Tenured/Tenure-Track - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Tenured/Tenure-Track

Andre C. Barato

Andre C. Barato
Assistant Professor
barato@uh.edu
713-743-3023
Office:
Science & Research 1, 627

Ph.D., University of Würzburg

Kevin E. Bassler

Kevin E. Bassler
Moores Professor of Physics and Mathematics
bassler@uh.edu
713-743-3568
Office: Science & Research 1, 619C

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University
Complex Systems and Non-Equilibrium Statistical Mechanics

Rene Bellwied

Rene Bellwied
M.D. Anderson Chair Professor
bellwied@uh.edu
713-743-3548
Office: Science & Research 1, 406A

Ph.D., Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany

Edgar Bering

Edgar Bering
Professor
eabering@uh.edu
713-743-3543
Office: Science & Research 1, 530D

Ph.D. in Physics, University of California, Berkeley

Shuo Chen

Shuo Chen
Assistant Professor
schen34@uh.edu
713-743-9135
Office: Science & Research 1, 510C

Ph.D., Boston College

Daniel Cherdack
Assistant Professor
ddcherdack@uh.edu
Office: Science & Research 1, 406B

Ph.D., Tufts University

Margaret S. Cheung

Margaret S. Cheung
Moores Professor of Physics, of Chemistry, and of Computer Science
mscheung@uh.edu
713-743-8358
Office: Science & Research 1, 629B

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, B.S., National Taiwan University
Protein Folding Theory, Protein Folding in Vivo, Protein-Protein Interaction, Solar Energy Conversion, Multiscale Simulations and Modeling, Coarse-Grained Molecular Simulation, Soft Condensed Matter, Clean Energy

Paul C. W. Chu

Paul C. W. Chu
Professor of Physics, T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science, and Founding Director & Chief Scientist, Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston
cwchu@uh.edu
713-743-8222
Office: UH Science Center, 262

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Wei-Kan Chu

Wei-Kan Chu
Cullen University Professor
wkchu@uh.edu
713-743-8252
Office: UH Science Center, 114

Ph.D., Physics, Baylor University
Ion Beam, Ion Implantation, Rutherford Backscattering, Channeling, Radiation Damage, High Temperature Superconductor Applications, Levitation Bearings, Semiconductor Doping

Seamus Curran

Seamus Curran
Professor
sacurran@uh.edu
832-671-6647
Office: Science & Research 1, 530

Ph.D., Trinity College Dublin

Mini Das

Mini Das
Associate Professor
mdas@uh.edu
713-743-3539
Office: Science & Research 1, 419B

Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
Medical Imaging Physics, Inverse Problems, Optical and Radiological Imaging, Image Science, Psychophysics, Image Perception, Optics and Electromagnetics in Medicine and Biology, Biophysics

Gemunu Gunaratne

Gemunu Gunaratne
Moores Professor & Chair
gemunu@uh.edu
713-743-3534
Office: Science & Research 1, 633

Ph.D., Cornell University
Genetic Networks, Physics and Genetic Diseases, Principal Components Analysis, Stochastic Processes, Chaos, Bifurcations

Pei-Herng Hor

Pei-Herng Hor
Associate Professor
phor@uh.edu
713-743-8300
Office: UH Science Center, 264A

Ph.D., University of Houston, B.S., Tamkang University
High Temperature Superconductivity, Bio/Medical Imaging

Pavan Hosur

Pavan Hosur
Assistant Professor
phosur@uh.edu
713-743-1033
Office: UH Science Center, 370

Post Doc, Stanford University, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, B. Tech., Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Ed Hungerford

Ed Hungerford
Professor
hunger@uh.edu
713-743-3549
Office: Science & Research 1, 408

Ph.D., Georgia Tech

Donald Kouri

Donald Kouri
Cullen Distinguished Professor
kouri@uh.edu
713-743-3245
Office: Science & Research 1, 606B

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Liming Li

Liming Li
Associate Professor
lli7@central.uh.edu
713-743-3283
Office: Science & Research 1, 530C

Ph.D., Caltech

Mark A. Meier

Mark A. Meier
Professor
mameier@central.uh.edu
713-743-6195
Office: Science & Research 1, 605A

Ph.D., The University of Texas at Austin

John Miller

John Miller
Professor
jhmiller@uh.edu
713-743-8257
Office: UH Science Center, 318

Ph.D., Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Phenomena, Electron Transport, Superconductivity, Charge Density Waves, Biophysics, Biosensors

Greg Morrison

Greg Morrison
Assistant Professor
gcmorris@central.uh.edu
713-743-9344
Office: Science & Research 1, 629D

Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park, Physics

Carlos R. Ordonez

Carlos R. Ordonez
Professor
ordonez@uh.edu
713-743-3586
Office: Science & Research 1, 627B

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Quantum Field Theory, Effective Field Theory, Quantum Gravity, String Theory, Black Hole Thermodynamics, Conformal Quantum Mechanics and Applications

Lawrence Pinsky

Lawrence Pinsky
Moores Professor
pinsky@uh.edu
713-743-3552
Office: Science & Research 1, 412

Ph.D., University of Rochester

Claudia Ratti

Claudia Ratti
Associate Professor
cratti@uh.edu
713-743-7250
Office: Science & Research 1, 627D

Ph.D., Physics, University of Torino (Italy)

George Reiter

George Reiter
Professor
greiter@uh.edu
713-743-3527
Office: Science & Research 1, 619B

Ph.D., Stanford University

Zhifeng Ren

Zhifeng Ren
M.D. Anderson Chair Professor
zren@uh.edu
713-743-8227
Office: UH Science Center, 466

Ph.D., Chinese Academy of Sciences

Andrew Renshaw

Andrew Renshaw
Assistant Professor
arenshaw@uh.edu
713-743-0925
Office: Science & Research 1, 406B

Ph.D., University of California, Irvine

Donna Stokes

Donna Stokes
Associate Professor
dstokes@uh.edu
713-743-3588
Office: Science & Research 1, 531C

Ph.D., University of Houston

Wu-Pei Su

Wu-Pei Su
Professor
wpsu@uh.edu
713-743-8280
Office: UH Science Center, 313

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania

Anthony Timmins

Anthony Timmins
Associate Professor
atimmins@uh.edu
713-743-3554
Office: Science & Research 1, 406C

Ph.D., High Energy Nuclear Physics, University of Birmingham

Chin-Sen Ting

Chin-Sen Ting
Professor
ting@uh.edu
713-743-8275
Office: UH Science Center, 312

Ph.D., California at San Diego

Oomman K. Varghese

Oomman K. Varghese
Associate Professor
okvarghese@uh.edu
713-743-3808
Office: Science & Research 1, 515E

Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Nanostructured Materials, Excitonic Solar Cells, Solar Fuel Generation, Environmental Sensing

Arthur Weglein

Arthur Weglein
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair; Director, Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program
aweglein@uh.edu
713-743-3848
Office: Science & Research 1, 617

Ph.D., CCNY/CUNY/City University of New York, Graduate Center

Lisa Whitehead Koerner

Lisa Whitehead Koerner
Associate Professor
lawhitehead@uh.edu
713-743-3502
Office: Science & Research 1, 406A

Ph.D., Stony Brook University
Experimental Particle Physics, Neutrinos, Neutrino Oscillations

Lowell Wood

Lowell Wood
Professor
ltwood@uh.edu
713-743-3560
Office: Science & Research 1, 512B

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin