Skip to main content

Teaching and Research Assistants

Research Assistants and Teaching Assistants are listed here along with their major, advisor, and e-mail address. If you note any incorrect information, please visit the EAS Office Support Ticket System.

Teaching Assistants

Maria Amirzadeh, Maria
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Thesis: Investigation of Reflectivity Series
E-mail: mamirzadeh@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
peter  Anderson, Peter
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Snow
Thesis: Mantle Geochemistry
E-mail: pzanderson@uh.edu
Office: SR1 236
CarlosAndrade, Carlos
Advisor: Silva-Tamayo
Babalola Babalola, Ayodeji
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor:  Castagna
Thesis: The use of spectral Inversion method to de
lineate sub-seismic reservoirs in Boonsville field, North Texas
E-mail: ababalola2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Bartschi Bartschi, Nicolas
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor:  Saylor
Thesis: Sediment supply and accommodation controls on foreland basin stratigraphic architecture in Book Cliffs, Utah
E-mail: ncbartschi@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328
Bhattacharyya Bhattacharyya, Proma
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan 
Thesis: Paleohydraulics Reconstruction and Grain Size Analysis of Ancient Point Bars with Hyperspectral and LiDAR, Ferron Sandstone, Utah
E-mail: pbhattacharyya@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Blanco Blanco, Joan
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: From basin to reservoir: tectonic and stratigraphic study of La Vela Bay and Gulf of Venezuela offshore basins and the onshore Falcón basin, Western Venezuela
E-mail: jmblanco@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
BradleyBradley, Deborah
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: Timing of Prograde Metamorphism of Lawsonite Eclogites from the Motagua River
E-mail: drbradley@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
vanessa Caicedo, Vanessa
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Rappenglueck
Thesis: Analysis of Houston's Planetary Boundary Layer using LIDARs
E-mail: vacaicedo@uh.edu
Room: SR1 413
ChenChen, Xinyang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D Geology
Advisor: Chafetz
Thesis: Petrologic and Geochemical Constrains on the Origin of Authigenic Euhedral Quartz Crystals in Edwards Formation, Central Texas
E-mail: xchen28@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Xueze Chen Chen, Xueze
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Fu
Title: Low-temperature geochemical studies
E-mail: xchen55@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Abigail Corbett, Abigail
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Jiang
Thesis: Climate change and greenhouse gases; radiative forcing; remote sensing
E-mail: amcorbett@uh.edu
Dave Dave, Riddhi
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Li
Thesis: Shear wave structure in the crust and upper mantle beneath the Wyoming Craton
E-mail: radave@uh.edu
Office: SR1 121
ding Ding, Yinshuai
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Stereo Imaging for Marine Seismic
E-mail: dyinshuai@uh.edu
Office:136
Naila DowlaDowla, Naila
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Continent-ocean boundary of NW Africa, and reconstruction with its conjugate margin in SE USA
E-mail: ndowla2@uh.edu
Office: Fleming's Grad Office
Jannatul Ferdous, Jannatul
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: High temperature geochemistry
E-mail: jferdous@uh.edu
Office:
Joshua Flores, Joshua
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Title: Geology of Newfoundland ophiolites
E-mail: jaflores17@uh.edu
Office: SR1 314
Simin Gao, Simin
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Jadamec
Title: Modeling subducted slabs
E-mail: sgao8@uh.edu
Office: SR1 127A
McKensie Gelber, McKensie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: High Temperature Geochemistry
E-mail: mlgelber@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
tithi Ghosh, Tithi
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Snow
Thesis: Mantle Geochemistry
E-mail: tghosh2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
KirstieHaynie, Kirstie
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Jadamec
Thesis: The role of plateau collision-subduction on overriding plate deformation and slab detachment in Alaska.
E-mail: klhaynie@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128

Jingqiu Huang, Jinqiu (Daisy)
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Integrated geophysical study of faults
E-mail: hjingqiu@gmail.com
Office: SR1 234

Xinwei Huang, Xinwei
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: A pilot study of deviated well-tie
E-mail: xhuang11@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Jahan Jahan, Ismot
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Thesis: Characterization of Fracture Parameters Using 3C-3D Seismic Data
E-mail: ijahan@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136

Cole Jones Jones, Cole

M.S. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Capuano
Email: jones.cole.r@gmail.com
Office: SR1 221

Jing Jing, Hongli
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Microseismic Location
E-mail: hjing@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Alex Kotsakis, Alex
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Impacts of Meteorology/Climate on Houston Air Quality
E-mail: aekotsakis@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413
Krupnik Krupnik, Diana
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Hyperspectral remote sensing and petrographic studies of carbonate reservoir analogues
E-mail: dkrupnik@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234
Li Li, Jiaxuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: In situ seismic anisotropy in the source region of global deep earthquakes
E-mail: jli74@uh.edu
Office: SR1 129A
Luchen Li, Luchen
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Seismic data processing
E-mail: lli34@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Li, Yipeng
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Robinson
Title: Tectonic studies of the Pamir Mountains
E-mail: yli88@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328A
zhao Li, Zhao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Chesnokov
Thesis: Advanced methods for modeling the elastic wave-field in complicated media
E-mail: zli24@uh.edu
Office: SR1 121
xiang Ling, Xiang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Snow
Thesis: Mantle Geochemistry
E-mail: xling2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
liu Liu, Hanlin
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: Landslide monitoring using GPS in Caribbean region
E-mail: hliu30@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
Lobpries Lobpries, Trey
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Chafetz
Thesis: Carbonate petrography
E-mail: trey.lobpries@gmail.com
Office: SR1 318
LuLu, Kefei
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Chesnokov
Thesis: Gas Shale Permeability Measurement and Estimation at Different Scales
E-mail: lukefei92@gmail.com
Office: SR1 136
Mei Mei, Mei
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Bissada
Thesis: Petroleum Geochemistry and Petroleum Systems Analysis
E-mail: mmei@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Munoz Munoz, Yuribia
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wellner
Thesis: Glacial sedimentation in fjords around Antarctica
E-mail: ypmunoz@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Okyay Okyay, Unal
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Integrated Close-Range Hyperspectral Imaging and Terrestrial Laser Scanning of Rock Alterations at Outcrop Scale
E-mail: unalokyay@gmail.com
Office: SR1 128
OsibanjoOsibanjo, Olabosipo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Rappenglueck
Thesis: Atmospheric Boundary Layer and Air Pollution Studies
E-mail: ooosibanjo@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414
Shuai Pan Pan, Shuai
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Dr. Yunsoo Choi
Thesis: CMAQ based air quality forecasting/modeling
E-mail: span6@uh.edu
Office:
Carolina Ramon, Carolina
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Julia Wellner
E-mail: cramonduenas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 303
Robertson Robertson, Nikole
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Fu
Thesis: Isotope and Organic Geochemistry
E-mail: ncrobertson@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Delaney Robinson, Delaney
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wellner
E-mail: derobinson2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 303
Crystal Saadeh, Crystal
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Title: Provenance studies using zircons
E-mail: crystalsaadeh@gmail.com
Office: SR1 328A
Schaffer Schaffer, Lillian
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Thesis: Water in Nominally Anhydrous Minerals
E-mail: laschaffer@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Shelton Shelton, Jay
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Rappenglueck
Thesis: Sensitivity of a southeast Texas nocturnal squall line and the evaluation of embedded low-level mesovortices
E-mail: jtshelton2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414
slotsve Slotsve, Erik
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Thesis: Correlation of the Coastal Complex and Lush's Bight oceanic tracts of Newfoundland: Remnants of a once contiguous Cambrian forearc basement complex 
E-mail: erslotsve@uh.edu
Office:334B
Tyson Smith, Tyson
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Thesis: Tectonics of the the Ancestral Rocky Mountains
E-mail: tmsmith14@uh.edu
Office: SR1 328
Sun Sun, Lei
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Hyperspectral Remote Sensing and Terrestrial Laser Scanning
E-mail: lsun10@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234
Nan Sun, Nan
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Brandon
Title: Mantle geochemistry
E-mail: nsun3@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Kurt Sundell Sundell, Kurt
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Dr. Joel Saylor
Thesis: Stratigraphic studies in Peruvian Andes
E-mail: kurtsundell@gmail.com
Office: SR1 136
Yuan Tian, Yuan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zheng
Thesis: The influence of Phobos on Mars free oscillation.
E-mail: tyty@mail.ustc.edu.cn
Office SR1 129A
dustin Villarreal, Dustin
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Robinson
Thesis: Mapping structural geology and analyzing U-Pb from detrital zircons to differentiate the timing of crustal shortening in the Pamir.
E-mail: dpvillarreal@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Jiannan Wang, Jiannan
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Stewart
Thesis: High resolution seismic data from the Gulf of Mexico and Haiti
E-mail: jwang61@uh.edu
Office: SR1 121C
Zhili Wei, Zhili
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Double difference hypocentral determination and deformable layer tomography in Southern California
E-mail: withme2008@hotmail.com
Office: SR1 136
Keyao Xia, Keyao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Hilterman
Thesis: Azimuthal P-wave AVA Inversion for Fracture Orientation and Density
E-mail: kxia@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 136
Yan Yan, Huizhong
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor:  Hiltermann
Thesis: Pore pressure prediction using well-log data
E-mail: hyan@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
linqiang Yang, Linqiang
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Guoquan Wang
Thesis: Subsidence in Houston, Texas, using continuous GPS data
E-mail: lyang18@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413
shutingYang, Shuting
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Talbot
Thesis: Estimating the loss of CH4 from natural gas and oil processing.
E-mail: syang20@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Weihang Yang, Weihang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Thesis: Ophiolite studies using geochemistry
E-mail: wyang6@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Yao Yao, Yao
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Li
Thesis: Rayleigh wave tomography of Texas from ambient seismic noise
E-mail: yyao2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 121
Yuan Yuan, Duo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Li
Thesis: Building 3-D crustal model with radial anisotropy in Iceland from ambient seismic noise tomography
E-mail: dyuan3@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Xiajing Zhang, Xiaojing
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Casey
Thesis: Chronology and Dynamics of Mesozoic Igneous Rock in Youjiang Basin, SW China
E-mail: xzhang54@uh.edu 
Office: SR1 136
Zhou Zhou, Jian
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Thesis: Thickness estimation with frequency-dependent principal component spectral attribute
E-mail: jzhou8@uh.edu
Office: SR1 121
zongZong, Jingjing
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Stewart
Thesis: Elastic properties of salt
E-mail: jzong@uh.edu
Office: SR1 140

Research Assistants

Virginia Alonso de Linaje, Virginia
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: Close-range Hyperspectral Imaging
E-mail: valonsodelinajedenicolas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234A

Ross Andrea, Ross
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Field studies of faults at all scales
E-mail: raa.geology@gmail.com
Office: SR1 318
Biber Biber, Kivanc
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Khan
Thesis: A terrestrial laser scanner, digital photogrammetry, hyperspectral mapping, and GPR assisted reservoir analog study
E-mail: kbiber@uh.edu
Office: SR1 234
CannonCannon, John Matthew
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Dissertation: Post-Miocene deformation in the Himalayan Hinterland, northwest Nepal
E-mail: jmcannon2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 233
Carvajal Carvajal Arenas, Luis
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Petroleum prospectivity of the North West Colombian Offshore
E-mail: lcarvajalarenas@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Diao Diao, Lijun
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: The impact of convection and lightning on air quality and free tropospheric chemistry based on WRF-Chem
E-mail: : ldiao@uh.edu
Office: SR1 414
Ebrahim Eslami, Ebrahim
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Integrated air quality model study with focus on health and cost impacts
E-mail: eeslami@uh.edu
Office: SR1 426-C
Shenelle Gomez, Shenelle
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Subsurface structure, stratigraphy, tectonics and hydrocarbon potential of the Barbados accretionary prism and the Tobago Basin
E-mail: skgomez@uh.edu
Office: SR1
Jing Hua Hua, Jing
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Castagna
Title: Seismic imaging of structures in the Liaodong area, Bahai basin, China
E-mail: jhua3@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
qi Huang, Qi
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Han
Thesis: Rock Physics and anisotropy of seismic waves
E-mail: qhuang@uh.edu
Office: SR1 104
Jeffcoat  Jeffcoat, Charles
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: In situ major element, trace element, and isotope analysis of planetary materials.
E-mail: crjeffcoat@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
angela Kao, Angela
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Jiang
Thesis: Investgation of cloud variablility from observation and model
E-mail: akao2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 432F
timothy  Kearns, Timothy
Curriculum Vitae
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: The Establishment of a Dense GPS Network in the Houston Area (HoustonNet) for the Purpose of Subsidence Monitoring
E-mail: tjkearns@uh.edu
Office: SR1 231
Kerekgyarto Kerekgyarto, Andrew
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Lapen
Thesis: 26Al-26Mg Geochronology, stable Mg isotope studies and an assessment of uncommon features of EK459-5-1: A Type B1 CAI
E-mail: agkerekgyarto@uh.edu
Office: SR1 318
Anna Krylova, Anna
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Chesnokov
Thesis: Propagation of slow waves through fractured and porous media
Email: akrylova@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
Ruixue Lei, Ruixue
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Sciences
Advisor: Talbot
Thesis: Methane Emissions from Oil and Natural Gas Processing
E-mail: rlei2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413
Pin Lin, Pin
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Title: Tectonics of Florida and the eastern Gulf of Mexico
E-mail: pl8p5@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Liu Liu, Lei
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Talbot
Thesis: The relationship between Houston ozone and meteorology for past 20 years
E-mail: lliu2@uh.edu
Office: SR1 413
Yiduo Liu, Yiduo
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Murphy
Thesis: Mesozoic Tectonics and Magmatism of the Northern Gulf of Mexico Basin
E-mail: yliu59@uh.edu
Office: SR1 336
Patrick Loureiro, Patrick
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Mann
Thesis: Mapping carbonate reservoirs in pre-salt sag basins of the South Atlantic
E-mail: ploureiro@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
Soty Odoh, Soty
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geology
Advisor: Saylor
Thesis: U-pb geochronology and U-th/Zhe thermochronology analysis to determine timing of deposition associated with active thrusting in Eastern Cordillera, Colombia
E-mail: sodoh@uh.edu
Office: SR1 128
Manuel Paez-Reyes, Manuel
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Silva-Tamayo
Thesis: Changes in ocean oxygenation during the Cretaceous
E-mail: mapaez-reyes@uh.edu
Office: SR1 315C

xuan Qin, Xuan
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Han
Thesis: Seismic rock physics
E-mail: qin.xuan1@gmail.com
Office: SR1 136

Souri Souri, Amir Hossein
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Atmospheric Science
Advisor: Choi
Thesis: Constraining NOx and HCHO Emissions Using Satellite Measurements
E-mail: asouri@uh.edu
Shuhang Tang, Shuhang
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou 
Thesis: Seismic data processing
E-mail: tshswacm@gmail.com
Office: SR1 136
Vivian Torrado Gonzalez, Vivian
Ph.D. Geophysics
Advisor: Mann
Title: Seismic stratigraphy of the Nicaraguan Rise and Amazon fan
E-mail: vtorradogonzalez@uh.edu
Office: SR1 427
yukai Wo, Yukai
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
M.S. Geophysics
Advisor: Zhou
Thesis: Tomo-statics
E-mail: ywo@uh.edu
Office: SR1 136
Lin Xiong Xiong, Lin
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Wang
Thesis: Landslide study with Lidar
E-mail: xionglinpeking@gmail.com
Office: SR1 231
Bingyi Zhao, Bingyi
Curriculum Vitae (PDF)
Ph.D. Geology
Advisor: Fu
Thesis: Low-temperature geochemistry
Thesis: Geochemistry
E-mail: bzhao3@uh.edu