Physics Undergraduate Student is One of the 2010 Goldwater Scholars

Matthew Douglas Reichl, a junior physics and mathematics double major and member of The Honors College, has been named a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship recipient for 2010.

Upon graduation, Matthew plans to pursue a Ph.D. in physics, and would like to conduct research in theoretical condensed matter physics and eventually teach at the university level.

Drs. Kevin Bassler, John Miller, Donna Stokes are Matthew's three faculty mentors from the Department of Physics.

Matthew has been conducting research under the guidance of Dr. Bassler for several years to study ordering in far-from-equilibrium systems using computer simulations, and has participated in the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship program in 2009 and the Provost’s Undergraduate Research Scholarship program in spring 2010 through the Office of Undergraduate Research.

In addition to being a first-rate student and researcher, Matthew is also a professional jazz pianist performer, and performs in the Houston area regularly.

Matthew is the second Goldwater recipient in the history of the University of Houston. Adam Huynh, the first Goldwater recipient, is presently a PhD. student in UH’s Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.

For more information, please see the following link: