Skip to main content

Committees on Academic Centers and Institutes

Academic Centers and Institutes (ACIs) draw on the strengths of multiple faculty members, academic departments, and/or colleges to provide an inclusive foundation for collective scholarly activity and foster the sharing of ideas through activities devoted to scholarship, education, training, and/or dissemination that promote the mission of the University. In contrast to ACIs, centers and institutes where research is the primary purpose are designated as Research Organizations (ROs) that are governed by separate MAPP guidelines and are administered by the Division of Research.

ACIs are distinguished by their reporting structure. A University-level Center or Institute must be interdisciplinary, involving multiple colleges, and/or departments. A University-level ACI reports directly to the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost (SVPAA/P). ACIs may also have a reporting structure at the level of the College or Department and may or may not be interdisciplinary. A College-level ACI reports to the Dean of the College and typically (but not necessarily) involves multiple departments. A Department-level ACI reports to the Departmental Chair, and is usually centered on activities of faculty within that department. Both College-level and Department-level ACIs may expand to include other faculty and departments across colleges to reach a level where the ACI could apply for designation as a University-level ACI reporting to the SVPAA/P.

Members of the Committee on Academic Centers and Institutes are appointed by the Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost from a pool of nominees submitted by College Deans and the Faculty Senate.  Appointments are for two-year terms with the possibility of reappointment.

Committee Members

randall lee
T. Randall Lee
Committee Chair
Cullen Distinguished University Chair, NSM
richard defrank
Richard S. DeFrank
Associate Professor
Business
Barbara Evans
Barbara Evans
Professor
Law
cathy horn
Catherine Horn
Associate Professor
Education

Rex Koontz
Rex Koontz
Professor
Arts
ezemenari obasi
Ezemenari M. Obasi
Associate Professor
Education
Paul Ruchhoeft
Paul Ruchhoeft
Associate Professor
Engineering
Lynn Voskuil
Lynn Voskuil
Associate Professor
Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

 

Administrative Guidelines, Policies and Procedures

List of Academic Centers and Institutes

University-Level Centers and Institutes

Name of Center/Institute Activities Scope Director or Contact Email Phone
Asian American Studies Center Education/Research University-wide Dr. Yali Zou yzou@uh.edu (713)743-4982
Center for Information Security Research and Education (CiSRE) Education/Research University-wide Dr. William Arthur Conklin waconkli@central.uh.edu (713)743-1556
Center for Mexican Amercian Studies Education/Research University-wide Dr. Tatcho Mindiola tmindiola@uh.edu (713)743-3134
Center for the Americas Education/Scholarly University-wide Dr. Lois Parkinson Zamora lzamora@uh.edu (713)743-3781
Cynthia Woods Mitchell Center for the Arts Arts University-wide Ms. Karen L. Farber klfarber@uh.edu (713)743-1978
LGBT Resource Center Education University-wide Ms. Lorraine Schroeder ischroeder@uh.edu (713)743-5463
UH Stem Center Education/Research University-wide Vacant  
Wolff Center for Entrepreneurship Education University-wide Dr. Edward Blair blair@uh.edu (713)743-4565
Women's Resource Center Education/Service University-wide Beverly McPhail bmcphail@uh.edu (832)842-6191

