Khator Appoints Professor Long As Interim VC/VP of Research, Technology Transfer

Stuart Long, professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been appointed interim University of Houston System vice chancellor and UH vice president of research and technology transfer, effective July 6. Long has been serving as associate dean of The Honor’s College and is the 2010 Esther Farfel Award recipient, the highest honor that can be accorded to a UH faculty member. He will serve until the search is complete and the position is filled.

UH System Chancellor and UH President Renu Khator also recently announced the appointment of a 14-member search committee chaired by Provost John Antel. The committee will be assisted by the Parker Executive Search Firm, which is also conducting other searches on campus.

Search Committee Members
John Antel (Chair), provost and senior vice president for academic affairs
Carl Carlucci, executive vice president for administration and finance
Barbara Chapman, associate professor, department of computer science
Mark Clarke, president of Faculty Senate and associate professor, department of health and human performance
James Garson, chair of the UH Research Council and professor, department of philosophy
Arturo Hernandez, associate professor, department of psychology
H. David Ramm, founding partner, DKRW Energy and member of the UH President’s Energy Advisory Board
Robert Schwartz, Cullen Distinguished Professor, department of biology and biochemistry
Vankat Selvamanickam, M.D. Anderson Chair and Professor, department of mechanical engineering
Earl L. Smith III, dean, College of Optometry
Donna Stokes, associate professor, department of physics
Kathryn Tart, Founding Dean, School of Nursing, UHV
Walter Ulrich, CEO and president, Houston Technology Center
Richard Willson, John and Rebecca Moores Professor, department of chemical and biomedical engineering

Staff reports