Teaching and Research Assistants - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Teaching and Research Assistants

Research Assistants and Teaching Assistants are listed here along with their major, advisor, and e-mail address. If you note any incorrect information, please visit the EAS Office Support Ticket System.

Teaching Assistants

CarlosAndrade, Carlos
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Chafetz / Lapen
Thesis: Investigating silicon isotopes in a variety of rocks including silicified corals, chert nodules and authigenic euhedral quartz grains.
E-mail: cmoreira@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 137

Clark_Rachel_Photo.jpg  Clark , Rachel  
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)  
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor:   Dr. Julia Wellner  
Thesis:  Reconstructing recent behavior of Thwaites Glacier, West Antarctica through sedimentological analysis of marine cores

E-mail: Rwclark2@central.uh.edu  
Office: SR1 303

Naila DowlaDowla, Naila
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Continent-ocean boundary of NW Africa, and reconstruction with its conjugate margin in SE USA
E-mail:  ndowla2@uh.edu
Office: Fleming's Grad Office
Ebrahim  Eslami, Ebrahim
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Integrated air quality model study with focus on health and cost impacts
E-mail: eeslami@uh.edu
Office: SR1 426-C
suoya-fan.jpg Fan, Suoya
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Murphy
Thesis: Tectonics of the Nepal Himalaya and southern Tibet
E-mail: sfan2@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 336
Jannatul Ferdous, Jannatul
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Geochemistry of Martian Meteorites
UH email address:  jferdous@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Joshua Flores, Joshua
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Title: Geology of Newfoundland ophiolites
E-mail: jaflores17@uh.edu
Office: SR1 314

Yuandi Gan Gan, Yuandi

Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. in Geophysics
Advisor: Chesnokov
Thesis: Effects of fracture connectivity on dynamic attenuation in fractured porous media
E-mail: ygan2@Central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 126

tithi Ghosh, Tithi
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Snow
Thesis: Mantle Geochemistry
E-mail: tghosh2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Marwa Hussein  Hussein, Marwa
Curriculum Vitae
Program: Ph.D. in Geophysics.
Advisor: Dr. Stewart
Research topic: Multiattribute analysis for reservoir characterization and modeling.
E-mail: mahmedeweishussein@uh.edu
Office: SR1 138
lianjiang.jpg Jiang, Lian
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D, Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Thesis: Extracting rock/fluid properties from seismic data
E-mail: ljiang13@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
mckensie-professional-photo.jpg Kilgore, McKensie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Water contents of the lithospheric mantle beneath the Canadian Cordillera and Slave craton (Canada)
E-mail: mlgelber@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 318A
Krupnik Krupnik, Diana
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Application of Close-Range Hyperspectral and Terrestrial LiDAR Scanning for Outcrop Characterization
E-mail: dkrupnik@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 234
Li, Yipeng
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Robinson
Title: Tectonic studies of the Pamir Mountains
E-mail: yli88@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328A
amandalopez.jpg  Lopez, Amanda Mulcan
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Environmental Geochemistry
E-mail: amlopez16@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
yanl.jpg  Lops, Yannic
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Application of Deep Learning and Neural Networks to Improve Weather and Climate Models
E-mail: ylops@uh.edu
Office: SR1 426C
sharif_morshed.jpg Morshed, Sharif
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Evgeny Chesnokov
Thesis: Effective elastic properties due to interactions of ellipsoidal inclusions in a random medium with stress
E-mail: smmorshe@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 123 SR1
IMG_9690.jpg Nana Yobo, Lucien
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon / Chafetz
Thesis: Multi isotope approach to understanding the Cretaceous ocean anoxic event 2.
E-mail: lnanayobo@uh.edu
Office: 327
Osibanjo Osibanjo, Olabosipo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D.  Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor:  Rappenglueck
Thesis:  Atmospheric Boundary Layer and Air Pollution Studies
E-mail:  ooosibanjo@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414
Manuel Paez-Reyes, Manuel
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Silva-Tamayo
Thesis: Changes in ocean oxygenation during the Cretaceous
E-mail: mapaez-reyes@uh.edu
Office: SR1 315C

Andrea Paris Paris, Andrea

Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Stewart
Thesis: Rock properties, seismic modeling, and multicomponent seismic data analysis. 
E-mail:  agparisc@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 140

Delaney  Robinson, Delaney
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wellner
E-mail: derobin3@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 303
Atlanta_Profile_pic.jpg  Sen, Atlanta
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geochemistry
Advisor: Dr. Jonathan E Snow
Thesis: Mantle Evolution and Geochemistry
E-mail: asen6@central.uh.edu
Office SR1 129A

SextonSexton, Matthew

Curriculum Vitae
PhD Geophysics
Advisor: Sager
Thesis: Intraplate volcanism in the Western Pacific
E-mail: misexton@uh.edu
Office: SR1 127A

slotsve Slotsve, Erik
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Thesis: Correlation of the Coastal Complex and Lush's Bight oceanic tracts of Newfoundland: Remnants of a once contiguous Cambrian forearc basement complex 
E-mail: erslotsve@uh.edu
Office:334B
Nan   Sun, Nan
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Title: Mantle geochemistry
E-mail: nsun3@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Yuan  Tian, Yuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: The influence of Phobos on Mars free oscillation.
E-mail: tyty@mail.ustc.edu.cn
Office SR1 129A
yangw.png Wang, Yang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Han
E-mail: ywang103@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 108
Zhili Wei, Zhili
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Double difference hypocentral determination and deformable layer tomography in Southern California
E-mail: withme2008@hotmail.com
Office: SR1 136
yw.jpgWo, Yukai
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Near-surface velocity model building
E-mail: ywo2@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 333
Lin Xiong Xiong, Lin
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: Landslide study with Lidar
E-mail:  xionglinpeking@gmail.com
Office: SR1 231
weiyao-yan_headphoto.jpg Yan, Weiyao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Casey
Thesis: Plagiogranite
E-mail: wyan3@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 334B
weihang-yang.pngYang, Weihang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Advisor: Casey
Thesis:  Multi-element Determination of Crude Oil by Mineralization Using ICP-OES, in tandem with QQQ-ICP-MS, and Trace Elements as Fingerprints for Crude Oil: Their Significance in Exploration and Production.
Email: wyang2@Central.UH.EDU
Office: Room 332, SR1
wenyuanzhang.jpg Zhang, Wenyuan

Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Robert Stewart
Thesis: Full waveform inversion for reservoir characterization
E-mail: wzhang46@central.uh.edu 
Office: SR1 140

Bingyi Zhao  Zhao, Bingyi

Curriculum Vitae
PhD in geology
Advisor: Qi Fu
Email address: bzhao3@uh.edu
Office location: SR1 136
Research title: Geochemistry characteristics of Monterey formation in Santa Maria Basin

jingjing_zong.jpg Zong, Jingjing
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Stewart
Thesis: Elastic Properties of Rock Salt: lab measurements, numerical modelling, logging and VSP surveys in GoM
E-mail: jzong@uh.edu
Office: SR1 131

Research Assistants

claudia_bernier Bernier, Claudia

M.S. in Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis: Diurnal ozone patterns in Houston as indicators of meteorological regimes
Email : cmbernier@uh.edu
Office : SR1 – 413

Shenelle Gomez, Shenelle

Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Subsurface structure, stratigraphy, tectonics and hydrocarbon potential of the Barbados accretionary prism and the Tobago Basin
E-mail: skgomez@uh.edu
Office: SR1

Jia_Jung Jung, Jia

Curriculum vitae
Ph.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis : Aerosol-meteorology interaction
Email : jjung10@uh.edu
Office : SR1 – 414

marie nelsie Kouassi, Marie-Nelsy


Ph.D : Geophysics
Advisor : Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis : Seismic illumination, attributes extraction and structural interpretation in deepwater subsalt environment, Green Canyon and Walker Ridge, U.S. GOM.
Email : nmkouassi@uh.edu
Office : SR1 427

Klovenski, Elizabeth
Ph.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis : Not Decided
Email: eklovenski@uh.edu
Office : SR1 – 413

timothy  Kearns, Timothy
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: The Establishment of a Dense GPS Network in the Houston Area (HoustonNet) for the Purpose of Subsidence Monitoring
E-mail: tjkearns@uh.edu
Office: SR1 231

Jack KenningKenning, Jack
PhD Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis: Structure, tectonics and petroleum systems potential of the Mexican Ridges fold-belt, Gulf of Mexico
E-mail: jjkenning@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427

Li  Li, Jiaxuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: In situ seismic anisotropy in the source region of global deep earthquakes
E-mail: jli74@uh.edu
Office: SR1 129A
Pin  Lin, Pin
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Title: Tectonics of Florida and the eastern Gulf of Mexico
E-mail: pl8p5@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427

EricLunn.jpg  Lunn, Eric
MS Geology
Advisor: Paul Mann
Thesis: 3D Free-Air Gravity Modeling of the Barreirinhas and Ceara Basins of Equatorial Brazil
Email:  elunn@uh.edu
Office: SR1 Rm. 427

 arman p Pouyaei, Arman 
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences 
Advisor:  Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: Not Decided 
E-mail: apouyaei@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414

Carolina Ramon-Duenas, Carolina
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor:  Dr. Julia Wellner
Thesis: Progradational units as recorders of basin evolution Alaskan North Slope and Gulf of Mexico
E-mail: cramonduenas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 303

bavand_sadeghi Sadegi, Bavand

Ph.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis : Not Decided
Email : bsadegh2@central.uh.edu
Office : SR1 - 414

almaqah_sayeed Sayeed, Alqamah 

Ph.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis : Not Decided
Email : asayeed@uh.edu
Office : SR1 – 414

Tyson Smith, Tyson
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Thesis: Tectonics of the the Ancestral Rocky Mountains
E-mail: tmsmith14@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328

  AndrewSteier.jpg  Steier, Andrew
MS, Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis: Jurassic-Cretaceous stratigraphic and structural evolution of the northern Yucatan margin
Email:  arsteier@uh.edu
Office: SR1 #427

stephanieSuarez.jpg Suarez, Stephanie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: Resolving the age of the Tissint Martian meteorite through Lu-Hf, Rb-Sr and Sm-Nd geochronology
E-mail: sesuare2@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 318E
Vivian  Torrado Gonzalez, Vivian
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Mann
Title: Seismic stratigraphy of the Nicaraguan Rise and Amazon fan
E-mail: vtorradogonzalez@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427

shutingYang, Shuting

Curriculum vitae

Ph.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Bob Talbot
Thesis: Investigation and Characterization of CH4 leaks in Texas using stable isotope and UAV
E-mail: syang20@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413

sally_wang Wang, Sing-Chun "Sally"

Ph.D : Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor : Dr. Yuxuan Wang
Thesis : Impact of biomass burning on air quality and weather
Email: swang54@uh.edu
Office : SR1 – 413

Marcus ZineckerZinecker, Marcus
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Paul Mann
Thesis: Hydrocarbon potential of the Atlantic conjugate margins
email:  mpzinecker@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427