Exxonmobil Scholarships Awarded to 17 Undergraduate Computer Science Students

The Computer Science Department awarded over $15,000 in scholarships to 17 undergraduate students for the 2010-2011 academic year. The scholarship recognizes computer science students who display excellence in academics at the University and the computer science program. The awards are from ExxonMobil’s donation to the Computer Science Department in support of our programs encouraging student interest in computer science.

A faculty committee evaluated both incoming freshman and continuing students identifying strengths in academic achievement, leadership, and civic and community involvement during the selection process. Incoming freshman recipients were evaluated on overall class rank and a high school grade point average of 3.00 or higher. Continuing students were required to have a cumulative UH and computer science grade point average of 3.00 or higher.

ExxonMobil is also part of the UH Computer Science Industrial Advisory Board that provides input on the program curriculum in preparing computer science students for careers in industry.

Congratulations to this year’s ExxonMobil Scholarship recipients: Aaron Angert, Travis Blocker, Arun Chacko, Prasanthi Cigatapu, Robert Keevil, Khoa Le, Jared Lee, Andrew Mbiam, Nhung Nguyen, Josh Nguyen, Tam Phuc Tri Nguyen, Thien Pham, Nam Phan, Vinh Phung, Lan Quach, Ashley Schilling and Michael Slater.