UH Arts Spotlight

Edward Albee 
Tony Award winning playwright Edward Albee, former faculty member.
Donald Barthelme Author Donald Barthelme, BA in Journalism. One of the original founders of UH’s Creative Writing Program. National Book Award for children’s literature, 1972
Michael Ray Charles   
Painter Michael Ray Charles, MFA in Painting. Has work in the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, Albright-Knox Art Gallery in Buffalo, N.Y., San Antonio Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art in New York and Austin Museum of Art. First solo show at Blaffer Art Museum, 1997.
Loretta Devine          
Actor Loretta Devine, BA in Speech and Drama. Five-time NAACP Image Award winner
Tony Hoagland Poet Tony Hoagland, faculty member. Works include “A Change in Plans” (1985), “Talking to Stay Warm” (1986), “History of Desire” (1990), “Sweet Ruin” (1992), which was chosen for the Brittingham Prize in Poetry and won the Zacharis Award from Emerson College, “Donkey Gospel” (1998), winner of the James Laughlin Award
Je’Caryous Johnson Playwright-Director Je’Caryous Johnson attended.  Theatre.
Lyle Lovett Singer-Songwriter Lyle Lovett, Honorary Degree - Doctor of Humane Letters, 2010 (attended Texas A&M)
Mark Medoff Tony Award winning playwright Mark Medoff, former faculty member.
Percy “Master P” Miller Rapper and entrepreneur Percy “Master P” Miller attended. Business communication. Founder of No Limit Records and CEO of P. Miller Enterprises. Albums include “MP Da Last Don”
Jim Parsons Actor James Joseph “Jim” Parsons, BA in Theater. “The Big Bang Theory” on CBS. Emmy Award for Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series, 2010
Padgett Powell Novelist Padgett Powell, MA in Creative Writing. American Book Award nomination, 1984. Whiting Writer’s Award, 1986
Dennis Quaid Actor Dennis Quaid, attended. Drama. Star of “The Parent Trap”, “Any Given Sunday”, “The Alamo” and many other movies. Nominated for Emmy and Golden Globes Awards.
Randy Quaid Actor Randy Quaid, attended. Drama. Character actor known for work in “Brokeback Mountain,” “Independence Day”, “Kingping” and “Midnight Express”. 1987 Golden Globe for Best Actor in a TV Movie or Mini-Series and nominations for Academy, Emmy, BAFTA and Golden Globes Awards.
Pattiann Rogers Poet Pattiann Rogers, MA in Poetry. Recipient of two NEA Grants, Guggenheim Fellowship, 2005 Lannan Literary Award for Poetry, the Tietjens Prize for Poetry, the Hokin Prize, the Bock Prize for Poetry and five Pushcart Prizes. Books include “Firekeeper”, “Generations,” and “The Grand Array”.
Raphael Rubinstein Author/Editor/Critic Raphael Rubinstein, faculty member. Numerous books including “Critical Mess: Art Critics on the State of Their Practice, The Basement of the Cafe Rilke” and ”Polychrome Profusion: Selected Art Criticism 1990-2002”. Has written for Art News, Art in America, Flash Art, Artforum. Received the Chevalier dans l’Order de Arts et des Lettres
Julian Schnabel Visual Artist and Filmmaker Julian Schnabel, BFA. Honorary Royal Academician, British Royal Academy of Arts. Awarded 2007 Best Director Prize at Cannes Film Festival and 2008 Best Director Golden Globe and nominated for 2008 Best Director Academy Award for “The Diving Bell and the Butterfly”
Alice Sebold Novelist Alice Sebold, attended. Creative Writing. Author of “Lucky”, “The Lovely Bones” and “The Almost Moon”
DJ Paul “Paul Wall” Slayton Rapper and DJ Paul “Paul Wall” Slayton, attended. Mass Communication. Albums include “The Peoples Champ”
Brent Spiner Actor Brent Spiner, attended. Starred as the android Data in the television series “Star Trek: The Next Generation” and the related films
Christopher Theofanidis Composer Christopher Theofanidis, BA in Music. Recipient of the International Masterprize, the Rome Prize, a Guggenheim Fellowship, six ASCAP Gould Prizes, a Fulbright Fellowship to France, a Tanglewood Fellowship, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters' Charles Ives Fellowship. Grammy nomination, 2007
Tommy Tune Actor, Choreographer and Director Tommy Tune, graduate work. Tony Award for Best Featured Actor in a Musical, 1974 & 1983; Best Choreography, 1980, 1983, 1990 & 1991; Best Direction of a Musical, 1982, 1990 & 1991
Robert Wuhl Actor Robert Wuhl, BFA in Drama. Star, writer, director and producer of the HBO series “Arli$$”