UNIVERSITY OF HOUSTON FACULTY SENATE PAST LEADERSHIP

History:

The Faculty Senate was established in May, 1961 to represent the entire faculty body as part of the University governance structure with direct policy-making input. It is a reorganization of the old Faculty Assembly. In March of 1980, the Senate restructured its membership to 52 Senators from 13 colleges and the Library with two full-time staff members: an administrator and a clerical position. On April 10, 2011 the Faculty Senate unified with the Research Council and Undergraduate Council, raising total membership to 110. On May 5, 2014 the Faculty Senate unified with the Graduate & Professional Studies Council, bring the total membership to 134.

[Note: Should the President and/or the President-elect of the Faculty Senate not be re-elected to their Senate seat, Article One, Section One of the Faculty Senate Constitution is invoked to create Constitutional seats for the continuation of their service as officers. This increases Senate membership by one or two.]

UH FACULTY SENATE PRESIDENT/CHAIRS (as of January 22, 2020)

| PRESIDENT/CHAIR | TERM IN OFFICE |
|--------------------|----------------|
| Raúl Ramos | 2019 |
| Daniel O'Connor | 2018 |
| Catherine Horn | 2017 |
| Jonathan Snow | 2016♦ |
| Wynne Chin | 2015** |
| María Elena Soliño | 2014 |
| Steven W. Wallace | 2013 |
| Dmitri Litvinov | 2012♦ |
| Monica McHenry | 2011 |
| Mark Clarke | 2010 |
| Dan Wells | 2009 |
| Wynne Chin | 2008+ |
| Joseph Kotarba | 2007 |
| Steven Craig | 2006 |
| Allen R. Warner | 2005 |
| Giles Auchmuty | 2004♦ |
| Anne J. Jacobson | 2003 |
| Joseph Eichberg | 2002 |

| H. Jerome Freiberg | 2001 |
|-------------------------------|-------|
| Lewis Wheeler | 2000⊀ |
| William Fitzgibbon | 1999 |
| Robert Palmer | 1998 |
| Angela Patton | 1997 |
| Karl Kadish | 1996 |
| Jerry Paskusz | 1995 |
| Ernst Leiss | 1994 |
| George Reiter | 1993 |
| Bill Cook | 1992 |
| John Bernard | 1991 |
| Stuart Hall | 1990 |
| Judy Myers | 1989 |
| Loye "Mickey" Hollis | 1988 |
| James Walters | 1987 |
| Alex Ignatiev | 1986 |
| Stephen Huber (1st President) | 1985 |
| Loyd Swenson | 1984 |
| Larry Judd | 1983 |
| James Cooper | 1982 |
| Hyland Packard | 1981 |
| Martha Piper | 1980 |
| John Holand | 1979 |
| Donald Lutz | 1978 |
| Gertrud Pickar | 1977 |
| John McNamara | 1976 |
| Bredo Johnsen | 1975 |

| James Cox | 1974 |
|-------------------|------|
| Thomas DeGregori | 1973 |
| Wallace Honeywell | 1972 |
| Arnold Vobach | 1971 |
| Eby McElrath | 1970 |

^{**}First President to repeat service

→ Chairs UFEC (University Faculties Executive Council)