Teaching and Research Assistants - University of Houston
Skip to main content

Teaching and Research Assistants

Research Assistants and Teaching Assistants are listed here along with their major, advisor, and e-mail address. If you note any incorrect information, please visit the EAS Office Support Ticket System.

Teaching Assistants

CarlosAndrade, Carlos
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Chafetz / Lapen
Thesis: Investigating silicon isotopes in a variety of rocks including silicified corals, chert nodules and authigenic euhedral quartz grains.
E-mail: cmoreira@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 137
Blanco Blanco, Joan Marie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: From basin to reservoir: tectonic and stratigraphic study of La Vela Bay and Gulf of Venezuela offshore basins and the onshore Falcón basin, Western Venezuela
E-mail:  jmblanco@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Bradley Bradley, Deborah
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: Timing of Prograde Metamorphism of Lawsonite Eclogites from the Motagua River
E-mail: drbradley@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
carlbuist.jpg Buist, Carl
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Stewart
Thesis: Fiber Optic Cables use in Borehole Geophysics
E-mail: crbuist@central.uh.edu 
Office: SR1 140
chew_jessica_photo.jpg Chew, Jessica
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: Earth Inner Core Anisotropy
E-mail: jmchew@Central.UH.EDU
Office: SR1 136
Abigail Corbett, Abigail
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Jiang
Thesis: Climate change and greenhouse gases; radiative forcing; remote sensing
E-mail: amcorbett@uh.edu
ding Ding, Yinshuai
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Stereo Imaging for Marine Seismic
E-mail: dyinshuai@uh.edu
Office:136
Naila DowlaDowla, Naila
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Continent-ocean boundary of NW Africa, and reconstruction with its conjugate margin in SE USA
E-mail:  ndowla2@uh.edu
Office: Fleming's Grad Office
suoya-fan.jpg Fan, Suoya
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Murphy
Thesis: Tectonics of the Nepal Himalaya and southern Tibet
E-mail: sfan2@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 336
Jannatul Ferdous, Jannatul
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Geochemistry of Martian Meteorites
UH email address: jferdous@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Joshua Flores, Joshua
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Title: Geology of Newfoundland ophiolites
E-mail: jaflores17@uh.edu
Office: SR1 314

Yuandi Gan Gan, Yuandi

Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. in Geophysics
Advisor: Chesnokov
Thesis: Effects of fracture connectivity on dynamic attenuation in fractured porous media
E-mail: ygan2@Central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 126

tithi Ghosh, Tithi
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Snow
Thesis: Mantle Geochemistry
E-mail: tghosh2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Marwa Hussein Hussein, Marwa
Curriculum Vitae
Program: Ph.D. in Geophysics.
Advisor: Dr. Stewart
Research topic: Multiattribute analysis for reservoir characterization and modeling.
E-mail: mahmedeweishussein@uh.edu
Office: SR1 138
lianjiang.jpg Jiang, Lian
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D, Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Thesis: Extracting rock/fluid properties from seismic data
E-mail: ljiang13@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Jing Jing, Hongli
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Microseismic Location
E-mail: hjing@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Cole Jones  Jones, Cole
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Capuano
Email:  jones.cole.r@gmail.com
Office: SR1 221
mckensie-professional-photo.jpg Kilgore, McKensie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Water contents of the lithospheric mantle beneath the Canadian Cordillera and Slave craton (Canada)
E-mail: mlgelber@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 318A
Krupnik Krupnik, Diana
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Application of Close-Range Hyperspectral and Terrestrial LiDAR Scanning for Outcrop Characterization
E-mail: dkrupnik@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 234

Ruixue Lei Lei, Ruixue

Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D.: Atmospheric sciences
Advisor: Dr. Talbot
Thesis: Ozone and extreme weather
E-Mail: rlei2@central.uh.edu
Office location: SR413

Li  Li, Jiaxuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: In situ seismic anisotropy in the source region of global deep earthquakes
E-mail: jli74@uh.edu
Office: SR1 129A
Li, Yipeng
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Robinson
Title: Tectonic studies of the Pamir Mountains
E-mail: yli88@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328A
xiang Ling, Xiang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Snow
Thesis: Mantle Geochemistry
E-mail: xling2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
liu Liu, Hanlin
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: Landslide monitoring using GPS in Caribbean region
E-mail: hliu30@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
Lobpries Lobpries, Trey
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Chafetz
Thesis: Carbonate petrography
E-mail: trey.lobpries@gmail.com
Office: SR1 318
amandalopez.jpg  Lopez, Amanda Mulcan
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Environmental Geochemistry
E-mail: amlopez16@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
yanl.jpg  Lops, Yannic
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Application of Deep Learning and Neural Networks to Improve Weather and Climate Models
E-mail: ylops@uh.edu
Office: SR1 426C
Mei Mei, Mei
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Bissada
Thesis: Petroleum Geochemistry and Petroleum Systems Analysis
E-mail: mmei@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
sharif_morshed.jpg Morshed, Sharif
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Evgeny Chesnokov
Thesis: Effective elastic properties due to interactions of ellipsoidal inclusions in a random medium with stress
E-mail: smmorshe@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 123 SR1
Osibanjo Osibanjo, Olabosipo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D.  Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor:  Rappenglueck
Thesis:  Atmospheric Boundary Layer and Air Pollution Studies
E-mail:  ooosibanjo@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414

