Staff DEI Committee - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Staff DEI Committee


To acknowledge racism and its inequities in an effort to dismantle them and to recommend and promote diverse, equitable, and inclusive initiatives in alignment with NSM’s core values to enrich the college’s culture and enhance the staff experience.


  • To build and promote an inclusive work culture in NSM that encourages, supports, and celebrates the diversity of experiences, cultural backgrounds, and ideas among our staff
  • To disseminate information to NSM staff concerning DEI programs/activities at UH and in the community
  • To support diverse student groups in NSM through participation in mentorship programs
  • To collaborate with NSM faculty and students on ongoing and future DEI initiatives


  • DEI Impact Area 1 – Improve how we talk about, understand, and measure DEI through implementation of our mission and objectives.
    • Action: Include staff from Indigenous, Latinx, Black, Asian Pacific Islander, LGBTQ+, and other communities).
  • DEI Impact Area 2 – Invest in and provide training for staff through NSM Community Conversations and other workshops/trainings.
    • Actions: Identify and address barriers; Advance diversity and retention; Advance (or Promote) gender equity; Address (or Educate about) implicit bias; Review baseline, mandatory and ongoing professional development.
  • DEI Impact Area 3 – Community Engagement through the Third Ward Initiative and other community activities/opportunities.
    • Actions: Staff Council and Center for Diversity and Inclusion service opportunities; City of Houston programs.


Subscribe To This Calendar


Committee Members

  • Marsha Braxton, Department of Earth & Atmospheric Sciences
  • Callista Brown, Department of Mathematics (Chair)
  • Eduardo Cerna, NSM Scholar Enrichment Program (SEP)
  • Seth Evans, Department of Chemistry
  • Stacy Halley, NSM Development Office

Contact the Committee

Reach out to the Staff DEI Committee with your ideas and comments at