Student/Alumni Mentorship Program

Sharing practical, day-to-day - experience and knowledge is imperative for the provision of successful social work. The Student/Alumni Mentorship Program pairs current MSW students and recent alumni with social workers in the field and works with them to identify, evaluate, analyze, and synthesize contemporary needs and difficult challenges they face in today’s world. This important support allows current MSW students or recent alumni to make better and more confident decisions to successfully address these needs and challenges in their careers.

Explore and access mentorship opportunities to enhance your professional development with individual consultation with alumni in the field.

Opportunities exist to become a mentor as well! By sharing your training and experience, you can become the catalyst for launching the new social worker on a career path to success!

Mental Health/Clinical
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Amber Riaz CPS/DFPS/Adoption Prep caseworker Children, Family 713-858-5060
ajaved2@yahoo.com
Jeanne Higgs The Montrose Center/Psychotherapist Consultation 713-884-5664
jmhiggs@gmail.com
Rebecca Cole Memorial Hermannn Psychiatric Response Team/LMSW CWEP, Health Care Disparities 281-799-9416
beckysafasu@hotmail.com
Christen Dobbs LPHA-I/MHMRA of Harris County Adult Forensics
Unit at Harris
County Jail
713-828-4615
christen.dobbs@gmail.com
Tristesse Casimier PRN for MAT Services/Facilitator for Department of Juvenile Justice 404-663-3835
tcasimier@yahoo.com
Steve Cochran President/CEO SW Health Technology Foundation/Neurotherapy
Center of Houston
Neurofeedback/
Biofeedbackpractice,
Psychotherapy,
Non-Profit management
ADHD, Trauma/PTSD,
Anxiety, Depression, TBI,
Stroke, Memory
Consultation via
face to face meetings,
phone
713-658-0427
scochran@nchouston.org

return to top

Healthcare
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Deborah Elizondo-Brady Long-term acute care hospital/Business Development Coordinator Evaluate patients for admission criteria, market to social workers, case managers in hospitals & pysicians for patient referrals n> 281-813-4313
debelizondo@yahoo.com

return to top

Gerontology
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Angela Goins DFPS-APS/Adult Protective Services Supervisor II Consultation 713-254-7570
angela.goins@dfps.state.tx.us
Tziona Regev Geriatric Social Worker Consultation 713-498-0794
tziona.regev@harrishealth.org
Barbara McGinity Better Business Bureau Educate older adults about health care fraud and general schemes and scams. Manage statewide program called Texas Senior Medicare Patrol Consultation 713-341-6184
mbmcginity@comcast.net

return to top

Children & Families
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Arnitia Walker University of Houston-GCSW/CWEP Director Education/Administration Consultation 713-743-1394
amitchell3@uh.edu
Elisabet Martinez Parkland VIP-Rape Crisis/Social Worker Consultation 940-367-9352
martinez.elisabet@gmail.com
Kelli O. Barnes LCSW/Consultant and Contract Counselor Consultation 713-628-3249
kellianno2@yahoo.com
Veronica Medrano Texas Children's Hospital/Blue Bird Circle Clinic for Pediatric Neurology Social Worker Provide a pyscho-sociol assessment and therapeutic support to the patient families Pediatric neurology, work with families whose child has been diagnosed with epilepsy, intellectual disabilities, developmental delays, austism, cerebral palsy, headaches; work with Spanish-speaking families Consultation via face to face and phone vxmedran@texaschildrenshospital.org

return to top

Macro (Political, Legal, or Administrative)
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Vicky Argueta Foster Care/Social Worker 713-410-2897
vicky.argueta@gmail.com
Priscilla Gilbert Independent Contractor/Community Outreach Coordinator Consultation 281-773-3703
prgilbert7@gmail.com
Jennifer Braunstein Heights and Hills/Social Work Supervisor Supervisor of geriatric case management program Consultation 832-643-8613
jennifer.braunstein@yahoo.com
Candice Twyman BBB Education Foundation/Executive Director Consultation 281-589-7343
ctwyman52@aol.com
Tony R. Fernandez Bridge Solutions Home Health/Marketing Director Counsultation 713-882-9373
tonyf@bridgesolutionshealth.com
Pamela Jae Boveland MIS Director Consultation 713-503-0812
drpjae@gmail.com
Melissa Simon Bridges To Life Nonprofit administration and direct practice Consultation 713-859-7325
msimonmsw@yahoo.com
LaTonya Jones Academic Advisor 832-215-6729
bg_tb@yahoo.com
Sandra Ham Child Advocates, Inc./Grants Manager Consultation 713-540-3630
sandra.villalobos.ham@gmail.com
Alicia Baron 713-306-3118
leeshy9@hotmail.com
Melanie Pang Catholic Charities/Case Manager  Consultation 832-860-9416
mepang@uh.edu
Rosalind Rolls Goodwill Industries of Houston/Outreach Coordinator Consultation 713-213-0882
rrrolls1@gmail.com

return to top

Education
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Heather Constantine Communities In Schools Of Houston/Social Worker School social work; children and families Consultation 713-654-1515 Ext. 159
heather@cis-houston.org
Roderick Martin School Social Worker 20 years Consultation via face to face meetings, phone roderick.martin@fortbend.k12.tx.us

return to top

Social Work Practice with Latinos
Name Agency/Title Description of Position Areas of Expertise Level of Communication Contact Information
Van Hua Fort Bend ISD/School Social Worker Children/Education Consultation 281-634-9930
vnhua84@yahoo.com

return to top