Andrea Paris Paris, Andrea

Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Stewart
Thesis: Rock properties, seismic modeling, and multicomponent seismic data analysis. 
E-mail:  agparisc@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 140

Carolina Ramon-Duenas, Carolina
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor:  Dr. Julia Wellner
Thesis: Progradational units as recorders of basin evolution Alaskan North Slope and Gulf of Mexico
E-mail: cramonduenas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 303

Clark_Rachel_Photo.jpg Rachel, Clark 
Curriculum Vitae (PDF) 
Ph.D. Geology 
Advisor:  Dr. Julia Wellner 
E-mail: Rwclark2@central.uh.edu 
Office: SR1 303
Delaney  Robinson, Delaney
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wellner
E-mail: derobin3@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 303
Crystal   Saadeh, Crystal
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Title: Provenance studies using zircons
E-mail:  crystalsaadeh@gmail.com
Office: SR1 328A
somaria_sammy_photoeas.png Sammy, Somaria
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Stewart
Thesis: Ground Penetrating Radar
E-mail: sisammy@uh.edu
Office: SR1 140
Schaffer Schaffer, Lillian
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Water in Nominally Anhydrous Minerals
E-mail: laschaffer@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318

SextonSexton, Matthew

Curriculum Vitae
PhD Geophysics
Advisor: Sager
Thesis: Intraplate volcanism in the Western Pacific
E-mail: misexton@uh.edu
Office: SR1 127A

slotsve Slotsve, Erik
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Thesis: Correlation of the Coastal Complex and Lush's Bight oceanic tracts of Newfoundland: Remnants of a once contiguous Cambrian forearc basement complex 
E-mail: erslotsve@uh.edu
Office:334B
Tyson Smith, Tyson
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Thesis: Tectonics of the the Ancestral Rocky Mountains
E-mail: tmsmith14@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328
stephanieSuarez.jpg Suarez, Stephanie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: Resolving the age of the Tissint Martian meteorite through Lu-Hf, Rb-Sr and Sm-Nd geochronology
E-mail: sesuare2@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 318E
Sun Sun, Lei
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Hyperspectral Remote Sensing and Terrestrial Laser Scanning
E-mail: lsun10@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234
Nan   Sun, Nan
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Title: Mantle geochemistry
E-mail: nsun3@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Yuan  Tian, Yuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: The influence of Phobos on Mars free oscillation.
E-mail: tyty@mail.ustc.edu.cn
Office SR1 129A
yangw.png Wang, Yang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Han
E-mail: ywang103@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 108
Zhili Wei, Zhili
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Double difference hypocentral determination and deformable layer tomography in Southern California
E-mail: withme2008@hotmail.com
Office: SR1 136
yw.jpgWo, Yukai
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Near-surface velocity model building
E-mail: ywo2@central.uh.edu
Office: SR1 333
Keyao Xia, Keyao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Hilterman
Thesis: Near-surface P- and S-wave Inversion by Surface and Guided Waves
E-mail: kxia@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 136
weiyao-yan_headphoto.jpg Yan, Weiyao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Casey
Thesis: Plagiogranite
E-mail: wyan3@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 334B
Weihang Yang, Weihang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Thesis: Ophiolite studies using geochemistry
E-mail: wyang6@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
weihang-yang.pngYang, Weihang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Advisor: Casey
Thesis:  Multi-element Determination of Crude Oil by Mineralization Using ICP-OES, in tandem with QQQ-ICP-MS, and Trace Elements as Fingerprints for Crude Oil: Their Significance in Exploration and Production.
Email: wyang2@Central.UH.EDU
Office: Room 332, SR1
  Yao, Yao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Li
Thesis: Rayleigh wave tomography of Texas from ambient seismic noise
E-mail: yyao2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 121
wenyuanzhang.jpg Zhang, Wenyuan
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Dr. Robert Stewart
Thesis: Full waveform inversion for reservoir characterization
E-mail: wzhang46@central.uh.edu 
Office: SR1 140

Bingyi Zhao Zhao, Bingyi

Curriculum Vitae
PhD in geology
Advisor: Qi Fu
Email address: bzhao3@uh.edu
Office location: SR1 136
Research title: Geochemistry characteristics of Monterey formation in Santa Maria Basin

jingjing_zong.jpg Zong, Jingjing
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Stewart
Thesis: Elastic Properties of Rock Salt: lab measurements, numerical modelling, logging and VSP surveys in GoM
E-mail: jzong@uh.edu
Office: SR1 131

