Skip to main content

DSAES Awards

"Honoring those who exemplify the Division's commitment to Supporting Student Success."

2020 DSAES Awards

Award Nomination Form

Award Descriptions Submission Rubric Sample Submissions

Nominations will open on February 17


The Division of Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Awards program is designed to honor staff members (individually or as a group in some cases) who exemplify the Division's commitment to service. The awards recognize the ongoing contributions to excellence that members of the UH community put forth each day in two ways: the Golden Paw Employee of the Month and at our Annual Awards Banquet held each May.

Annual Awards Banquet

Any member of the UH community can nominate an individual or a group of individuals who embodies the message of an award. Be sure to look at the criteria for this year's awards before nominating. All nominees should reflect the overall mission and vision of the Division while making an outstanding contribution to our collective goals. Along with recognizing work on committees, projects and task forces, those who excel in day-to-day job expectations are also eligible as nominees for any of the DSAES Awards.

Selection Committee and Nomination Tips

The DSAES Awards Selection Committee is comprised of: Faculty Senate Representative, Staff Council Representative, Student Government Association Representative, Human Resources Representatives, and Dan Maxwell (Facilitator)

Some tips for completing nominations for the DSAES Awards include:

  • Each nomination will require one completed nomination from individuals other than the nominee.
  • The Division Professional Awards of Excellence will require a completed nomination form and two supporting letters.
  • Nomination information provided will go to the selection committee for review.
  • Anyone (students, faculty, staff, etc.) can nominate/support individuals/groups for any of the DSAES Awards.
  • If you wish to nominate the same individual or group for more than one award, you will need to complete separate nominations for each award.
  • An individual or group can only win one award per year.
  • An award winner in a particular award category is not eligible to be nominated for the same award the next year; but an individual or group can be nominated in another award category if they meet the criteria.
  • All nominees will be notified of their nomination and expected to attend the DSAES Awards Program and Luncheon.

Congratulations to the 2019 DSAES Awards Recipients:

  • Cougar Spirit Award
    Sharon Pesquera, Student Housing & Residential Life
  • Diversity & Inclusion Award
    Jamie Gonzales, LGBTQ Resource Center
  • DSAES Outstanding Committee Contribution Award
    Pam Ogden, Integrated Enrollment Services
  • Excellence in Programming Award
    Jacqueline Walker and Tara Monson Tran, Integrated Enrollment Services
  • Friend of the Division
    Chris McDonald, Environmental Health & Life Safety
  • Graduate Assistant Award of Excellence
    Riley Spenningsby, Campus Recreation
  • Impact Award
    Chandra Gonzalez, Scholarships & Financial Aid
  • Outstanding Administrative Assistant/Support Staff Award of Excellence
    Rosalba (Rose) Sanchez, Center for Student Involvement
  • Outstanding Assessment Award
    Megan Akogyeram, University Career Services 
  • Outstanding Marketing & Communication Award
    Dr. Patrick Lukingbeal, UH Wellness
  • Outstanding New Professional Award of Excellence
    Jacqueline Walker, Integrated Enrollment Services
  • Outstanding Professional Award of Excellence
    Dr. Tina Powellson, Center for Student Involvement
  • Rising Star Award of Excellence
    Kimberly Chairez, Admissions
  • Student Employee of Excellence
    Gabrielle (Gabby) Cabangon, Admissions
  • Student Leader Award of Excellence
    Ruth Akorikin, Metropolitan Volunteer Program
  • Student Success Award
    Lin Crowson, Amy Fitzjarrald, and Stephanie Hignojos, Student Housing and Residential Life
    Diversity and Inclusion Liaison Program, Center for Diversity and Inclusion and Center for Student Involvement
  • The Ambassador Award
    Jason Bergeron, Center for Fraternity and Sorority Life
  • Tier One Customer Service – Department Award
    Frank Gomez, Luis Alaniz, Elizabeth Berry, Dee Darrett, Tangelia Gay, Edgar Reed III, Yoana Roman, Sharon Spiller, Moises Villalpando, James Watkins, Scholarships & Financial Aid
  • Tier One Customer Service – Individual Award
    Kathy Waller, Student Health Center
  • Outstanding Service as a DSAES Committee Chair
    Tina Powellson, Professional Development Committee
    Eve Esch, Assessment Committee
    Jamie Gonzales, Marketing and Communications Committee
    Caitlin Deis, Marketing and Communications Committee
    Reuben Parrish, Development Committee