Spring 2010 Graduation Brunch

The College of Technology's Spring 2010 Graduation Reception Brunch was held Friday, May 14, 2010, from 10:30 am to 12:30 pm, in the Shamrock Ballroom at the UH Hilton. Dean William E. Fitzgibbon III warmly welcomed the students and their families and friends to the event, followed by Dr. Rupa Iyer, who introduced the CoT community to the first Biotechnology graduating class.

Associate Dean of Academic Affairs Fred Lewallen presented the academic awards to the College Banner Bearers. Banner Bearers are the highest achieving graduating seniors in each college department and lead the graduating class into commencement ceremonies. Representing the various departments were: Tyler Cole Millen, Engineering Technology; Lesley Cailin Honeycutt, Human Development and Consumer Sciences; Angela Denise McGahen, Information and Logistics Technology; and Patricia Long, Graduate Studies. Dallas Duane Smith, who earned a degree in Organizational Leadership and Supervision, was the College of Technology's Honorary Banner Bearer. The College awards were presented by Dean Fitzgibbon. As well as the Banner Bearer award, Dallas Smith also won the College's top prize, the Dean's Medal of Academic Excellence, awarded each semester to the highest ranking undergraduate student, using the University's standards for honors recognition.

Cailin Honeycutt was also a repeat winner. Ms Honeycutt received the Outstanding Student award, given each semester to a student nominated by a College of Technology professor for his or her academic achievements, research accomplishments and community service. Both the Dean's Medal and the Outstanding Student awards are accompanied by a $1000 prize.

Photos of the Graduation Brunch are available on the College Facebook page at www.facebook.com/uhcot