Senate Directory
54th Administration (2017 – 2018)


Speaker of the Senate

Chelsea Cheung
cecheung@uh.edu


Undergraduate at Large

Davis Darusman
dmdarusman@uh.edu

Davis was not born in Houston - but he Born to a Mexican mother and an Indonesian father, Davis has always experienced the best Mexican/Asian cuisine ever - served right at home! When he’s not eating his heart out, he’s the Vice President of Marketing for the Student Program Board, which puts on over 100 free events on campus such as Winter Wonderland. He’s also the host of a weekly satirical news show on CoogTV, “Liberty & Justice for Some.” Davis is also honored to serve as the President & Founder of The ARCH Initiative, a local non-profit dedicated to serving Houston’s homeless community.

Valentin Perez
vperez12@uh.edu

Daisy Salazar
dsalazar14@uh.edu

Kim-Briana Loraine
klorine@uh.edu

Kim-Briana is a passionate and hard-working senator from San Antonio, TX. When she isn't helping with student initiatives or participating in campus events, she is a proud officer for the Student Program Board where she helps set up different events for students to enjoy between classes. Kim loves the outdoors, especially horseback riding and zip-lining. There is nothing she is prouder than to represent UH and all of its spirits and traditions.


Graduate at Large

Cameron Barrett
cabarrett2@uh.edu

Cameron is heavily involved in political life on campus. He has a passion for politics which began in Fall 2015 when he joined the Democrats club on campus. He got his degree from UH in 2017, and is now a grad student. Any free time he has is spent on video games and YouTube.

Sydnee Spruiell
slspruiell@uh.edu

Sydnee is a second-year graduate student in the University of Houston's Health Communication program. Her research focuses on traumatic brain injuries in contact sport athletes, and she plans to pursue a PhD in Cellular and Molecular Biology with a focus on Neuroscience, after completing her master's degree. She is passionate about community health and healthcare access, and has created an initiative to address graduate student mental health needs as the Graduate Senator at Large. In her spare time, Sydnee enjoys relaxing with her fiancé, Eric, and their two cats. Sydnee enjoys jogging in Hermann Park, hiking, painting, traveling, and binge-watching Netflix documentaries.


College of Architecture

Devon Bush
dmbush2@uh.edu


College of the Arts

Niza Garcia
nmgarcia2@uh.edu


College of Business

Joshua Fernando
rjfernando@uh.edu

Samir Nassar
slnassarmorales@uh.edu

Jonathan Daniels
jrdaniels@uh.edu

Maysarah Kazia
makazia@uh.edu


College of Education

Vacant
Senate Seat Application

Ayodele Shofoluwe
aashofoluwe@uh.edu


College of Engineering

Kanian Khan
kkhan3@uh.edu

Eric Nguyen
epnguyen2@uh.edu

Vacant
Senate Seat Application


College of Hotel and Restaurant Management

Thomas McCulloch
tmcculloch@uh.edu

When Thomas is not pursuing his degree or helping out with SGA, he enjoys the finer things in life. He has run a marathon with his father, and has sang with the Houston Symphony twice. Thomas is an Eagle Scout and has a passion for hiking and the great outdoors. Thomas enjoys watching sports and is a HUGE LA Rams fan, along with the Astros, Rockets and of course some Cougar Football!


College of Law

Vacant
Senate Seat Application


College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

Allison Lawrence
aclawrence@uh.edu

Sara Alia Rehman
srehman7@uh.edu

Sara currently is majoiring in Women's Studies and Political Science, two things she carries with her in and out of the classroom as she is passionate about community and civic engagement through her actvism. When she isn't on campus all day for school or SGA, Sara is passionate about art history, exploring the Houston art scene through different galleries. Sara enjoys reading and practicing the 6 lanaguages she knows, as she aspires to attend and earn her Social Work degree and Law degree. A dedicated Coog, Sara always strives to serve her community through her volunteer work in women's shelters, soup kitchens, and community libraries.

Katy Yu
syu16@uh.edu

Harrison Fletcher
hdfletcher@uh.edu

Matthew Stell
mbstell@uh.edu

Valerie Campos
vrcampos@uh.edu

Andrew Trinh
atrinh@uh.edu


College of Natural Science & Mathematics

Michelle Tran
mqtran7@uh.edu

Carlos Iniguez
ciniguez@uh.edu

Edgar Contreras
econtreras9@uh.edu

Pareesa Mehra
pnmehra@uh.edu


College of Pharmacy

Lauren Le
ltle@uh.edu

Lauren grew up in Sugar Land, TX, and has two little brothers. In her spare time, she loves watching movies, spending time with her family, and playing golf. Her favorite movies of all time include all of the Star Wars movies and anything Pixar. She attended the University of Houston for two years as an undergraduate before being accepted into the UHCOP Doctor of Pharmacy program, and is set to graduate with her Pharm. D in May of 2020.


College of Social Work

Vacant
Senate Seat Application


College of Technology

Gina Hong
gchong@uh.edu

Gina Hong is the president of a Biotechnology organization called Society for Biological Engineering. When's she is not helping out students with the transition to the Sugar Land campus, she's hanging out with her family and friends. She loves to go snowboarding during the winter months and watching the Houston Rockets.

Harold Garcia
hsgarcia@uh.edu

Niza is a music major minoring in biology with plans on attending medical school after receiving her degree. Outside of the music school, she is involved in a number of organizations as well as an RA at CV2. Off campus, she is an avid charity marathoner, having completed over 5 to date, and even holds the current title of Miss Sugar Land 2018. At any given moment, you can find her either studying, working out, volunteering, or with her crown and sash on preparing for Miss Texas!

Vacant
Senate Seat Application

Chet Ball
caball@uh.edu


Honors College

Vacant
Senate Seat Application


College of Optometry

Vacant
Senate Seat Application