Skip to main content

March 2012

Snap Shots_wrapper_580

Exchange Students
A Special Endowment for a Special Lady
A walk down memory lane, hugs, tears, laughter, a champagne toast and more hugs were all part of what Mary Douglas called "the party of a lifetime." After hosting her last Career Fair on Feb. 23, Mary retired as director of Placement Services at Hilton College. Afterwards, the Conrad Hilton Ballroom was filled with colleagues, alumni and students all gathered to bid a fond farewell and to say "thank you" to a lady who has touched countless lives and been a constant friend and resource to students, alumni and recruiters alike. To recognize her 32 years of service, Mary was presented with a few surprises that left her emotional, speechless and forever grateful. Margo Kaplan ('03), president, and Randy McCaslin (Hon. '07), president-elect of the Hilton College Alumni Association, announced that their board of directors voted to recognize Mary as an honorary alumna of the College and presented her with a lifetime membership to UHAA. Dr. Clint Rappole and Dean John Bowen presented Mary with a rocking chair emblazoned with the UH seal and her years of service—a gift from faculty and staff. But the speechless moment came when (pictured center left) Sharmagne Taylor ('86) and (pictured center right) Rod Thompson ('90) told Mary and her guests about the new scholarship endowment that had been created in her honor. Spearheaded by these two alumni, the initial gifting for the Mary Douglas Scholarship Endowment was $50,000. And that's what was raised while this endowment was a secret! The College expects this endowment to grow dramatically with continued alumni support. Mary's last official day was March 15. The College won't be the same without her. If you would like to contribute to Mary's endowment, please contact Jon C. Schultz. This endowment will preserve Mary's amazing legacy by providing financial support to deserving students at Hilton College for generations to come. If you would like to recruit our students, please contact Maggie Chavez, our new director of Placement Services. (Photos: Michael Scott)
And SolBridge Makes Four
Hilton College added to its growing list of international partnerships in February with the signing of its newest articulation agreement with SolBridge International School of Business at Woosong University in Daejeon, South Korea. The College now has agreements with four Korean universities—SolBridge is its first graduate program partnership. This agreement allows students attending SolBridge to transfer nine credit hours to the University of Houston and finish their master's program at Hilton College. The College's three Korean undergraduate program partnerships include Kyung Hee University, Sejong University and Kyonggi University. Pictured left to right at the signing ceremony at SolBridge are Dr. John Bowen, dean of Hilton College; Dr. Jerald Strickland, assistant vice chancellor for International Studies and Programs at UH; Dr. John E. Endicott, vice chancellor of SolBridge and president of Woosong University; and Dr. Yong Wook Jun, dean of SolBridge and vice president of Woosong University. (Photo inset) Dr. Ki-Joon Back, director of the Graduate Program at Hilton College, laid the groundwork for this partnership. While in Korea, Drs. Bowen, Back and Strickland visited the other partnership schools and attended a graduation ceremony for our students at Kyung Hee. Currently, at any one time, there are six Korean students studying at UH through these partnership agreements.
A Breakfast for Champions
For most, February in New Orleans means Mardi Gras. But this year on Feb. 24-28, New Orleans also played host to the 85th World Conference on Club Management & Club Business Expo. One of our very own had the honor of speaking in front of thousands of club managers from around the country and around the world at the conference's opening business session. (Pictured right) As a Club Foundation Faculty Internship award recipient, Alexis Hoey, faculty advisor for the Club Managers Association of America (CMAA) Cougar Chapter, opened the session with a presentation on the importance of faculty and student chapter support through the Club Foundation and cited the successes at Hilton College. Her students were also big winners. At the Student Achievement Breakfast sponsored by ClubCar, the CMAA Cougar Chapter took first place in the Club of the Future Food & Beverage category. Their idea for the "iHealth Club" app claimed their spot in the Club of the Future education session, where they had the rare opportunity to pitch their idea to a room full of club managers. Pictured left to right are Ashley Moreno, Kim Tien, Tony Bonardi, Callie Oreschnigg, Adrian Vivas, Jean Kim, Fred Palmer, vice president of National Accounts for ClubCar; Chris Muratore and Brandon Wall. And for these winning Cougars, this trip turned out to be better than any Mardi Gras parade. Kudos to all!
My Table Tournament Makes Par
"Links, Greens & Fried Eggs" may sound like brunch, but it's really golf lingo and the theme of the Second Annual My Table Golf Tournament held Feb. 15 at the BlackHorse Golf Club. My Table Magazine is the city's premier publication known for its coverage of Houston's vibrant food and dining scene, and its charity golf tournament funds a scholarship endowment at Hilton College. The foggy morning of play began with more than 100 golfers, followed by an afternoon post-play 19th Hole Party featuring wine and food from some of Houston's best restaurants. There were also fabulous foodie raffle packages and auction items. Even UH's Shasta showed up for the food and fun. Pictured left to right are student volunteers Michael Arredondo, Jessica Ordonez, Shasta and Carolina Paz. These were just a few of the volunteers who assisted Alexis Hoey, faculty liaison for the tournament, and her graduate assistant Cindy Maleombho, with the myriad details of this event. Alexis worked closely with editor and publisher Teresa Byrne-Dodge, who established the My Table tournament and scholarship endowment. A heart-felt "thank you" to everyone who contributed to the success of this tournament. (Photo: Aria Pramesi)