UH ranked 21st among the top 100 colleges and universities granting undergraduate and graduate degrees to Hispanic students, according to The Hispanic Outlook in Higher Education magazine's annual rankings of colleges and universities. Additionally, UH was recognized as one of the 50 Most Affordable Colleges with the Best Return by Affordable Schools, an online guide to higher education institutions across the country. UH is the only Houston institution to make this list and one of three Texas colleges to be ranked by Affordable Schools.

UH also was designated as an Innovation & Economic Prosperity University by the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities. The designation acknowledges universities working with public and private sector partners to support economic development.

The Department of Biology and Biochemistry’s Comprehensive Student Success Program received a Recognition of Excellence from the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.  The program focuses on first-year students in introductory biology courses.  

Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, housed and operated by Arte Público Press at UH, is the 2014 recipient of the Diversity Award given by the Society of American Archivists. The award recognizes an individual, group or institution for outstanding contributions in advancing diversity within the archives profession. The literary project is a comprehensive program to reconstitute the literary and historical legacy of Hispanics in the United States from colonial times to 1960. 

The University of Houston Libraries is the winner of the Best of Show Awards Competition at the PR Xchange, which recognizes the top public relations materials produced by libraries nationwide. UH won for its video “University of Houston Libraries.”


Margot Backus, professor of English, has been selected for the Fulbright – Queen’s University Belfast Award in Anglophone Irish Writing and Literature.

Suncica Canic, math professor

SuncicaSunny” Canic, Cullen Distinguished Professor in the Department of Mathematics, was named to the 2014 Society of Industry and Applied Mathematics Class of Fellows in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the development of mathematical theory and applications to the life sciences. 

Olafs Daugulis, associate professor of chemistry, was one of 10 scientists who received the American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award for 2014. The award recognizes and encourages excellence in organic chemistry.

Marketing professors Rex Du and Ye Hu and doctoral student Sina Damangir received the American Marketing Association 2014 Best Paper Award at the Advanced Research Techniques Forum for their paper Monitoring Shifts in Product Feature Importance via Trends in Online Searches. 

George E. Fox, John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Biology and Biochemistry, was named a fellow in the International Society for the Study of the Origin of Life. 

Lars Grabow, assistant professor of chemical and biomolecular engineering, has been awarded a $750,000, five-year award from the Department of Energy. The award is designed to support the nation’s most exceptional researchers during the early years of their careers.

Jeremy May, assistant professor of chemistry, is the recipient of a $600,000, five-year National Science Foundation CAREER Award to support his research in developing synthetic strategies to increase the efficiency and yields of chemical reactions. 

Saurabh Prasad, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, and Hyongki Lee, civil and environmental professor, received NASA’s New Investigator Awards in Science. The program supports outstanding scientific research and career development of scientists and engineers at the early stages of their professional careers.

Law professor Geoffrey Hoffman has been awarded the 2014 Elmer Fried Excellence in Teaching Award for outstanding professor in the area of immigration law by the American Immigration Lawyers Association.

Richard Willson, Huffington-Woestemeyer Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, has been named a fellow of the American Chemical Society.


Vanessa Alejandro has been chosen as the first Udall Scholarship winner from UH. The Morris K. Udall and Stewart L. Udall Foundation awards 50 scholarships nationally to college students at the sophomore and junior levels for their commitment to environment-related careers, tribal public policy or Native American health care. 

Bauer College is one of only two schools in the world to have two team winners by placing second and third in Google Online Marketing Challenge. The two teams received AdWords Social Impact Awards, recognizing their efforts to partner with Houston local nonprofits to provide online marketing campaigns. Sarah Burge, Neha Kejriwal, Benjamin Smith and Shu Su placed second for their collaboration with the Houston Grand Opera. Saket Maheshwari, Randall Miller, Varuniya Pushparajan and Charles Shelton received third place for working with Space Center Houston.

The annual student-run and student-managed Gourmet Night organized by the Conrad N. Hilton College of Hotel and Restaurant Management received the award for Best Event Production for a Budget Under $50,000 by the National Association for Catering and Events. The honor recognized Gourmet Night: There’s No Place Like Home, a Wizard-of-Oz-themed dinner and silent auction fundraiser.

Marion Russell Dixon was one of seven teachers selected for the 2014 National Association of Teachers of Singing Emerging Leaders Awards. 

Ton La Jr. was one of 10 U.S. college students invited to participate in activities that commemorated the 70th anniversary of D-Day and the invasion of Normandy. The activities took place in Caen, France, as part of the 2014 International Forum of the European Youth Parliament.

Law students Niki Roberts and Brandon Schrecengost won the international negotiation competition in Pohang, South Korea, as representatives of the United States.

Erin Ferries, Mark Hatfield, Shalak Gunjal, Navneet Upadhyay and Nipun Atreja, who served as an alternate, placed third in the student research competition at the 19th annual meeting of the International Society for Pharmacoeconomics and Outcomes Research.

Next Article

Burke Receives Arthur Holmes Medal

The European Geosciences Union has named geology professor Kevin C. A. Burke recipient of the 2014 Arthur Holmes Medal & Honorary Membership.