UH Today

Applause - Honors and Awards

Superconductivity Center Receives $3.5M ETF Grant

UH has received a Research Superiority Award from the Texas Emerging Technology Fund. UH’s Texas Center for Superconductivity (TcSUH) will receive $3.5 million over a five-year period to help establish TcSUH's AppliedResearch Hub and recruit stellar scientists and researchers in superconductivity and related materials.

Biology Professor Fifth at UH to Earn AAAS Status

Stuart Dryer, the John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Biology and Biochemistry and biology department chair, has been awarded the distinction of fellow from the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Leadership Honored by Greater Houston Women's Chamber

UH President and System Chancellor Renu Khator and UH System Regent Nelda Blair were honored by the Greater Houston Women’s Chamber of Commerce for their contributions to education and community service.

The Center for Public History received a $75,000 grant from the Ron Stone Foundation to establish the Ron Stone Academy for the Teaching of Texas History. The program is scheduled to hold its first classes in this summer.

Nizar Aouni (’09) received a Humboldt Research Fellowship for mechanical engineering to conduct research at the Leibniz University Institute of Continuum Mechanics, in Hanover, Germany.

Cristina Rivera-Garza (’95), professor of creative writing at the University of California, San Diego, is the recipient of the Sor Juan Inés de la Cruz (Sister Juan Ines de la Cruz) National Book Award for her novel "La muerte me da" ("Death Gives Me"). This is the second time she has won the prize, which is given to the woman writer of the year in Mexico.

Ernesto Calvo, associate professor of political science, co-presented the paper "Trade and Coalitions Revisited: Political Networks under Changing Trade Policy Environments" at the 2009 American Political Science Association conference.

Seth J. Chandler, professor of law, presented "Modeling Long-Term Care Insurance" to the International Mathematical User conference.

Yuhua Chen, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, received two National Science Foundation grants totaling more than $890,000 to develop a multimode switching platform to make possible the transfer of all types of data over the Internet using one piece of technology.

Jeronimo Cortina, assistant professor of political science, delivered a paper on the impact of the economic crisis on remittances and social assistance on families left behind at the UNICEF-Overseas Development Institute conference in London.

Vincent Donnelly and Demetre Economou, professors of chemical and biomolecular engi-neering, received $1 million as part of the five-year, $10 million Department of Energy grant to support the Center on Plasma Science, led by researchers at the University of Michigan-Ann Arbor. Economou and Donnelly will join scientists from universities and national laboratories across the country to research the science behind plasmas in an effort to make them more efficient.

Meredith J. Duncan’s article "Personal Torts" was published by the Southern Methodist University Law Review. Duncan is the George Butler Research Professor of Law.

Geoffrey Hoffman’s article "Immigration Form I-864 (Affidavit of Support) and Efforts to Collect Damages as Support Obligations Against Divorced Spouses: What Practitioners Need to Know" was published by the Florida Bar Journal.

Thomas T.C. Hsu, John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Civil Engineering, was honored jointly by the American Concrete Institute and the American Association of Civil Engineers for his contributions to the field of structural engineering with a symposium in New Orleans.

Robert Nelson, music professor, co-authored the recently published book "Leo Zeitlin: Chamber Music."

Carlos Ordonez, associate professor of physics, has been elected a fellow of the American Physical Society for contributions to the effective chiral langrangian theory of the nucleon-nucleon interaction and to conformal quantum mechanics for its applications. The organization also recognized Ordonez for extensive efforts toward developing science in Latin America.

Monica Perales, assistant professor of history, has been elected to the board of directors of Humanities Texas, the state affiliate of the National Endowment for the Humanities. She will serve a three-year term.

Venkat Selvamanickam, M.D.Anderson Professor of Mechanical Engineering, received a 2009 Wire & Cable Technology International Technical Achievement Award for contributions to the development and commercialization of second-generation, high-temperature superconducting wire.

Head football coach Kevin Sumlin was named the Conference USA Coach of the Year. Sumlin led the Cougars to West Division title and a national ranking for nearly the entire season. It was the first time UH has been ranked in a poll since the 1991 season.

Greg Vetter, associate professor of law, presented "Patent Law’s Unpredictability Doctrine & the Software Arts" at the DePaul University College of Law Center for Intellectual Property Law and Information Technology ninth annual symposium.

Numerous creative writing students have received recognition. Samuel Amadon won the Iowa Poetry Prize for "Like a Sea." Lauren Berry received the Diane Middlebrook Poetry Fellowship from the University of Wisconsin in Madison. Eric Ekstrand won a 2009 Ruth Lilly Poetry Fellowship awarded by the Poetry Foundation. Farnoosh Fathi received a U.S.Student Fulbright Fellowship in creative writing in Brazil to complete a book of poems. Matthew Siegel received Stanford University’s Wallace Stegner Fellowship.

Lana Flores, a graphic communication major, won first place in the Associated Collegiate Press 2009 Advertising Award competition for her display ad designed for UH Dining Services. The ad was published in the spring 2009 edition of The Daily Cougar’s Green Guide special section.

Case Keenum, football quarterback, was the winner of the 2009 Sammy Baugh Award given by The Touchdown Club of Columbus. The accolade is presented to the top passer in collegiate football.

Music student Geraldine Ong placed first in the Young Artist Piano division of the Texas Music Teacher’s National Association competition. Stephanie Chan received an honorable mention in the competition.

Joseph Stromberg, research assistant in the Center of Public History, was awarded a $12,500 grant from the Environmental Institute of Houston to assist him in researching and writing his dissertation, "Atomic Cowboys: Regulation and Resistance to Nuclear Power in Texas."

UH’s student chapter of AITP (Association of IT Professionals) received numerous honors at the ATIP regional student conference. First-place awards were given to Chris McGuire and David Norelid for systems analysis and design, and William Zolandz for PC troubleshooting. McGuire also placed first for Microsoft Office Solutions. Second-place awards were presented to Monica Haaksma for systems analysis and design, Ronny Brehm for PC troubleshooting, and to the team of Norelid and Alan Walters for database design.