Skip to main content

About

Overview

Consistent with the University’s student success goals, the Foundations of Excellence initiative is aimed at building a foundation for success in the first year of college to enhance learning, promote retention and facilitate timely degree completion. 

Guided by the Gardner Institute’s Foundations of Excellence model, our task force has completed an assessment of the first year and is now moving into the implementation phase of the process.

First Year - Assessment

Over the past year, a task force of about 186 faculty, staff and students worked to assess the first year along 9 foundational dimensions.  Collectively, the dimension committees produced close to 200 pages of text and 120 action items focused on improvements.

With guidance from our institutional advisor, Betsy Barefoot, our Steering Committee has worked since May to integrate this work into a comprehensive action plan that includes 21 consolidated recommendations within 5 key themes.  Betsy retired this summer and John Gardner is now serving as our advisor in the implementation process.

Five themes consistently emerged across the 9 dimension committees as they assessed opportunities for improvement in the first year and recommendations representing the work of these committees have been drafted for each theme.

The University’s current approach to the first year involves a variety of success initiatives and assessment tools at the department, college and institutional levels and committees focused on the need for a more coordinated and intentionally designed first year experience for freshmen and transfer students.

Action items related to Integration were proposed by five Dimension Committees and recommendations focus on ensuring coordination across functions, resources and services. 

Second Year and Continuing - Implementation

Upon completion of implementation plans and commencement of recommended actions, the Steering Committee and respective Work Groups will be transitioned into a Campus First- Year Experience Advisory Board tasked with ongoing monitoring and guidance of Foundations of Excellence initiatives.

Structure

Campus Liaisons

Teri Elkins Longacre

Vice Provost and Dean, Undergraduate Student Success

Daniel M. Maxwell

Associate Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs - UH System
Associate Vice President for Student Affairs - University of Houston

Steering Committee Members

Foundations of Excellence Steering Committee

Last First College/Area FOE 2015 Service Email
Abbott JeAnna College of Hotel and Restaurant Management Steering Committee
Co-Chair CULTURE
jabbott@uh.edu
Affre Mara Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Steering Committee
Co-Chair INTEGRATION
maffre@central.uh.edu
Bloom Jennifer Office of General Counsel Steering Committee jebloom@uh.edu
Bott Simon College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Steering Committee
Co-Chair LEARNING
sbott@uh.edu
Burridge Andrea College of Education Steering Committee aburridge@uh.edu
Castillo Adrian Student Government Association - Chief of Staff Steering Committee cstaff@central.uh.edu
Chin Wynne Faculty Senate Steering Committee wchin@uh.edu
Chowdhury Tanzeem Student Government Association - Vice President Steering Committee sgavp@central.uh.edu
Coltharp Sandy Human Resources Steering Committee
Co-Chair CULTURE
scoltharp@uh.edu
Dunkelberger Martha Undergraduate Committee Steering Committee mdunk@uh.edu 
Fields John Government Association - Speaker of the Senate Steering Committee jfields95@gmail.com
Fishman Sarah College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Steering Committee sfishman@uh.edu 
Gola Christine UH Libraries Steering Committee chgola@Central.UH.EDU
Hardy John College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Steering Committee jhardy@uh.edu
Harold Mike College of Engineering Steering Committee
Co-Chair CULTURE
mharold@uh.edu
Hayes Martha Staff Council Steering Committee mshayes@uh.edu
Hopkins Troy College of Business Steering Committee tdhopkins@uh.edu
Horn Cathy College of Education Steering Committee clhorn2@uh.edu
Kelley Frank College of Business Steering Committee
Co-Chair ADVISING
fwkelley@uh.edu
Kennedy Heidi Academic Affairs Executive Team
FOE Liaison
Steering Committee
hkennedy@uh.edu
Kowalka Keith Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Steering Committee kkowalka@uh.edu
LeVeaux-Haley Christine Honors College Steering Committee cleveaux@uh.edu
Longacre Teri Elkins Provost Office Executive Team
FOE Liaison
Steering Committee
elkins@uh.edu
Maxwell Dan Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Executive Team
FOE Liaison
Steering Committee
dmmaxwel@central.uh.edu
Monroe Bill Honors College Steering Committee wfmonroe@Central.UH.EDU
Morgan Jeff Provost Office Steering Committee jjmorgan@central.uh.edu 
Norwood Marcella College of Technology Steering Committee
Co-Chair LEARNING
mnorwood@uh.edu
Olson Beth College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Steering Committee
Co-Chair COMMUNICATION
bolson@uh.edu
Pascali Raresh College of Technology Steering Committee
Co-Chair INTEGRATION
rpascali@uh.edu
Pede Mike Alumni Steering Committee mlpede@uh.edu
Peden Maria Athletics Steering Committee mpeden@uh.edu
Phan Trang College of Architecture Steering Committee
Co-Chair ADVISING
tphan@Central.UH.EDU
Pierson Melissa Exploratory Studies Steering Committee
Co-Chair ADVISING
mpierson@uh.edu
Pratt Joe College of Business / College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences Steering Committee joepratt@Central.UH.EDU
Ramos Miguel Institutional Research Steering Committee
Co-Chair COMMUNICATION
maramos3@central.uh.edu
Sawyer Scott Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Steering Committee ssawyer@uh.edu
Shah Asit Student Regent Steering Committee arshah3@uh.edu
Shefman Pam Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Steering Committee
Co-Chair COMMUNICATION
pshefman@central.uh.edu
Short Paula Myrick Provost Executive Team
Steering Committee
Smith Brad College of Education Steering Committee
Co-Chair INTEGRATION
bsmith5@uh.edu
Sundar Sarayu College of Business Steering Committee ssundar@uh.edu
Theriot-Smith Shaun Student Government Association - President Steering Committee sgapres@central.uh.edu
Turchi Laura College of Education Steering Committee
Co-Chair LEARNING
lturchi@Central.UH.EDU
Walker Richard Student Affairs and Enrollment Services Executive Team
Steering Committee
rwalker2@uh.edu
Williams Larry College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Steering Committee lrwilliams@uh.edu

Timeline

Foundations of Excellence Timeline