Engineering Technology Professor Deniz Gurkan receives honor for contributions to IEEE Journal

Dr. Deniz Gurkan, Associate Professor in Engineering Technology, has been recognized as 2011 Outstanding Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement (TIM), the technical journal of the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society.

The Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE) is the largest worldwide professional electrical, electronics, and computer engineering association dedicated to advancing technological innovation and excellence. The organization publishes nearly a third of the world's technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. Associate editors strive for and ensure that papers published in TIM meet the highest standards of quality defined by IEEE, overseeing the rigorous review process for numerous papers. "Dr. Gurkan's award underscores the current and potential impact of our faculty in STEM disciplines," said Dr. William F. Fitzgibbon, Dean of the UH College of Technology.

"All of the editors dedicate an incredible amount of time and energy to make this possible. However, some like Dr. Gurkan have contributed in truly outstanding ways. For this reason we have established this annual award for our best reviewers", said Dr. Alessandro Ferrero, Editor-in-Chief of IEEE Transactions on Instrumentation and Measurement.

Dr. Gurkan received her B.S. and M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering from the Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey, in 1996 and 1998, respectively. Her Ph.D. is also in Electrical Engineering, received from the University of Southern California in 2003. She joined the UH College of Technology, Department of Engineering Technology in 2004 after teaching in the Electrical Engineering Department of California State University, Long Beach and in the Applied Mathematics Department of the Claremont Graduate University. Her research interests are in the areas of distributed measurement and instrumentation networks with interoperable and programmable architectures. She has been an active member of the IEEE Instrumentation and Measurement Society as technical program chair of the annual IEEE Sensor Application Symposium (SAS) since 2008. She is the conference chair of the SAS 2013 in Galveston, Texas.

The award will be announced formally during a ceremony during the 2012 International Instrumentation and Measurement Conference in Graz, Austria.