Skip to main content

Tenured/Tenure-Track

Kevin E. Bassler

Kevin E. Bassler
John and Rebecca Moores Professor of Physics and Mathematics
bassler@uh.edu
(713) 743-3568
Office: Science & Research 1, 619C

Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University, 1990
Vertebrate Development; Neural Induction; Cell Signaling

Rene Bellwied

Rene Bellwied
Professor
bellwied@uh.edu
(713) 743-3548
Office: Science & Research 1, 406A

Ph.D., Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany, 1989

Edgar Bering

Edgar Bering
Professor
eabering@uh.edu
(713) 743-3543
Office: Science & Research 1, 530D

Ph.D. in Physics, University of California, Berkeley, 1974

Dong Cai

Dong Cai
Assistant Professor
dcai@uh.edu
(713) 743-1803
Office: Science & Research 1, 510D

Ph.D., Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Shuo Chen

Shuo Chen
Assistant Professor
schen34@uh.edu
(713) 743-9135
Office: Science & Research 1, 510C

Ph.D., Boston College, 2006

Margaret S. Cheung

Margaret S. Cheung
Associate Professor (Physics and Chemistry)
mscheung@uh.edu
(713) 743-8358
Office: Science & Research 1, 629C

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego, B.S., National Taiwan University
Protein Folding Theory, Protein Folding in Vivo, Protein-Protein Interaction, Solar Energy Conversion, Multiscale Simulations and Modeling, Coarse-Grained Molecular Simulation, Soft Condensed Matter, Clean Energy

Paul C. W. Chu

Paul C. W. Chu
Professor of Physics, T. L. L. Temple Chair of Science, and Founding Director & Chief Scientist, Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston
cwchu@uh.edu
(713) 743-8222
Office: UH Science Center, 262

Ph.D., University of California, San Diego

Wei-Kan Chu
Cullen University Professor
wkchu@uh.edu
(713) 743-8252
Office: UH Science Center, 114

Ph.D., Physics, Baylor University
Ion Beam, Ion Implantation, Rutherford Backscattering, Channeling, Radiation Damage, High Temperature Superconductor Applications, Levitation Bearings, Semiconductor Doping

Seamus Curran

Seamus Curran
Professor
sacurran@uh.edu
(832) 671-6647
Office: Science & Research 1, 530

Ph.D., Trinity College Dublin, May 1995

Mini Das

Mini Das
Assistant Professor
mdas@uh.edu
(713) 743-3539
Office: Science & Research 1, 419B

Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi
Medical Imaging Physics, Inverse Problems, Optical and Radiological Imaging, Image Science, Psychophysics, Image Perception, Optics and Electromagnetics in Medicine and Biology, Biophysics

Gemunu Gunaratne

Gemunu Gunaratne
Professor & Chair
gemunu@uh.edu
(713) 743-3534
Office: Science & Research 1, 629B

Ph.D., Cornell University, 1986
Genetic Networks, Physics and Genetic Diseases, Principal Components Analysis, Stochastic Processes, Chaos, Bifurcations

Pei-Herng Hor

Pei-Herng Hor
Associate Professor
phor@uh.edu
(713) 743-8300
Office: UH Science Center, 264A

Ph.D., University of Houston, 1990, B.S., Tamkang University, 1977
High Temperature Superconductivity, Bio/Medical Imaging

Pavan Hosur

Pavan Hosur
Assistant Professor
phosur@uh.edu
(713) 743-1033
Office: UH Science Center, 370

Post Doc, Stanford University, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, B. Tech., Indian Institute of Technology Bombay

Ed Hungerford

Ed Hungerford
Professor
hunger@uh.edu
(713) 743-3549
Office: Science & Research 1, 408

Ph.D., Georgia Tech, 1967

Alex Ignatiev

Alex Ignatiev
Professor
ignatiev@uh.edu
(713) 743-3621
Office: Science & Research 1, 722

Ph.D., Cornell University, 1972

Donald Kouri

Donald Kouri
Cullen Distinguished Professor
kouri@uh.edu
(713) 743-3245
Office: Science & Research 1, 606B

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, 1965

Liming Li

Liming Li
Assistant Professor
lli7@central.uh.edu
(713) 743-3283
Office: Science & Research 1, 530C

Ph.D., Caltech, 2006

John Miller

John Miller
Professor
jhmiller@uh.edu
(713) 743-8257
Office: UH Science Center, 318

Ph.D., Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1985
Condensed Matter Physics, Quantum Phenomena, Electron Transport, Superconductivity, Charge Density Waves, Biophysics, Biosensors

Greg Morrison

Greg Morrison
Professor
gcmorris@central.uh.edu
(713) 743-9344
Office: Science & Research 1, 629D

Ph.D., University of Maryland at College Park, Physics

Carlos R. Ordonez

Carlos R. Ordonez
Associate Professor
ordonez@uh.edu
(713) 743-3586
Office: Science & Research 1, 627B

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin
Quantum Field Theory, Effective Field Theory, Quantum Gravity, String Theory, Black Hole Thermodynamics, Conformal Quantum Mechanics and Applications

Shuheng Pan

Shuheng Pan
Professor
span@uh.edu
(713) 743-8271
Office: UH Science Center, 372

Lawrence Pinsky

Lawrence Pinsky
John & Rebecca Moores Professor
pinsky@uh.edu
(713) 743-3552
Office: Science & Research 1, 412

Ph.D., University of Rochester, 1973

Claudia Ratti

Claudia Ratti
Assistant Professor
cratti@uh.edu
(713) 743-7250
Office: Science & Research 1, 627D

Ph.D., Physics, University of Torino (Italy)

George Reiter

George Reiter
Professor
greiter@uh.edu
(713) 743-3527
Office: Science & Research 1, 619B

Ph.D., Stanford University, 1967

Zhifeng Ren

Zhifeng Ren
M. D. Anderson Chair Professor
zren@uh.edu
(713) 743-8227
Office: UH Science Center, 466

Ph.D., Chinese Academy of Sciences

Andrew Renshaw

Andrew Renshaw
Assistant Professor
arenshaw@uh.edu
(713) 743-0925
Office: Science & Research 1, 406B

Ph.D., University of California, Irvine, 2013

Donna Stokes

Donna Stokes
Associate Professor
dstokes@uh.edu
(713) 743-3588
Office: Science & Research 1, 531C

Ph.D., University of Houston, 1998

Wu-Pei Su

Wu-Pei Su
Professor
wpsu@uh.edu
(713) 743-8280
Office: UH Science Center, 313

Ph.D., University of Pennsylvania, 1981

Anthony Timmins

Anthony Timmins
Professor
atimmins@uh.edu
(713) 743-3554
Office: Science & Research 1, 406C

Ph.D., High Energy Nuclear Physics, University of Birmingham, 2008

Chin-Sen Ting

Chin-Sen Ting
Professor
ting@uh.edu
(713) 743-8275
Office: UH Science Center, 312

Ph.D., California at San Diego, 1970

Oomman K. Varghese

Oomman K. Varghese
Associate Professor
okvarghese@uh.edu
(713) 743-3808
Office: Science & Research 1, 515E

Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology Delhi
Nanostructured Materials, Excitonic Solar Cells, Solar Fuel Generation, Environmental Sensing

Arthur Weglein

Arthur Weglein
Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair; Director, Mission-Oriented Seismic Research Program
aweglein@uh.edu
(713) 743-3848
Office: Science & Research 1, 617

Ph.D., CCNY/CUNY/City University of New York, Graduate Center

Lisa Whitehead

Lisa Whitehead
Assistant Professor
lawhitehead@uh.edu
(713) 743-3502
Office: Science & Research 1, 406D

Ph.D., Stony Brook University, 2007
Experimental Particle Physics, Neutrinos, Neutrino Oscillations

Lowell Wood

Lowell Wood
Professor
ltwood@uh.edu
(713) 743-3560
Office: Science & Research 1, 512B

Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin