Suncica Canic Receives Farfel Award - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Suncica Canic Receives Farfel Award

-From Provost Paula Myrick Short 

"Dear University of Houston Faculty and Staff:

I am pleased to announce Dr. Suncica Canic, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished Professor of Mathematics, as the 2018 Esther Farfel Award recipient. The award is given in recognition of excellent teaching, research, scholarship, and service.

The Farfel Award was presented April 26 at the Faculty Excellence Awards Dinner, recognizing the extraordinary talents and gifts of our faculty. The University recognized 44 recipients of the Teaching Excellence Award across 9 categories, 1 recipient of the Global Award, 3 recipients of the Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award, 6 recipients of the Excellence in Research, Scholarship, or Creative Activity Award, 3 recipients of the Distinguished Faculty Scholar Award, and 3 new recipients of the Moores Professorship.

Dr. Canic is one of the world’s leading researchers in the area of mathematical modeling and scientific computing related to cardiovascular science, establishing many collaborations with physicians and researchers in the Texas Medical Center. Her work has had major scientific impact, as well as won her international acclaim. She has also led the development of a procedure for heart valve replacement surgery that is less invasive than open-heart surgery. Dr. Canic has been at the University of Houston since 1998, and is currently a fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Please join me in congratulating Dr. Canic for her exceptional service to the University and on this well-deserved distinction.

Warm regards..."



Sunčica Čanić, Hugh Roy and Lillie Cranz Cullen Distinguished University Chair in the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, received the 2018 Esther Farfel Award during the 2018 Faculty Excellence Awards. The award is the highest honor bestowed on faculty at the University.

A complete listing of all faculty award recipients is now available online.


For a complete list of UH Mathematics Faculty award recipients, please visit this link.


Photos from the Awards Dinner: