Skip to main content

Course Sequence

Master of Science in Information System Security

Recommended Course Sequence

The following is a list of courses required in the Master of Science in Information System Security degree with a recommended sequencing of course completion through two years (i.e., four semesters). To accommodate the next class of students admitted in the program, all courses scheduled for the Fall of Year 1 will also be scheduled for Fall of Year 2, as will be the case for courses scheduled in the Spring of Year 1 and Spring of Year 2. However, it is highly recommended that students adhere to the following course sequence. To accommodate students who start the program in the Spring semester, CIS 6321 and TEPM 6301 will be scheduled for both Fall and Spring semesters.

Year 1 Year 2
Fall Spring Fall Spring
TEPM 6301, TEPM 6302, CIS 6321 TEPM 6303, TEPM 6304, CIS 6322 TEPM 6391, CIS 6323, Elective (3 credit Graduate Course) TEPM 6395, CIS 6324, Elective (3 credit Graduate Course)

IMPORTANT: Because of the prerequisite structure of the required courses this degree program cannot be completed in less than two academic years. The TEPM 6391 and TEPM 6395 two-course sequence must be taken in the student's last two semesters.

Course Offerings

Fall Semester Spring Semester
  • CIS 6321 - Introduction to IS Security
  • CIS 6322 - Secure Enterprise Computing
  • CIS 6324 - Security Risk Analysis
  • CIS 6347 - Advanced Digital Forensics
  • CIS 6357 - Control Systems Security
  • CIS 6358 - Secure Software Design

Course Sequencing

  • CIS 6321 must be taken first, before other security classes.
  • CIS 6322 and 6323 can be taken in any order.
  • CIS 6324 should be taken after 6322 and 6323 are completed.
  • Security electives can be taken after 6321 and concurrently with 6322, 6323, and 6324.

Course descriptions may be found at the University of Houston Graduate Course Catalog.