

July 22, 2019

UH's AWM Student Chapter Wins Scientific Excellence Award

The Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM) has over 100 student chapters at colleges and universities across the country and around the world. AWM Student Chapters develop their yearly programming to meet the needs and interests of their chapter. The AWM Student Chapter Awards highlight and celebrate the unique and meaningful programs that Chapters design. AWM's Student Chapter Awards are for (1) scientific excellence, (2) professional development, (3) fundraising and sustainability, and (4) community outreach.

The University of Houston AWM Student Chapter is the 2019 recipient of the Association of Women in Mathematics' Scientific Excellence Award



The AWM Student Chapter at the University of Houston is receiving this award for organizing and presenting the highly distinguished 3rd Annual Texas Women in Mathematics Symposium (TWIMS). This is a regional conference that has rotated around universities in the Texas-area since 2016. This past year it hosted an inclusive group of over 70 attendees. Conference activities included 19 research talks

(including a plenary talk by Professor Suncica Canic), 8 poster presenters, a salary negotiation workshop, a career panel of academics and industrial professionals, and breakout sessions on applying for graduate school, selecting an advisor, work/life balance, maternity leave in academia, and ideas for AWM student chapter activities. TWIMS 2018 was financially supported by UH College of Natural Sciences Mathematics. UH Department Mathematics, and the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) Tensor Women and Mathematics Grant



It is, and will continue to be a major event for women in mathematics in Texas, and the University of Houston has done exceptional work in promoting and prolonging its critical influence in the mathematical culture of the region.

We congratulate them for their excellent example of how to sustain and encourage a community of women in mathematics.

The other 2019 Award Winners are Colorado School of Mines (Professional Development), University of Kentucky (Community Outreach), and Florida Atlantic University (Fundraising/Sustainability).