Lamar McKay
Chief Executive, Upstream of BP

Lamar McKay

Lamar McKay is BP’s chief executive, Upstream. He is responsible for the combined Upstream business which consists of exploration, development and production. Lamar started his career in 1980 with Amoco and has held a broad range of positions. In 1993, he became general manager for the Arkoma Basin, and in 1997 moved into the role of business unit leader for the Gulf of Mexico Shelf.

During 1998-2000, he worked on the BP-Amoco merger and served as head of strategy and planning for the worldwide exploration and production business in London. In 2000, he became business unit leader for the Central North Sea in Aberdeen, Scotland. In 2001, Lamar became chief of staff for the worldwide exploration and production business, and subsequently served as chief of staff to BP’s deputy group chief executive.

Lamar became group vice president, Russia and Kazakhstan in 2003 where he was responsible for BP’s Upstream businesses, including BP’s interest in the TNK-BP joint venture. He served as a member of the board of directors of TNK-BP from February 2004 to May 2007.

In May 2007, Lamar moved to Houston to assume the role of senior group vice president, BP PLC and executive vice president, BP America where he led BP’s efforts to resolve various issues involving the Texas City refinery, Prudhoe Bay field and US trading business. In June 2008, he became executive vice president, special projects focusing on Russia where he led BP’s efforts to restructure the governance framework for TNK-BP.

In February 2009, Lamar was appointed chairman and president of BP America Inc., serving as BP’s chief representative in the US. In October 2010, he additionally assumed the role of chief executive officer and president for the Gulf Coast Restoration Organization.

Lamar holds a degree in petroleum engineering (magna cum laude) from Mississippi State University and an executive MBA from Indiana University. He is a member of the American Petroleum Institute’s Executive Committee, the MIT’s External Advisory Board; the University of Houston President’s Energy Advisory Board; and the Mississippi State University Dean’s Advisory Council.