Provost Appoints NSM Dean Search Committee

The formation of an advisory committee to assist in the search for a new dean of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics was announced this week by University of Houston Provost John Antel.

The committee will be chaired by Joseph Tedesco, dean of UH’s Cullen College of Engineering and will also include Donald Birx, UH’s vice president for research. Seven of the most distinguished NSM faculty members and an associate dean from the College of Optometry round out the committee.

The group is tasked with recommending finalists to Antel and plans to evaluate a diverse group of candidates.

NSM Dean John Bear announced in January he was stepping down after leading the college for 18 years. However he will continue serving as dean until a successor is found.

Joseph Tedesco – Dean, Cullen College of Engineering

Donald Birx – Vice Chancellor/Vice President for Research
Laura Frishman – Associate Dean, Optometry
Vern Paulsen – Moores Professor, Mathematics
Preethi Gunaratne – Assistant Professor, Biology/Biochemistry
Ed Hungerford – Anderson Professor, Physics
Ioannis Kakadiaris – Pfeiffer Professor, Computer Science
T. Randall Lee – Cullen Professor, Chemistry
Robert Stewart – Cullen Professor, Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
Dan Wells – Professor, Biology/Biochemistry
Jan-Åke Gustafsson - Welch Chair Professor, Biology/Biochemistry