive research grants and edit prestigious scientific journals. Students, postdoctoral fellows and faculty interact to create a research-intensive atmosphere. Collaborations are common with faculty in other departments, the UH Cullen College of Engineering, and outside the university with agencies such as NASA, and many U.S. and foreign universities.

The Department of Physics at the University of Houston serves approximately 115 undergraduate majors and 100 graduate students at a given time. The department welcomes inquiries from interested students. For more information, contact the department.