New Members Join NSM Dean's Advisory Board

Six new members recently have been named to the Dean’s Advisory Board for the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics at the University of Houston. Responsibilities of the scientists, physicians and industry representatives on the board include advising the dean on strategic initiatives of the college by serving on one of three taskforces: energy, health and student success.

New members are:

Craig Beasley is chief geoscientist and Schlumberger Fellow for WesternGeco. He earned three degrees in mathematics: a B.S. from UH, an M.S. from Emory University and a Ph.D. from the University of North Texas.

Wah Chiu is director of the National Center for Macromolecular Imaging and professor of biochemistry and molecular biology at Baylor College of Medicine. He holds a B.A. in physics and a Ph.D. in biophysics from the University of California, Berkley.

Greg Leveille is general manager for exploration, business development and land for the Lower 48 Region of ConocoPhillips. He earned a B.S. and M.S. in geology from San Diego State University.

Gordon B. Mills is chairman of molecular therapeutics and professor of medicine at M.D. Anderson Cancer Center. He holds a B.S. in medical science, an M.D. and a Ph.D. in biochemistry, all from the University of Alberta, Canada.

Leon Thomsen is a scientist with Delta Geophysics. He earned a B.S. in geophysics from California Institute of Technology and a Ph.D. in geophysics from Columbia University.

Rep. John Zerwas (R-Richmond) represents District 28 in the Texas House of Representatives. He is president of Memorial Hermann Health Network Providers and Memorial Hermann Medical Group. He earned a B.S. in biology from the University of Houston and an M.D. from Baylor College of Medicine.