Skip to main content

James H. Pickering

Faculty directory »


no photo


  • Ph.D., Northwestern University
  • M.A., Northwestern University
  • B.A., Williams College

back to top



  • English 2305: Introduction to Fiction
  • English 3350: American Literature
  • English 3396: Literature of the American West

back to top

Selected Publications


  • Fiction 100: An Anthology of Short Stories. Eleventh Edition (Englewood Cliffs, N.J: Prentice-Hall, 2007). 1,447 pp. Companion Web Site:
  • Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park: Then and Now. (Denver, Co.: Westcliffe Publishing Company, 2006). Photographic History. With Mic Clinger and Carey Stevanus. 272 pp.
  • Enos Mills’ Colorado (Boulder. Co.: Johnson Books, 2006), 238 pp.
  • Americaem>’s Switzerland: Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park: The GrowthYears. (Boulder, Co.: the University Press of Colorado, 2005). 457 pp.
  • Early Estes Park, Volumes I-IV (Estes Park, Co.: Alpenaire Publishing/Estes Park Park Museum, 2004).
    • Volume 1: Narratives of Discovery, Settlement, and Recreation. 234 pp.
    • Volume II: Narratives of Discovery, Settlement, and Recreation. 224 pp.
    • Volume III: Days and Hours of Estes Park (1912-1944): The Journal of Charles Edwin Hewes. 215 pp.
    • Volume IV: Narratives of Exploration and Mountain Advanture and Bibliography of Historical Literature. 210 pp.
  • The Ways of the Mountains: Thornton Sampson, Agnes Vaille and Other Tragedies in High Places (Estes Park, Co.: Alpenaire Publishing/Estes Park Area Historical Museum, 2003). 125 pp.
  • In the Vale of Elkanah: The Tahosa Valley World of Charles Edwin Hewes (Estes Park: Alpenaire Publishing/Estes Park Area Historical Museum, 2003. Second, Revised Edition, 2007). 141 pp.
  • Mr. Stanley of Estes Park. (Kingfield, Me.: The Stanley Museum, 2000). 360 pp. First full-scale biography of Freelan Oscar Stanley (1849-1940), co-inventor of the Stanley Steamer and pioneer of Colorado tourist industry.
  • "This Blue Hollow": Estes Park, The Early Years, 1859-1915. 321 pp. (Niwot, Co.: University Press of Colorado, 1999). Winner of 1999 Publication Prize of the Colorado Endowment for the Humanities; Finalist, Colorado Book Award, “Colorado and the West,” 2000. Paperback edition, University Press of Colorado, 2005.
  • The City in American Literature (New York: Harper and Row, Publishers, 1977).
  • The World Turned Upside Down: The Prose and Poetry of the American Revolution (New York: Kennikat Press, 1975).

Articles and Notes

  • “Vanished In the Mountain: The Saga of the Reverend Thornton R. Sampson,” Colorado Heritage, (Summer 2000), 19-35.
  • "'Alone Amid the Wind's Mad Revelry': The Death of Carrie Welton,” Colorado Heritage, (Summer 1998), 3-13.
  • "The Ascent of Mount Richthofen," Colorado Heritage, (Summer 1996), 35-42.
  • "Biking and Climbing with the Denver Ramblers, 1891," Trail & Timberline (Journal of the Colorado Mountain Club), 919 (July 1996), 474-476.
  • "Adventuring in Colorado's San Juans: 1908," Colorado Heritage, (Summer 1993), 2-15.
  • "Summertime in the Rockies: Estes Park in 1904," Colorado Heritage, (Spring 1992), 40-46.
  • "Fenimore Cooper as Country Gentleman: A New Look at Cooper's Westchester Years," New York History, LXXII (July 1991), 299-318
  • "Satanstoe: Cooper's Debt to William Dunlap," American Literature, 38 (January 1967), 468-477.


back to top

Awards and Honors

  • Historian Laureate, Town of Estes Park, Colorado (honorary position created August 22, 2006 by Mayor and Board of Trustees).
  • Recipient, Houston City Council resolution of commendation, June 29, 1995.
  • Recipient, Texas State Senate resolution of esteem (S.R. No. 1261), May 26, 1995.
  • Recipient, Third Ward Redevelopment Council resolution of "appreciation and gratitude" for "outstanding and exemplary service," April 27, 1995.
  • Recipient, Houston Urban League's 1994 Quentin Meese Award for Community Service.
  • Mentor of the Year, University of Houston, 1993.
  • Mortar Board, "Top Prof," University of Houston, 1987.
  • Endowed Scholarship (Pickering/Carlisle Award) awarded annually by the College of Arts and Letters at Michigan State University
  • Endowed Presidential Scholarship, University of Houston.

back to top