Research Assistants

Virginia Alonso de Linaje, Virginia
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Close-range Hyperspectral Imaging
E-mail: valonsodelinajedenicolas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234A

Ross Andrea, Ross
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Field studies of faults at all scales
E-mail: raa.geology@gmail.com
Office: SR1 318
Biber Biber, Kivanc
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: A terrestrial laser scanner, digital photogrammetry, hyperspectral mapping, and GPR assisted reservoir analog study
E-mail: kbiber@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234
Cannon Cannon, John Matthew
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Dissertation: Post-Miocene deformation in the Himalayan Hinterland, northwest Nepal
E-mail: jmcannon2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Carvajal Carvajal Arenas, Luis
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Petroleum prospectivity of the North West Colombian Offshore
E-mail: lcarvajalarenas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Diao Diao, Lijun
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Choi
Thesis:  The impact of convection and lightning on air quality and free tropospheric chemistry based on WRF-Chem
E-mail: : ldiao@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414
Ebrahim  Eslami, Ebrahim
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Integrated air quality model study with focus on health and cost impacts
E-mail: eeslami@uh.edu
Office: SR1 426-C
Shenelle Gomez, Shenelle
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Subsurface structure, stratigraphy, tectonics and hydrocarbon potential of the Barbados accretionary prism and the Tobago Basin
E-mail: skgomez@uh.edu
Office: SR1
Jing Hua Hua, Jing
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Title: Seismic imaging of structures in the Liaodong area, Bahai basin, China
E-mail: jhua3@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
qi Huang, Qi
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Han
Thesis:  Rock Physics and anisotropy of seismic waves
E-mail: qhuang@uh.edu
Office: SR1 104
Jeffcoat   Jeffcoat, Charles
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: In situ major element, trace element, and isotope analysis of planetary materials.
E-mail: crjeffcoat@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
angela Kao, Angela
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Jiang
Thesis: Investgation of cloud variablility from observation and model
E-mail: akao2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 432F
timothy  Kearns, Timothy
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: The Establishment of a Dense GPS Network in the Houston Area (HoustonNet) for the Purpose of Subsidence Monitoring
E-mail: tjkearns@uh.edu
Office: SR1 231
Kerekgyarto Kerekgyarto, Andrew
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: 26Al-26Mg Geochronology, stable Mg isotope studies and an assessment of uncommon features of EK459-5-1: A Type B1 CAI
E-mail: agkerekgyarto@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Anna  Krylova, Anna
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Chesnokov
Thesis: Propagation of slow waves through fractured and porous media
Email: akrylova@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
Ruixue Lei, Ruixue
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Talbot
Thesis: Methane Emissions from Oil and Natural Gas Processing
E-mail: rlei2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413
Pin  Lin, Pin
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Title: Tectonics of Florida and the eastern Gulf of Mexico
E-mail: pl8p5@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Liu Liu, Lei
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Talbot
Thesis: The relationship between Houston ozone and meteorology for past 20 years
E-mail: lliu2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413
Yiduo Liu, Yiduo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Mesozoic Tectonics and Magmatism of the Northern Gulf of Mexico Basin
E-mail: yliu59@uh.edu
Office: SR1 336
Patrick Loureiro, Patrick
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Mapping carbonate reservoirs in pre-salt sag basins of the South Atlantic
E-mail: ploureiro@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Soty Odoh, Soty
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Thesis: U-pb geochronology and U-th/Zhe thermochronology analysis to determine timing of deposition associated with active thrusting in Eastern Cordillera, Colombia
E-mail: sodoh@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
Manuel Paez-Reyes, Manuel
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Silva-Tamayo
Thesis: Changes in ocean oxygenation during the Cretaceous
E-mail: mapaez-reyes@uh.edu
Office: SR1 315C

xuan Qin, Xuan
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Han
Thesis: Seismic rock physics
E-mail: qin.xuan1@gmail.com
Office: SR1 136

Souri Souri, Amir Hossein
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Constraining NOx and HCHO Emissions Using Satellite Measurements
E-mail: asouri@uh.edu
Shuhang Tang, Shuhang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou 
Thesis: Seismic data processing
E-mail: tshswacm@gmail.com
Office: SR1 136
Vivian  Torrado Gonzalez, Vivian
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Mann
Title: Seismic stratigraphy of the Nicaraguan Rise and Amazon fan
E-mail: vtorradogonzalez@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
yukai Wo, Yukai
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Tomo-statics
E-mail:  ywo@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Lin Xiong Xiong, Lin
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: Landslide study with Lidar
E-mail:  xionglinpeking@gmail.com
Office: SR1 231
Bingyi Zhao, Bingyi
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Fu
Thesis: Low-temperature geochemistry
Thesis: Geochemistry
E-mail: bzhao3@uh.edu