Anthony Kitai | Faculty and Staff | Moores School of Music - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Faculty Strings

Anthony Kitai


Affiliate Artist Cello

office: MSM 211
office phone: (713)743-3379
address: 120 School of Music Bldg, Houston, TX 77204-4017

Anthony Kitai joined the Houston Symphony in 2001, serving as acting associate principal cellist from 2003 – 2005, and currently holds the third chair position. Previously, he was a member of the Memphis Symphony and the Iris Chamber Orchestra.

As a soloist, Kitai has appeared with many orchestras including the Xalapa Symphony Orchestra, Galveston Symphony, Houston Civic Symphony, Symphony North of Houston, Texas Medical Center Orchestra, Delta Symphony, Fort Smith Symphony, Pine Bluff Symphony and the University of Houston Moores School Symphony Orchestra.

Music festival appearances include Grand Teton, Schleswig-Holstein, Zenith, Allegra, Aspen and New York String Orchestra Seminar. Kitai was on the faculty of the American Festival for the Arts from 2010 – 2011 and the Sewanee Summer Music Festival from 2012 – 2017. Currently, he is on the faculty at the Texas Music Festival and is the principal cellist of the AIMS Festival Orchestra in Graz, Austria.

As a chamber musician, Kitai has performed with Mercury Baroque, and on Aperio, Col Canto, Foundation for Modern Music and Woodlands Salon Series Concerts. He frequently collaborates with his wife, pianist Shannon Hesse, and has performed with her on the Galveston Island Arts Academy Concert Series, Greenbriar Consortium Concerts, Houston Community College Chamber Music Series, Imperial Performing Arts, Louisiana State University Manship Guest Series and Westminster Summer Concerts.

A passionate and committed teacher, Kitai currently serves as an affiliate artist of cello at the University of Houston’s Moores School of Music.

Kitai received his B.M. and performer’s certificate from the Eastman School of Music and his M.M. from the Shepherd School of Music at Rice University. His major teachers have included Desmond Hoebig, Steven Doane, Paul Katz and Peter Spurbeck.