College-Level Centers and Institutes

Name of Center/Institute Activities College Director or Contact Email  Phone
AA White Dispute Resolution Center Education/Scholarly Law Ben Sheppard bsheppard@uh.edu (713)743-2113
All Kids Alliance Education/Research Education Bob Wimpelberg rwimpelberg@uh.edu (713)743-5008
Blakely Advocacy Institute Education/Scholarly Law Jim Lawrence jelawrence@uh.edu (713)743-2067
Burdette Keeland, Jr. Design Exploration Center Education/Research Architecture Dr. Lannis Kirkland or Eric Arnold lkirkland@uh.edu (713)743-2363
Center For Arts Leadership Education/Scholarly CLASS Sixto Wagan sawagan@uh.edu (713)743-4281
Center for Children, Law & Policy Education/Scholarly Law Ellen Marrus Center4CLP@gmail.com (713)743-0894
Center for Consumer Law Education/Scholarly Law Richard M. Alderman alderman@uh.edu (713)743-2100
Center for International and Comparative Studies Education/Scholarly CLASS Dr. Jonathan Slapin jslapin@uh.edu (713)743-3905
Center for Logistics and Transportation Policy  Scholarly Technology Dr. Carol Brace fcbrace@uh.edu (832)842-5708
Center for U.S. and Mexican Law Research/Scholarly Law Dr. Steven Zamora szamora@uh.edu (713)743-2126
Criminal Justice Institute (CJI) Education/Scholarly Law Prof. Sandra Guerra Thompson sguerra@uh.edu (713)743-2134
Gaming Education and Research Institute (GERI) Education/Research HRM Mr. Jim Wortman jwortman@uh.edu  (713)743-2444
Health Law & Policy Institute Research/Scholarly Law Ms. April Moreno healthlaw@uh.edu (713)743-2101
Houston Area Teacher Center (HATC) Education Education Melissa Pierson mpierson@centraluh.edu (713)743-4961
Institute for Educational Policy, Research, and Evaluation (IEPRE) Education/Research Education Dr. Cathy Horn chorn@central.uh.edu (713)743-5032
Institute for Higher Education Law & Governance (IHELG) Education/Research Law Dr. Michael A. Olivas molivas@uh.edu (713)743-2078
Institute for Intellectual Property & Information Law (IPIL) Education/Scholarly Law Greg Vetter gvetter@uh.edu (713)743-3596
Institute for Urban Education Education/Research Education Dr. Jackie Hawkins jhawkins2@central.uh.edu (713)743-9823
Language Acquisition Center Education CLASS Dr. Edie Furniss eafurniss@uh.edu (713)743-3131
People's Law School Education Law Richard M. Alderman alderman@uh.edu (713)743-2100
People's Lawyer Education Law Richard M. Alderman alderman@uh.edu (713)743-2100
Sales Excellence Institute Education/Research Business Dr. Mike Ahearne mahearne@uh.edu (713)743-4155
Sasakawa International Center for Space Architecture Education/Research Engineering Dr. Bonnie Dunbar bjdunbar@central.uh.edu (713)743-2351
Southwest Juvenile Defender Center Research/Scholarly Law Ellen Marrus emarrus@uh.edu (713)743-0894
Stanford Alexander Center for Excellence in Real Estate Education/Scholarly Business John E. Walsh, Jr. jewalsh@uh.edu (713)743-4382
Texas Consumer Complaint Center Education/Advocacy Law David Tiede dmtiede@uh.edu (713)743-2100
Texas Manufacturing and Assistance Center Service/Consulation Technology Ms. Ann Pham apham18@uh.edu (832)842-7047
The Environment, Energy & Natural Resource Center Education/Scholarly Law Dr. Jacqueline Weaver jweaver@central.uh.edu (713743-2158
Urban-Talent Research Institute Education/Scholarly Education Dr. Rick Olenchack richardo@central.uh.edu (713)743-4984
Wine & Spirits Management Institute (W&SMI) Education/Research HRM Dr. Glenn Cordua y Cruz gcordua@uh.edu (713)743-2442
Women's Archive & Research Center Education/Research Library Dr. Elizabeth Gregory egregory@central.uh.edu (713)256-8310

Department-Level Centers and Institutes

Name of Center/Institute Activities Department Director or Contact Email Phone
Center for Immigration Research Scholarly Sociology Dr. Jessica Brown (interim) jabrown8@central.uh.edu (713)743-3958
Center for Innovative Grouting Materials and Technology Education/Research Civil Engineering Dr. C. Vipulanandan cvipulanandan@uh.edu (713)743-4260
Center for Public History Education/Research History Dr. Martin Melosi mmelosi@uh.edu (713)743-3090
Center for the Study of African American Culture Education/Research African American Studies Dr. James Conyers jconyers@uh.edu (713)743-2813
Language and Culture Center Education English Joy Tesh jtesh@uh.edu (713)743-3019