Skip to main content

Student News

APhA-ASP Chapter Named UH's Most Improved Student Organization

Students Tony Ohonba, Trang Tran Among Nominees for Individual Awards


Houston 5-2-13 - The UH Chapter of the American Pharmacists Association-Academy of Student Pharmacists was recognized with the Most Improved Student Organization Award for the 2012-13 academic year at the 28th Annual UH Campus Leaders Reception on April 23.

Presented by the UH Division of Student Affairs, the award recognizes registered student organizations that have made significant strides in improving membership and increasing engagement with the campus community.

APhA-ASP chapter leaders Ashley Trojcak, Trang Tran and Rachel Harvey, flanked by members of last year's winning organization, accept the Most Improved Student Organization Award at the UH Campus Leaders Reception in April.

"I know I speak for everyone when I say that the leaders of APhA-ASP could not be more proud to be part of such an outstanding organization," said Rachel Harvey, 2012-13 chapter president. "We have made incredible leaps this year, and are on track to soar next year under the leadership of (2013-14 President) Thuy Vo and her fellow officers."

Highlights of ASP’s campus activities during the 2012-13 academic year include organizing or participating in three major health fairs in which members provided a variety of wellness screenings, such as blood pressure checks and glucose screenings, as well as voter registration and educational presentations on a range of health topics.

"ASP always has been active in the community, but the students put a lot of effort and energy into being more visible and raising awareness about the college and the pharmacy profession among their fellow students, as well as UH faculty and staff during the past year," said Lynn Simpson, Pharm.D. (’97), clinical associate professor and ASP chapter co-advisor. 

In addition to the chapter honor, Pharm.D. students Osagie (Tony) Ohonba and Trang Tran were nominated for individual awards. Both were among the nominees in the Graduate Student Leader category, while Tran received a second nomination in the Outstanding Leadership category.

In nominating Ohonba, fellow student Trung Kevin Tran cited Ohonba’s leadership as class president and chair of the new UH Pharmacy Student PAC as well as his volunteerism outside of pharmacy, including working with the Big Brothers Big Sisters organization.

Tran was credited by Simpson for her leadership in patient care initiatives, including the wellness events at UH and across the Greater Houston area in her role as ASP Patient Care Coordinator, and developing a chronic hepatitis B education/management project at HOPE Clinic.