Skip to main content

People

Who We Are

The MH-RITES Center is a multidisciplinary team committed to driving evidence-based innovation in research and practice. Learn about our senior leadership, advisory board, and Center research affiliates, and staff.

Advisory Board

Board Members Title & Research Interest Email
James M. Mandiberg
James M. Mandiberg

PhD, Hunter College, City University of New York, NY

Bio

jm945@hunter.cuny.edu
Luis Torres
Luis Torres

PhD, Photo Associate Dean for Research & Strategic Partnership, Graduate College of Social Work

Bio

lrtorres@uh.edu
Steve Schnee

PhD, Retired Executive Director of The Harris Center for Mental Health and IDD in Houston, Texas

Bio

Jair C. Soares
jair-c.-soares-copy.png

MD, Professor & Chairman, Pat R. Rutherford, Jr. Chair in Psychiatry, Director, Center Of Excellence on Mood Disorders, Executive Director, UTHealth HCPC

Bio

Jair.C.Soares@uth.tmc.edu

Renae Vania Tomczak
2017-photo---renae.jpg

MBA, EDFP, HDFP, President | CEO, Mental Health America of Greater Houston

Bio

renae@mhalakecounty.org

Center Research Affiliates

Affiliates Title & Research Interest Email

Juan Barthelemy

juanbarthelemyweb.jpg

LCSW-BACS, PhD, Assistant Professor, Graduate College of Social Work, University of Houston

Bio

jbarthel@central.uh.edu

Shanondora Billiot
sb.jpg

MSW, PhD, Assistant Professor, School of Social Work, Affiliate, Department of American Indian Studies, University of Illinois

Bio

sbilliot@illinois.edu

Borja, Sharon
sharonborja.jpg

Ph. D., Assistant Professor, Graduate College of Social Work, University of Houston

Bio 

sborja@central.uh.edu 

Katheryn Brewer  katheryn-brewer.png

PhD, Professor, University of New Hampshire

Marcus Lam marcu-lam-copy.png

PhD, Assistant Professor of Nonprofit Management at the University of San Diego, School of Leadership and Education Sciences

Bio

mlam@sandiego.edu
Leung, Patrick
Patrick Leung

Professor of Social Work, children and family, mental health, HIV and AIDS, refugee population, Asian studies, and the elderly

Bio

pleung@uh.edu

Pedro Isnardo de La Cruz Lugardo pedro-isnardo.png

PhD , Director of Research, Escuela Nacional de Trabajo Social (ENTS), Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM)

Bio 

unam.pedroisnardo@gmail.com

Kiara Moore kiara-moore-copy.png

PhD, LCSW, Faculty Fellow, Silver School of Social Work, New York University

Bio

kiara.moore@nyu.edu
Sarah Narendorf
Sarah Narendorf

PhD, Associate Professor, Graduate College of Social Work, University of Houston

Bio

sanarendorf@uh.edu

Bernice Perez Ramirez

bernice-perez-ramirez-copy.png

PhD, Associate Professor, Escuela Nacional de Trabajo Social, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico

Bio

bereramirez@comunidad.unam.mx

Ciwang Teyra ciwang-teyra.jpg

PhD, Assistant Professor, Truku Tribal Nation, Department of Social Work, National Taiwan University

Bio 

ciwang@ntu.edu.tw
Washburn, Micki
micki-washburn1.jpg

PhD, Research Scientist, Graduate College of Social Work, University of Houston

Bio

mewashbu@central.uh.edu 

Staff

Limor Smith, M.S. , MSW student at the GCSW
Email
Bio