QPR Suicide Prevention

QPR, which stands for "Question, Persuade, Refer", is a nationally recognized suicide prevention program designed to educate persons to recognize and respond to the signs of suicidal thinking or behavior. Research has shown that persons who ultimately attempt suicide often provide numerous direct or indirect clues as to their intentions, and the goal of this training is to recognize these verbal, behavioral, or situational clues and take steps to get the person professional help. The presentation helps persons learn how to ask the suicide question, how to persuade the person to contact appropriate assistance, and how to identify referral options. Once trained, these persons act as gatekeepers for the campus community, informed and ready to intervene on behalf of individuals considering suicide.

CAPS is offering the following QPR workshops for 2018-2019. Outside of these dates, you may also request a specific date/time* that is convenient for you by completing the outreach request form.

*Please note we require at least a 2 week notice to be able to staff specific requests.

2018 – 2019 QPR Workshop Schedule

QPR Suicide Prevention Training requires advance registration. Please sign up for one of the available dates listed below by sending an email to tabdulra@Central.UH.EDU

  • Up to 20 attendees per training
  • Training lasts one hour

Fall 2018

All QPR sessions will take place at the Student Services Center 1 unless otherwise indicated. Specific room number will be indicated when we confirm your registration.

Tuesday September 11 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday September 13 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday September 18 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday September 20 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday September 25 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday September 27 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday October 2 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday October 4 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday October 9 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday October 11 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday October 16 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday October 18 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday October 23 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday October 25 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday October 30 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday November 1 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday November 6 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday November 8 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday November 13 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday November 15 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday November 27 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday November 29 12:00 – 1:00pm
Tuesday December 4 12:00 – 1:00pm
Thursday December 6 12:00 – 1:00pm

All QPRs held at 12 noon will be in Room 205, all 3:30pm sessions will be in Room 104.

Monday August 27 12:00pm – 1:00pm AMG Room 205
Thursday August 30 3:30pm – 4:30pm AMG Room 104
Thursday September 6 3:30pm – 4:30pm AMG Room 104
Monday October 8 12:00pm – 1:00pm AMG Room 205
Thursday October 11 3:30pm – 4:30pm AMG Room 104
Monday November 12 12:00pm – 1:00pm AMG Room 205
Monday December 3 12:00pm – 1:00pm AMG Room 205

Spring 2019

TBA