Timothy Koozin | Faculty and Staff | Moores School of Music - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty Coordinator of Music Theory

Dr. Timothy Koozin


Professor of Music Theory (Music Theory Division Chair)

e-mail: tkoozin@uh.edu
office: MSM 148
office phone: (713)743-3318
address: 120 School of Music Bldg, Houston, TX 77204-4017
Download CV

Timothy Koozin (Ph.D., Music Theory, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music, 1989; M.M., Piano Performance and Pedagogy, Ohio University, 1982; B.A., Music with a concentration in piano, Humboldt State University, 1980) is professor and division chair of Music Theory at the Moores School of Music, University of Houston, where he has been teaching since 1997. He taught previously at the University of North Dakota, 1987-1997. His research interests include music and meaning, popular music, film music, and music instructional technology. His articles appear in Perspectives of New Music, Contemporary Music Review, Music Theory Online, and College Music Symposium. His analytical essays on musical gesture in popular music, focused on artists including Nick Drake, Bob Dylan, Sarah McLachlan, and Jimi Hendrix, appear in journal articles and in collected essays published by Cambridge University Press (2016), Ashgate (2015), and Routledge (2008). His edited collection of essays on the film music of Fumio Hayasaka and Toru Takemitsu comprises a 2010 volume of The Journal of Film Music. Koozin is co-author of two music theory textbooks with companion instructional websites published by Cengage: Techniques and Materials of Music (enhanced 7th ed., 2015) and Music for Ear Training (4th ed., 2013). He regularly presents papers at national and regional scholarly meetings and has presented at international conferences in England, Norway, Austria, and the Netherlands. He was editor of the electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, Music Theory Online, 2001–2008. He has taught summer courses at the College Music Society Center for Professional Development in Music Technology (1995), served on the College Music Society Advisory Council on Music Theory (1995–1998), served on program committees and executive boards for the Texas Society for Music Theory and Music Theory Midwest, and served as chair of the IT/ Networking Committee of the Society for Music Theory (2011–2013).