‘Salute to Retail’ Honors Industry Innovators

College of Technology Event Benefits Scholarships, Endowment

Joe Williams, vice president of the Texas Retailers Association, will receive a lifetime achievement award at “Salute to Retail,” a biennial event hosted by the University of Houston’s College of Technology.

This year’s event, which benefits student scholarships and the Star Endowment for Retailing and Consumer Science and Global Retailing in the College of Technology, will be Wednesday, April 25, at the River Oaks Country Club. It will begin at 11 a.m.

Williams has been vice president for regulatory and member services of the Texas Retailers Association since its merger with the Gulf Coast Retailers Association in 2006. He previously served as president for the Gulf Coast Retailers.

He also serves on the advisory board for retailing and consumer science program at UH.

In addition to Williams, this year’s honorees include:

  • Betty Newton – à bientôt
  • Christina Mitchell – Abejas Boutique
  • Tina Davis – Cheeky Vintage
  • Regina Garcia – Events
  • Cyndy Garza Roberts – HEB
  • Holly Moore – PaperCity
  • John Sheehan – Target

"Salute to Retail" began in 2004 as a way to honor the field and reflect the UH retailing program’s active advisory board and alumni. The university offers a bachelor of science degree in retailing and consumer science as part of the Human Development And Consumer Sciences Department, along with a master’s degree in global retailing. The awards honor individuals who have contributed to the field and have allowed the UH Human Development and Consumer Sciences department to create an endowment to cover scholarships and other program needs. “

For more information about the luncheon and awards program, contact jmruberti@sbcglobal.net.


Cover photo credit: Henry Jose Flickr (CC BY 2.0)