Dr. Timothy Koozin

Area Coordinator and Professor of Music Theory
Moores School of Music, University of Houston
email: tkoozin@uh.edu

Links and Biography     

Techniques and Materials of Music, textbook and website
     Website and e-Workbook     Publisher's site: Cengage

Music for Ear Training, interactive media and workbook

     Website     New software downloads and help     Publisher's site: Cengage

List of Publications and Paper Presentations
Course web page for MUSI 1310, Theory I and Aural Skills I
Course web page for MUSI 6397, Semiotic Approaches to Musical Analysis

Online listening and other research resources: UH Library music research media    UH Library home


Timothy Koozin (Ph.D. University of Cincinnati) teaches courses in music theory and serves as Coordinator of the Music Theory area at the Moores School of Music, University of Houston. His research interests include music and meaning, popular music, Japanese music, and music instructional technology. His writings appear in Perspectives of New Music, Contemporary Music Review, Music Theory Online, The Journal of Film Music, College Music Symposium, Notes, and Computers in Music Research. He is co-author of two textbooks published by Cengage: Techniques and Materials of Music, a music theory textbook with companion website, and Music for Ear Training, a web-based application with workbook for aural skills. Dr. Koozin's edited volume on the film music of Fumio Hayasaka and Toru Takemitsu comprises a volume of the Journal of Film Music (2010). For seven years through 2008, he was editor of the Society for Music Theory journal, Music Theory Online. He has taught a summer course at the College Music Society Center for Professional Development in Music Technology and served on College Music Society advisory boards for music theory and music technology. He currently serves as chair of the IT/ Networking Committee of the Society for Music Theory.